Thread: Some (Long!) Stupid Questions From A Newbie

Some (Long!) Stupid Questions From A Newbie

Hello again all. As I've said in another thread, whilst I have a great love of these games and their story, I am rather new to the series. I like to think I've been able to follow the plot quite well. But there's just two issues which still really confuse me.

Paradoxes and Raziel's 'free will'.

I'm sure you guys are sick to death of these topics and it feels like LOK 101, but I just can't get my head around it. I think I get it, but I'm not sure. I've looked over articles, other threads, and interviews with the creators and such, but it all seems about as clear as mud! I need answers in idiot-proof, plain english.

How about I say how I THINK it works, and you guys correct me where appropriate?

----

Everyone and everything in Nosgoth is predestined. Someone like Moebius can know a man's life from the moment he's born to the second he dies.

99% of the time, history cannot be changed. Even if you travel back in time, with the intention of changing something, destiny will alter your course, or you'll maybe even end up creating the very event you're trying to undo.

History CAN be changed, but only through a paradox, which in turn, can only be created by two Soul Reavers coming into contact. I get it so far. Kain basically says all of this in William's chapel in SR2. The only way he could kill William (which would have been a classic ontological paradox - if he kills William, then Kain in his native time-line doesn't know about William, so he never goes back in time to kill him etc.) was because Moebius ensured both he and William were armed with Soul Reavers.