Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 115

Thread: For anyone with Winplay problems:

  1. #1

    For anyone with Winplay problems:

    I've received some information that should allow me to fix the Winplay bug. That's the one where you get something like this, right before the game crashes:

    The Kain2 Exception Handler has yet another bug to report:
    Mapfile found. Trying to find function names.
    WARNING: Static functions will be misinterpreted as other functions!

    EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
    Crash address: 10002d51
    Stack: (at 23:13f890)
    00000001 - 0013f8cf - 004d33ac - 0000000c
    0046f8de - 00000000 - 00000000 - 00000400
    00000300 - 00000002 - 00200000 - 7c006c70
    7c8024b7 - 0000057c - 00000000 - 0013f908
    73f11e55 - 0000057c - 73f12872 - 00000000
    00000000 - 7c90e2f1 - 7c8024b7 - 0000057c
    00000000 - 0013f948 - 73f11e55 - 00000000

    Apply all official patches plus the unofficial one at www.thelostworlds.net, copy the movies (the rpl files) to the same directory as kain2.exe, then run this and Soul Reaver will work again!:

    http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain...WinplayFix.zip

    I can't test it properly, due to the way I have the game and my computer set up. The error never happened for me anyway, but I've tried bypassing the function that was causing the problem and didn't notice any side effects, so there shouldn't be any problem unless I mistyped anything when making the patch.
    "If events are matched closely enough to course, they have a way of restructuring themselves to familiar outcomes." ~ Scorpius, Farscape

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13
    it works it works! thank you!
    sure theres no intro/ending, but theres many ways to see it

    its working smooth and theres no sound problems.

    now if only i could get the analog stick to work correctly

  3. #3
    Did you copy the movie files to the hard disk like I said? They're the ones that end with rpl and they go in the same folder as kain2.exe.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13
    *cough**Cough* now i did.
    wow, even the movies work.

    Are all those black lines normal? i remember that it used to be so for me and tomb raider 2 was the same. is there a way to have an image without scanlines or however they are called? or would it even be possible to replace it with a HD version of the intro?

    oh well you already made SR work on my PC that already makes me really happy

  5. #5
    Yeah, I had those on mine even without the patch. I think it's to do with the resolution or the screen size or something.

  6. #6
    Excellent!

    Now all we need is a reliable fix for BO1 movie issues...

  7. #7
    Excellent work as always Vampmaster. It works with no problem at all from what I've seen.

    Thanks!

  8. #8

    Post

    Well I know this is off topic, but since it has something to do with this...maybe you guys can help me.

    I've installed Broken Sword: The Angel of Death on my pc and in runs very slowly, with some skips you know... My computer has all the requirements necessary, I don't know how to solve this. It has been a year since I installed it and still haven't played it...

  9. #9
    I don't have Broken Sword so I don't have any experiance with that one. With SR1, I had the crash address in the exe that people had posted in the forums so I knew where to investigate what was going wrong and I knew what the function did because I looked up it's name in the map file. There's data like that for me to work with in Broken Sword, and I don't have the game, so I wouldn't really know where to start.

  10. #10
    Thanks a lot for this, Vampmaster!
    This fixed the issues I had making SR1 work in on Windows XP.

    However, I found myself with another crash.

    Right when I'm hovering the hot air vent from Zephron's lair, and right before the animation showing Raziel landing on a ledge, I get this crash:

    The Kain2 Exception Handler has yet another bug to report:
    Mapfile found. Trying to find function names.
    WARNING: Static functions will be misinterpreted as other functions!

    EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
    Crash address: 4c1c27
    Stack: (at 23:13f8bc)
    0059efe8 00afac14 00000000 00aa56f8
    056bf126 00002fe2 ff4a0054 00000147
    ff4a0054 00690000 0621f0d2 00002e9b
    0011ff8f 0621f0d2 00002cfe 056bf126
    00af2cfe 000000c0 00000100 00000008
    00000001 0059e7f8 00000003 00690a68
    00687260 00000000 00af1000 0013f8f8
    0013f8cc 00000003 0069045c 0000003f

    I also see that this crash, or at least the same address, has been pointed out before:

    http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthr...t=crash+4c1c27
    http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthr...t=crash+4c1c27

    So, before going through the painstaking process of going back to previous drivers, I thought of posting this, and see if you could have any idea about how to fix this.

