Thread: No Support for Saitex x52

No Support for Saitex x52

  1. #1

    No Support for Saitex x52

    Why doesn't this game support the Saitex x52 joystick? Surely it can't be that hard for the devs to add support for an advanced joystick. It is annoying beyond hell to fly with the mouse. Maybe someone here has a fix to getting the x52 to work.

  2. #2
    Me 2 (X-45 & pedals here).

  3. #3
    Try using a program called Joymouse http://www.vp-soft.com/software/joymouse.php and you can assign all your keyboard/mouse functions to the joystick, even mouse movements. 30 day trial, so... =P

  4. #4
    Saitek has a programing app (that should work) to map to the mouse & keyboard, but with BS:M supporting other (Saitek) joysticks, you'd think the X-45 & X-52 would map without the need for the programing app.

    Thing is, the X-45 axis' aren't even registering in the Controls set-up.

    Is there a Controls config. file that can be editted?

  5. #5
    That's what I'm saying. The control setup doesn't recognize any part of the joystick, no buttons or axis. The Saitek programming app doesn't set the axis, only buttons. I'm using the program Seclude suggested, but that expires in 30 days.
    I don't know why they have that pre-loaded joystick stuff. It makes it look like you can't use any other joysticks, just those. It's very strange. Why didn't the devs so what other devs do and allow us to use any joystick.

  6. #6
    Is this exclusive to the "advanced" controllers mentioned? (I'd like to gain the extra throttle stick in the future )

    I have a standard Saitek force feedback stick - are any sticks supported?

    I thought this was supposed to be a joystick-compatible game!

    BF2's biggest error was to not support a joystick, I hope this game can address this controller issue! A mouse sucks with flying machines!

  7. #7
    This game only supports:
    standard Xbox gamepad
    Logitech RumblePad 2
    Logitech Extreme 3D PRO
    Saitek P880 controller
    Xbox360 Gamepad
    That Joymouse program doesn't work too well with this game. It sort of messes stuff up with the ships, since they use the same controls as planes.
    Iron Sound, BF2 supports joysticks, I can use my X52 with it.

  8. #8
    It's supports more than that, I have a Saitek P990. works fine, though I prefer mouse/keyboard.

  9. #9
    I didn't have any luck with the Logitech RumblePad 2 . But the Logitech Extreme 3D PRO seems to work OK. I wasn't able to use the drag function on the map but it might be I don't know how to do it. Tomorrow i get a manual, I hope.

  10. #10
    Originally Posted by Seclude
    It's supports more than that, I have a Saitek P990. works fine, though I prefer mouse/keyboard.
    Yea, that one is in the pre-loads, but it's not listed in the Read Me. What I'm saying is, why did Eidos only choose certain joysticks? Why didn't they make it so you could use any, like every other game.

  11. #11

    !!

    We need answers, before we'll (I) buy the game. Come-on!!!

  12. #12
    Originally Posted by NavalLord
    Iron Sound, BF2 supports joysticks, I can use my X52 with it.
    Really? I will re-install BF2 some day and have a try! Cheers!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Has anyone tried using mouse and keyboard setup - but then binding the flight controls to a joystick (mine is MS precision 2)?

    I like the controls for the game, but I want to fly with joystick...

    Thanks

  14. #14

    good news for joystick owners

    Thanks to member imnotcanadian all you have to do is make sure your accelerator/slider is in the up/neutral/centered position before setting joystick controls. I have an MS Sidewinder "old school model" and it worked like a charm for flight controls!

  15. #15
    The Saitex x52 snd x45 models don't work because they are HOTAS controllers. Eidos was just too lazy to add support for them.

  16. #16
    Battlestations: Midway Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,513
    That is an assumption and you know what they say about that. Considering the game was developed in Hungery it is possible that the X-45 & 52 are not that popular there. I don't think it is because they were being "lazy" but just simply an oversight. So, please don't be disrespectful and give the devs time to look at the issue.

  17. #17
    Originally Posted by chip5541
    give the devs time to look at the issue.
    Awesome. Some hope for the future.

  18. #18
    Battlestations: Midway Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,513
    yes. since I have one too.

  19. #19

    Sending this game back...

    No Saitek x52??? WTF. Why make a PC flight game that can't run on a HOTAS controller. Jesus Christ.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25
    i have a thurstmaster fox 2 pro something or other, and i didnt see it listed and figured it wouldnt work, well last night i just picked the Logitech 3d extreme preset and it works great

  21. #21
    Originally Posted by see_rock_city
    Thanks to member imnotcanadian all you have to do is make sure your accelerator/slider is in the up/neutral/centered position before setting joystick controls. I have an MS Sidewinder "old school model" and it worked like a charm for flight controls!
    I'll have to try that and see if it works. But I have to second the overall sentiment here... I have a Saitek Evo. Never had a problem with any other games. How can you have flight simulation as part of the game and no decent joystick support? That's madness, man!

    Keeping my fingers crossed for a patch soon!

  22. #22

    No proper joystick support

    Game doesn't support Saitek X35/36 combo or CH Combatstick. Using the Logitech Extreme Pro preset results in wrong axes assigned to stick. Doesn't seem to recognise axis movement to correct the problem. Old Gravis Eliminator controller works, but less than ideal. Very disappointing - game goes back to shop.

  23. #23

    want my money back...

    I also have teh Saitek X52 Joystick setup and I wont buy the "Game was made in Hungry" excuse as to why the thing wont accept the joystick at all...

    Simply the developers did an ass end job of porting a console game to PC. This is the same gaff made with Startrek Legacy. You would think Eidos would have paid attention to the fall out there and paid attention to detail to ensure they didnt make the same mistakes...

    If this game cant support a very popular joystick that has been around for years then its obviously not ready for the PC market. Even Pacific Storm works with the X52. Sure it doesnt have the same eye candy, but atleast they paid attention to detail enough to enable FUNCTIONAL joystick support.

    Who at the company do I have to talk to to get a refund for this crap. I will gladly ship it back in exchange for a refund. I'm not going to go out and buy another joystick just for this game.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

Similar Threads

  1. Widow's Note
    By fpk in forum Thief: Deadly Shadows
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2009, 15:50
  2. History
    By Lord Nergal in forum Imperial Glory - General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2005, 20:43
  3. Cradle....no chance
    By bryanhickman7777 in forum Thief: Deadly Shadows
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th Jul 2004, 10:55
  4. I Need som advice
    By azazel1 in forum Thief: Deadly Shadows
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2004, 23:56
  5. [SPOILER] My own concept for how the legacy should end
    By Walt1234 in forum Legacy of Kain - General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2004, 23:20