Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: TR3 and Windows ME

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    24

    Big Grin TR3 and Windows ME

    OK I am having a problem with this, I can install the game fine and it starts OK, I see the FMV but then when it gets to the title screen the menu ring doesn't appear and the game crashes and I have to restart my machine. When I click to play the game it always takes me to the setup window, it doesn't seem to remember my settings. Please help, this is not good!!

  2. #2

    Lightbulb

    Hi pinkluce!
    I don't know what's going on but I can give you a good tips to enjoy the games without much trouble! It works for me, so.....
    - install the lastest directx;
    - install the lastest video and sound driver;
    - grab the lastest patch for the game that you'll play.

    For TR I know there's a patch, you can get it from Eidos site but I'll put the link for you here! PATCH
    Hope that helps!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,420
    I have Windows ME too, but TR3 has always run fine for me. I have that same problem though for Chronicles.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    24

    Lightbulb

    Thanks guys! I'll try the patch and see what happens

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    24

    Unhappy

    OK, I downloaded the patch and did as it said but TR3 still won't work. Any other ideas? How would I know if I have the up to date drivers and directx? I have run Chronicles on my PC, will the version of directx used for that be working with my TR3?? Also where would I find sound and graphics drivers? Any help is much appreciated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,420
    Just wondering, is there a patch like that for Chronicles??

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    24

    Lightbulb

    Thank you for the link to the patch, i tried it again and it worked, I'd done the wrong thing with it first time around, doh!

  8. #8

    Lightbulb

    Originally posted by pinkluce
    OK, I downloaded the patch and did as it said but TR3 still won't work. Any other ideas? How would I know if I have the up to date drivers and directx? I have run Chronicles on my PC, will the version of directx used for that be working with my TR3?? Also where would I find sound and graphics drivers? Any help is much appreciated.
    Hey Pink! Happy that you can play your game but if you still wanna update your system I can help you!
    - Here you can download DirectX 8.1! [HERE]

    For help with sound and video driver I need to know what's your card! Voodoo, nVidia, ATi, ... , SoundBlaster, ... and please the model is important ok!!
    If you don't wanna and it's working nice that ok!! Enjoy your game!!!
    See you around.......



    Originally posted by Aquarius
    Just wondering, is there a patch like that for Chronicles??
    I don't think so dude!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    24

    Smile

    Thanks wriggle, I think it might be useful to know where to get drivers in the future just in case, even though TR3 seems to be OK. I have a Rage Fury Pro graphics card and Creative Soundblaster PCI 128 sound card. Thanks

  10. #10
    @pinkluce:
    Just go to the site of the company!
    SoundBlaster (www.soundblaster.com) - Go to download section in the left and select Drivers then your card! It's easy!
    I get the direct link for you too! [HERE]

    ATi (www.ati.com) - Go to find a driver in the left, select your OS and your card. It's easy too!
    I get the direct link again for you! [HERE]

    That's it!!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    24
    Thanks a lot wriggle, I will add those to my favourites list just in case

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •