Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 121

Thread: Blood Omen 1 on W 7

  1. #1

    Blood Omen 1 on W 7

    Hi,
    I'm trying to install Blood Omen 1 on my pc with W7 but without success.
    I used a patch for xp but it doesn't work.
    Could you please help me? I need to play this game.

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Riccardo76 View Post
    Hi,
    I'm trying to install Blood Omen 1 on my pc with W7 but without success.
    I used a patch for xp but it doesn't work.
    Could you please help me? I need to play this game.
    I know this is not quite a direct solution, but do you by any chance have a PS copy? I couldn't get my Blood Omen run on my pc either, and ended up using ePSXe to emulate the PS game. You might wanna try that. Good luck.

    (I'm not really one of the 'tech support' guys here in the forum, be patient, they'll arrive eventually).
    "Hope."

  3. #3
    Is not really hard, all you need are certain patches and fixes:

    First of course your BO1 PC CD:


    2.- Second, Cuban Raul's BO Installer, this installer allows us to install BO1 in recent Operative Systems, such as windows vista or Windows 7

    Cuban Raul's BO Installer

    3.- Nosgothica.org Blood Omen Bink support patch; This patch allows us to convert each BO1 video in the game from the .jam format to the .bink format (used in later games like SR2 or Defiance)

    http://nosgothica.org/games/paul_met...ch_BO_(PC).exe

    Now:

    1.- Install BO1 using Cuban Raul's installer, not the BO CD isntaller. (choosing to install it complete)

    2.- Once the game is installed, select and apply the Nosgothica.org Bink patch. (have in mind that all the .jam videos should be stored inside a subfolder called KAIN, inside the game's root folder)

    3.- Play the game and enjoy it!

    If you have any toruble please let me know, I tested this process and it works (I play BO1 in my WIn7 PC).

    Don't forget to thank Cubarn Raul and Nosgothica.Org (Wrace) for making this possible!

    Regards!

    The Hylden - Edit: In case anyone runs into an issue where the Bink videos will not play and you're on Windows 7, or 8, this might be what you need:

    http://1drv.ms/1wbDYfc

    Replace the BinkBO32.dll file in your install folder and they should play.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Thank you, Ber, for help to fans, full instruction and good words. :yes:
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  5. #5
    Thank you very much for all the detailed information, I will try!
    Ciao.

  6. #6
    Ber, I followed your instruction but I used "BO1_jam2bink_eng.exe" instead of "Bink_patch_BO_(PC).exe" because the latter (two times) got corrupted for some reason. Anyway, the videoes aren't the issue. The issue is the fix that is suppose make the game continue after the Tavern situations when you have a computer faster than 1.5GHz. I would prefer to use something that limits the usage of my CPU rather than using some CPU demanding application aside from the game to play it.

    Do you know a way to fix this? I play on Windows 7 64-bit (maybe 64-bit is the issue?) and I've tried multiple tries including compatibility mode.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozka389
    The issue is the fix that is suppose make the game continue after the Tavern situations when you have a computer faster than 1.5GHz. I would prefer to use something that limits the usage of my CPU rather than using some CPU demanding application aside from the game to play it.
    This glitch fixes and Cuban Raul's Installer and both Bink Patch-es, since all three contain kain.exe with the fix I created in 2008 year. Since you have this glitch, so your kain.exe just do not contain the appropriate patch.
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    This glitch fixes and Cuban Raul's Installer and both Bink Patch-es, since all three contain kain.exe with the fix I created in 2008 year. Since you have this glitch, so your kain.exe just do not contain the appropriate patch.
    I actually found a link to your patch a few minutes ago but it didn't help. I also found some another fix (perhaps yours too) that is not a kain.exe but a small utility to patch a kain.exe but it says the version is wrong or something or that it is already patched.

    I have these fixes/patches:
    BO1_bink.rar (necessary files to read the bik files with some filter file that made a few more videoes appear)
    BO1_jam2bink_eng.exe (converted the video files to bik)
    bo1_patch.zip / bo1-XP_hack.zip (I believe both are the same, they are suppose to make the game run in XP and possibly Vista/Win7 but they just make the game ask for the CD)
    KainSetup.rar (Cubans installer which I used)
    CPUGrabber (reduce CPU speed which didn't work and I tried different scenarios).

    Anything else I need?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Upload your version of kain.exe and give me link on it, - I will look what version you use now. And also grab (perhaps, by Fraps) and upload video on your glitch after the Tavern situations (or just describe by more words), - it is interesting for me what is happens on your PC now.
    BTW: one our fan tested BO1 with bink-support on Windows-7 x64 Maxi - all work fine, so the problem is not in Windows-7 or x64. :yes:
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    Upload your version of kain.exe and give me link on it, - I will look what version you use now. And also grab (perhaps, by Fraps) and upload video on your glitch after the Tavern situations (or just describe by more words), - it is interesting for me what is happens on your PC now.
    BTW: one our fan tested BO1 with bink-support on Windows-7 x64 Maxi - all work fine, so the problem is not in Windows-7 or x64. :yes:
    http://www.speedyshare.com/files/31002302/kain.exe

    I will get back on you with the error. Typically it's only that kain.exe stops responding but I haven't checked detailed information.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    You have corrupted (by your pc or something else) kain.exe. Must be this version of kain.exe. Be sure that this file will not corrupted again.
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    You have corrupted (by your pc or something else) kain.exe. Must be this version of kain.exe. Be sure that this file will not corrupted again.
    Same issue. I now alt tabbed because the game seems to freeze. The guy at the tavern just keeps saying "The tavern is closing. Best be on your way, stranger." over and over.

    Here's the message http://www.speedyshare.com/files/31009962/mess.jpg

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    hm, it is some new glitch. Instructions at 00480f80 refer to un-pixeling graphic and do not relate to processor.
    So, now:
    1. download these saves and try to load the game from the first one (FI00).
    2. try this kain.exe - I disable instructions at 00480f80 (graphic will be bad but we just will test this fix).
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    hm, it is some new glitch. Instructions at 00480f80 refer to un-pixeling graphic and do not relate to processor.
    So, now:
    1. download these saves and try to load the game from the first one (FI00).
    2. try this kain.exe - I disable instructions at 00480f80 (graphic will be bad but we just will test this fix).
    Damnit, no good news. I get the same issue (even the instruction thing) and if I try to load a saved file the game freezes (with the same error).

    If it's something relating to graphics perhaps it's something with my drivers for my GTX470? The ones I currently have I have kept for almost a year now and they have worked for all games so far (all the new ones just keep messing up old games, new games or my media player).

    I will install it on my brother's computer as well to see if it's something specific to my copy of Blood Omen or if it's something with my computer.

    EDIT: I figured a trick I could use but it will take some time and I have some work I have to do first. I read somewhere on google to get this game working with Windows 7 and/or modern hardware. I use my RAMDrive to make a small drive like 500MB just so the game fit there or just install the game on my game drive then move the folder onto the RAMDrive that I make as FAT32 instead of NTFS. To make the game recognize the videos without having them on the drive I could use Junction Magic application. I doubt though that my hardrive or even Win7 is the main issue, more like my GPU/drivers.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    About this trick wrote Ben Lincoln here:
    Although the game generally works when run from an NTFS-formatted partition, you may want to try installing it on a FAT-formatted partition if all else fails.
    It is first time (and the first configuration of PC) when I see that this trick works.

    To make the game recognize the videos without having them on the drive I could use Junction Magic application.
    It is not needed to disable video or reading it from cd (or anywhere - see registry settings for the last one).
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Ber View Post
    Once the game is installed, select and apply the Nosgothica.org Bink patch. (have in mind that all the .jam videos should be stored inside a subfolder called KAIN, inside the game's root folder)
    Hopefully this will get a reply, otherwise I'll just have to find out.
    Anyways:

    Do I have to install it into C:\Program Files\Kain or C:\Program Files\Kain\kain ?