    Thanks in advance!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13
    well i played through without a problem. it worked perfectly

  12. #12
    Actually, one small problem: the intro movie crashes partway through. The sound will continue but the movie freezes - I have to play it several times to get it to work properly.

  13. #13
    Can you press enter and skip the movie when it does that? What happens when the sound finishes?

  14. #14
    I can press enter and skip it; it doesn't bomb the game. But interestingly, the sound peters out after a while as well, just later than the graphics. I think it once managed to get to the end without crashing, but then it hung there until I pressed Enter.

    My video card is a NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GTO. I understand that SR1 doesn't like NVIDIA, maybe that's the problem. I don't have the same problem with the opening cutscenes with Eidos and Crystal Dynamics, but then, they're a lot shorter.

  15. #15
    Interesting. The end credits have exactly the same problem. And oddly, the problem persists even when I view the videos with EscapePlay.

  16. #16
    This is amazing! The game runs perfectly for me with this fix.

    Keep up the excellent worrk mate!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2
    WOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO at long last.. thanks vampmaster this is one of my all time favorite games...

    so now with everyhting done.... RPL's copied and the winplay fix applied she works and very well at that well the intro does not played the game with it but i'm assuming so lol

    thanks vampmasterr u made me one happy vamp :P

  18. #18
    Thanks Vampmaster. Works like a charm here.

  19. #19

    For anyone with Winplay problems:

    hi,

    This is amazing! The game runs perfectly for me with this fix.

    Keep up the excellent worrk mate!

  20. #20
    Hmm. I once again installed SR1 on a different computer, a VISTA laptop with a Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family display adapter. I installed all the necessary patches, then the Winplay patch, and the same problem as before happened: the intro video froze partway through. The sound continued. Maybe it's just my CD-Rom, or something, but it's irritating. Anyone have any ideas?

    EDIT: Also, as mentioned before, my other computer that had the same error is a Windows XP desktop with a NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GTO display adapter.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293

    Lightbulb New Solution

    Quote Originally Posted by shlmysfb View Post
    Hmm. I once again installed SR1 on a different computer, a VISTA laptop with a Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family display adapter. I installed all the necessary patches, then the Winplay patch, and the same problem as before happened: the intro video froze partway through. The sound continued. Maybe it's just my CD-Rom, or something, but it's irritating. Anyone have any ideas?
    If you "copy the movies (the rpl files) to the same directory as kain2.exe", as was written above by Vampmaster, so your problem is not in your CD-ROM...
    Now there is alternative way to avoid any problems with movies, - one powerful russian programmer - Booster - created (by my request) alternative winplay.dll, which allows play in game bink-video and this solve any present (and possibly future) problems with movies...
    What do you need?
    1. this new dll.
    2. movies from SR1 in bink-format: for example, you can use movies from PS1 and convert them to avi by using the appropriate programs and then - RadTools to convert them to bink; high-res intro movie for SR1 you can take from extras on SR2-CD for PS2.
    Our fans use already this way; I send this info to Ben Lincoln too, but - as I understand - it is not interesting for him...

  22. #22
    Might be worth a try. Any idea where I can find this .dll?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293

    Lightbulb new winplay.dll

    Quote Originally Posted by shlmysfb View Post
    Might be worth a try. Any idea where I can find this .dll?
    You can take this dll here...
    Rename old winplay.dll (in the folder with installed game SR1) as winplay0.dll and unpack content of the above archive into this folder (i.e. to the same directory as kain2.exe)... Now you can test how will work movies in the game with this new dll, - for example, you can take any *.bik-file (for example, intro.bik from Defiance) and place it to the same folder as kain2.exe and begin new game (note that now intro.rpl should be named as intro.bik)... If it will work good, so you will need to convert all movies for SR1 into *.bik-format.

  24. #24
    Thanks. I'll try it out.

  25. #25
    Ok, but how do you convert the SR movies to bink files??????????

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •