Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: Will Deus ex 3 have massive crowds?

Will Deus ex 3 have massive crowds?

Will Deus ex 3 have massive crowds?

I am no expert on video games, but it seems that there has been some sort of breakthrough in creating massive amounts of NPCs like in Assassin's Creed and Hitman: Blood Money. In those games there are like thousands of people of just walking around. The crowds give a pretty cool effect and make the game seem more real.

Do you all think Deus Ex 3 will utilize crowds? I know it probably has a downside. It is kind of different than the previous games, where every single character has like 3 lines of dialogue. But in some scenes, such as the outdoor market places or the nightclubs, this would probably be pretty cool.

Would you want this feature in the game?

If it serves the narrative of the game, then I say go for it. But don't just put in crowds because the technology allows it. If there's a sequence where you're in a bar, or a place like the Wan Chai market, then go ahead. But don't fill UNATCO HQ with a million cops. There needs to be a reason behind each decision.

I'd rather have a small number of identifiable people rather than a large mass of bum model type 5's.

Lightbulb

Originally Posted by eddiegorey
    I am no expert on video games, but it seems that there has been some sort of breakthrough in creating massive amounts of NPCs like in Assassin's Creed and Hitman: Blood Money. In those games there are like thousands of people of just walking around. The crowds give a pretty cool effect and make the game seem more real.
    I don't know about Assassin's Creed, but in Hitman BM they were little more than animated cardboard cutouts (ie: no AI). Sure, they are nice to look at, but if you fire a weapon, they don't react in any way. More real? I am not entirely sure.

yeah