Thread: Some interesting questions about the controls for PC verison

Some interesting questions about the controls for PC verison

  1. #1

    Some interesting questions about the controls for PC verison

    I just read the preview on gamespy about the PC verison of the game. They said that the control for plane may be a little tricky. So my question is this: will it support a remappable control for PC verison? Because I like WW2 plane dogfighting, and I prefer fly a plane with a gamepad (mine is Logitech dual action, almost as same as a ps2 controller). And the plane should has roll, yell, and pitch. In that gamespy preview, they said "using keyboard and mouse to fly a plane", and that's what I don't want to do. So I am wondering if we (PC gamers) can remap all the keys in the game, and if we can bind all the keys to one gamepad, play the game without touching the keyboard and mouse (although aiming is better with the mouse).

    (does this topic should be in the "questions for developer" thread? if I broke the rule, then remove this thread...)

  2. #2

    Good luck

    Good luck getting a anwser. I have been asking if the PC version of the game will support the Xbox 360 controler made for the PC and no one ever anwsered me. Seem like its a XBOX only forum. I just hope this game wont turn into another bad port over to the PC.

  3. #3
    Originally Posted by zycore
    Good luck getting a anwser. I have been asking if the PC version of the game will support the Xbox 360 controler made for the PC and no one ever anwsered me. Seem like its a XBOX only forum. I just hope this game wont turn into another bad port over to the PC.
    Im 99% sure that the game will support joysticks (mappable). They would be insane not to. Having played the 360 version, I can tell you that there are many times that I wish I had a mouse (AA guns especially).

    As far as the 360 controller support is concerned, why wouldn't it? It's just another joystick, right? If you haven't played the game yet, Im sure you'll enjoy it. It'll be great fun (on any platform).

  4. #4
    Originally Posted by zycore
    Good luck getting a anwser. I have been asking if the PC version of the game will support the Xbox 360 controler made for the PC and no one ever anwsered me. Seem like its a XBOX only forum. I just hope this game wont turn into another bad port over to the PC.
    Dunno about the controler answer but have to say asked aabout the PC demo and Kier answered within 2 minutes. From what I have seen these guys have been very responsive...

  5. #5
    Most joysticks (and maybe gamepads too) have the ability to remap their output as keyboard keys (my Logitec joystick does), effectively simulating pressing keys when you hit the buttons on the gamepad. I have used that technique for another game which had CTDs problems when using a joystick. Works beautifully.

    TT

  6. #6
    Battlestations: Midway Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,513
    Maybe that is why I never had the CTD.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    2,400
    I haven't played the PC version that much but I'm 99% sure you can map controls for controllers.

    I'm waiting on an answer for sure, I'll keep you posted.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    2,400
    OK, here's the official line:

    The Xbox 360 controller was tested and works fine. The PS2 type controller however is not officially supported but will most likely work after some setting up.

  9. #9
    How about Joysticks (for exampole MS sidewinder precision 2), will the game allow us to map our joystick controls?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    2,400
    Originally Posted by ScottWAR
    How about Joysticks (for exampole MS sidewinder precision 2), will the game allow us to map our joystick controls?
    While they're not 'officially supported' they should be just fine.

  11. #11
    Battlestations: Midway Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,513
    Well I have a Seitek X-52 *fingers crossed*

  12. #12

    Thanks Keir

    Thanks Keir for the reply.





    "The Squeeky wheel gets the oil" as my Dad used to say

  13. #13
    thanx for the reply! good to know it!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Posts
    2,400
    Further to this, rfx from the dev team tells me:

    The PC version has a few pre-defined controller layouts for the game that you can load, for example (Xbox controller, X360 controller, Logitech and Saitek ones) and also, you can customise every function in the game in the options menu, so you can play with mouse+keyboard, keyboard+controller, to suit your preference. Of course old Quickshot joysticks can be mapped too.

  15. #15
    yay, i guess ill be flying those planes with a joystick but the mouse and keyboard for the rest of stuff. i hav the Saitek cyborg 3d gold, the joystick everyone loves for its functions and ergonomics, but hate it bcuz it almost never works. well i say get windows vista! i just plugged it into my usb port and boom it starts working, so i guess microsoft found some proper drivers after all but saitek didnt? how ironic

    btw i got windows vista ultimate final(RTM; after RC2) and i plan to buy home premium the day it comes out.

  16. #16
    I have not yet been able to configure my X-45's (or pedals). Still trying to figure it out. Is there a config. file to edit? The in-game options isn't remapping.

  17. #17
    Waiting for some developer's feedback on this, before purchasing the game.

  18. #18
    Battlestations: Midway Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,513
    Moved to PC section.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    23
    this is how you change plane controls, lots more easier. i had the same prob for some time and it kept me up. to change it you have to go to the setting and controls. then click air and you will see all the controls. the first is the one you want to change. click it and then roll the mouse up. it should change so now when you roll up it goes up and not down. do this for the air/sea/land controls also. and make sure you hit save after you do it for each.

Similar Threads

  1. Where I find the Easter Egg ??
    By The Warrior in forum Tomb Raider 1 - 6 - Gaming Help Center
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2004, 01:26
  2. tarsus lab
    By bootlegger in forum Deus Ex: Invisible War
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2003, 11:28
  3. Win tweaker 95-98-nt-Me-2K-XP
    By theBlackman in forum Thief - Technical Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2002, 05:26
  4. sas caption
    By cornchild in forum Tomb Raider - Level Editor Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2002, 19:51