Thread: Legacy of Kain: Potential reboot scenario

Legacy of Kain: Potential reboot scenario

Hello all,

I may be new here but I am a LoK veteran having played all except the very first game. Thinking about how great the game is and the story I can imaginge that everybody here like the game and would like to see 'something'. (Also spoilers beware)

I have always thought about an updated game with modern graphics and I saw the new engine that was used. it then hit me that my nostalgic 'me' would never really come back since it would just be a replay of the old story I already knew. The many discoveries and the dynamic between Kain and Raziel will never be 'new' of 'surprising'.

Making a new story is difficult and as we know from a spoiled testgame; just making a new 'Soul Reaver' character immediately causes hate from the old time fans. (I disliked this idea as well even thou I would most likely swallow it if the plot was well)

Then something hit me when I was re-watching some of the older footage of the game. There actually could be a very reasonable new yet familiar story be made.

When we watch the games 'prophecy' of both the Hylden and the Vampires we always see the fight but never the outcome properly. The Hylden believe their hero is the victory and the Vampires theirs. What they fail to realize is that it is not their conflict that requires the savior. And the 'outcome' of that fight is basically Kain ditching Raziel in the abyss and then later the merger of the two and the defeat of the 'Elder God'.

Now imaging....since the prophecy is undetermined and the outcome was not a victory of Kain over Raziel but Raziel over Kain. So the openingscene of Soul Reaver then would be that Raziel manages to dispose of Kain into the Abyss. This would make Kain the 'Soul Reaver' and Raziel the Hylden Champion.