    Thanks in advance

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Rico Rodriguez
    Do I have to install it into C:\Program Files\Kain or C:\Program Files\Kain\kain ?
    The full instruction lies on the nosgothica.org (here). So you should install anyone of two our Bink patches into "C:\Program Files\Kain" if you install BO1 in this folder and it contains kain.exe and subfolder kain (which should contain jam-files to convert them into bink).
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    The full instruction lies on the nosgothica.org (here). So you should install anyone of two our Bink patches into "C:\Program Files\Kain" if you install BO1 in this folder and it contains kain.exe and subfolder kain (which should contain jam-files to convert them into bink).
    Woah thanks for that quick reply!
    Though... I figured it out already by trial and error- for anyone curious, my advice would be to download that big (~290MB) patch and run it. Then select the major Kain folder. Basically you want to install it in C:\Program Files\Kain, nothing else and that should do it.

    Another question: When I look at videos on youtube of the PS1 version, Kain seems to be walking fast than on my PC- wth ? Is there any fix?

    And another one *g*: I read there's a trainer that lets you boost speed(?) and one that lets you save anywhere. Do you know where one could obtain such a magnificent thingamajig? *g*

    Thanks again and in advance

    EDIT:
    Also, is there a use for the "ZOOM" button? I have yet to find one, or should I say it doesnt work?!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Rico Rodriguez
    Another question: When I look at videos on youtube of the PS1 version, Kain seems to be walking fast than on my PC- wth ? Is there any fix?
    I heard about this and created such "fix".
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Rico Rodriguez
    And another one *g*: I read there's a trainer that lets you boost speed(?) and one that lets you save anywhere. Do you know where one could obtain such a magnificent thingamajig? *g*
    It is one trainer, which lies on the same link I gave above - i.e. here. Originally feature to save anywhere (also as Walk Through Walls and some other) was discovered by Andrew Fradley (VampMaster) and the appropriate trainer lies here.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Rico Rodriguez
    Also, is there a use for the "ZOOM" button? I have yet to find one, or should I say it doesnt work?!
    This feature worked only for resolution 320x240 (instead of default 640x480) and now it disabled also as some unsupported now (by the newest video-cards) features which leads to crash of the game (by pressing F12).
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    I heard about this and created such "fix".
    Thanks, but is there any link to it?
    Note, the problem is that Kain walks too slow in comparison with the PSX version (or any other version for that matter?).

    Gonna try out the Trainer.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Thanks, but is there any link to it?
    Note, the problem is that Kain walks too slow in comparison with the PSX version (or any other version for that matter?).
    This "fix" is the option Boost in the trainer on which I gave link (since this feature is very optional - like changing weapon by pressing one button or auto-recovering energy for Soul Reaver - and it is not needed for all fans).
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  22. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by wrace View Post
    This "fix" is the option Boost in the trainer on which I gave link (since this feature is very optional - like changing weapon by pressing one button or auto-recovering energy for Soul Reaver - and it is not needed for all fans).
    Thanks mate

    One last question hopefully:
    I've noticed that the voice overs are not affected by the "boost", which is awesome, but I've yet to see a cutscene/etc. . So is really the only stuff affected by "boost" the gameplay/combat/walking stuff?

    Thanks in advance

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    You are welcome.
    So is really the only stuff affected by "boost" the gameplay/combat/walking stuff?
    Yes. Also bink-video can not be affected by one more reason: it replays by external dll to which passed from kain.exe only the name of video-file (and the game just wait for ending video). Also credits does not affected.
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    If anyone can help with the problem I'm having I'd be more than appreciative. I've followed Ber's steps and Blood Omen works perfectly with the movies and such, only problem I have is when the Blood Omen screen pops up, it just stays there and doesn't reveal the menu, which is there, but the blood omen image is on it. That's not the main problem though, main problem is after the intro it goes to the tavern, the cut scene is still there, and is cut by the current screen of the tavern, and when I try to minimize, it freezes the game and the only way to move is to minimize the game. Does anyone know what to do? Help would be much appreciated.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    293
    Aduro, read carefully above: you need FAT-partition to avoid this problem (look here), - just run the game from usb flash drive or create RAMDrive as described above.
    Support of LOK-games is the duty of Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •