Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: Issue with PhysX

Issue with PhysX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13

    Issue with PhysX

    Just updated and patched the game, and when I enable the physx option, the entire game slows dows to a 1fps crawl. I believe I have a physx capable graphics card.. Nvidia 8800GT 512MB..

    I even tried setting AA to off/none and stll no dice. Sure I can play without physx but I'd rather see it working then not.

    Need any extra info?

    Win7 RC1 64bit, 3gb of ram, intel quad core 2.4 Ghz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1998
    Location
    Blackfriars
    Posts
    3,885
    When you enabled the option did you read the requirements it warns you about. If you set to normal it recommends a GTX260+, if you set to High it suggests a GTX260+ AND a dedicated 2nd graphics card (9800GTX+) to support it.

    A single 8800 GT with 512MB is not really going to be able to handle the main game AND the physx without you reducing detail vastly even on Normal.
    www.imdb.me/jasonwalker <-thas me hehe
    Twitter: @jaywalker2309
    - My opinion is my own and not that of the company.

  3. #3
    Could you give us all the settings, i.e. resolution, quality settings, physX level etc.

    If you have PhysX on high you will probably find your hardware is struggling. Medium to low should be playable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    Full screen: Yes
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050 (16:10)
    V Sync: Yes
    Multi Sample Anti-Aliasing: 4x
    Nvidia 3d: No
    Detail Level: Very High
    All other options are Yes,
    Physx: Off.

    With all these options, the game runs absolutely fine.

    If I turn on physx, and turn all the rest off, set detail to low, no AA, the game runs at 1fps

  5. #5
    after patching i get 'BMGame hs stopped responding' as soon as joker escapes.... in the middle of the cutscene, was fine until i patched.....
    cant believe i spent money on this...

  6. #6
    Originally Posted by jaycw2309
    When you enabled the option did you read the requirements it warns you about. If you set to normal it recommends a GTX260+, if you set to High it suggests a GTX260+ AND a dedicated 2nd graphics card (9800GTX+) to support it.

    A single 8800 GT with 512MB is not really going to be able to handle the main game AND the physx without you reducing detail vastly even on Normal.
    wow... that's nuts. All that just to see paper flip around on the ground?

    I have a gtx275... so it'll be interesting to see what it does... but really? That much hardware is nuts!

  7. #7
    Yea although the 8800gt is an ok gfx card today, for this game with physx on without reducing fps alot isnt enough.

  8. #8
    My 8800GT is doing just fine with "Normal" PhysX on.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    What are your settings and specs?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,055
    Originally Posted by TurboGFF
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050 (16:10)

    If I turn on physx, and turn all the rest off, set detail to low, no AA, the game runs at 1fps
    Here's the problem. You are trying to make your graphics card work harder than it is really able to with PhysX running in the background...did you try lowering the resolution to see if that helps? Also, what OS are you running and how much RAM do you have?
    PSN: Nemesis296
    XBL/GFWL: HyperN3mesis

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    I'm running Windows 7 RC1 64 bit, with 3gb of ram.

    I just tested running it at 1280x1024 with physx on normal and it works..

    I think I'm going to sacrifice physx in order to run at a higher resolution, and worry about upgrading later.

    Say in the future if I wanted to play at max resolution and have physx enabled, what hardware should I be aiming for?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,055
    Originally Posted by TurboGFF
    I'm running Windows 7 RC1 64 bit, with 3gb of ram.

    I just tested running it at 1280x1024 with physx on normal and it works..

    I think I'm going to sacrifice physx in order to run at a higher resolution, and worry about upgrading later.

    Say in the future if I wanted to play at max resolution and have physx enabled, what hardware should I be aiming for?
    Well the normal PhysX setting for the game reccommends a 9800GTX or higher. The Max PhysX needs the 260GTX or higher, which is what I have. I'm sure that your system can handle the better card, but be careful you wont have to get a new powersupply for your rig if you upgrade. I had the 8500GT that I upgraded to the 260GTX and had to spend $100 on a better power supply to use the card...
    PSN: Nemesis296
    XBL/GFWL: HyperN3mesis

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    Right now my power supply is 650w, but I also have 3 internal HD's and a dvd burner.. Plus the 8800GT.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,055
    Originally Posted by TurboGFF
    Right now my power supply is 650w, but I also have 3 internal HD's and a dvd burner.. Plus the 8800GT.
    That should work
    PSN: Nemesis296
    XBL/GFWL: HyperN3mesis

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    And the cost of upgrading?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,055
    Originally Posted by TurboGFF
    And the cost of upgrading?
    I paid $220 for the 260GTX about 3 weeks ago. I'm sure someone will come on here and tell me how much I was ripped off by shopping at Best Buy though...
    PSN: Nemesis296
    XBL/GFWL: HyperN3mesis

  17. #17
    Scratch my last comment. PhysX fog absolutley cripples my machiene. Paper and destro. environments are fine, its just the fog....

    Its so bad I cant play with it on. Oh well.
    Though I dont understand, PhysX worked great in the demo for me, now this and my PC is getting spanked.

    Patch for the patch plz, lol/

  18. #18
    Another option, potentially cheaper if your motherboard supports it, is to pick up a second card for the PhysX. I upgraded to a GTX 280 a while back and moved my 9600GT to a second slot. It's a full 16x slot that runs at 4x bandwith. Batman and other games that use PhysX play brilliantly. I think you can get a 9600GT now for less than $100 US.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1
    I did some ingame Benchmarks with PhysX and whithout.

    PhysX Off = Average fps 69
    PhysX Normal = Average fps 33
    PhysX High = Average fps 27

    Zotac Geforce 9600GT
    Athlong X2 64 3800+
    4Gb Ram

    Also when i'm switching the Physx modes in the options it says "Your Hardware does not support NVIDIA(tm) Physx(tm) Hardware Accaleration.Performance without...." What does it mean my geforce has physx support...

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    I'm not entirely sure if my motherboard can support a second gfx card

  21. #21
    Originally Posted by jaycw2309
    When you enabled the option did you read the requirements it warns you about. If you set to normal it recommends a GTX260+, if you set to High it suggests a GTX260+ AND a dedicated 2nd graphics card (9800GTX+) to support it.

    A single 8800 GT with 512MB is not really going to be able to handle the main game AND the physx without you reducing detail vastly even on Normal.
    In the demo I was able to play just fine on a 512MB 8800GT with PhysX normal, 1440x900 resolution, antialiasing at 8x, and everything else cranked as high as it went. (Not sure about the final, since it's still downloading off Steam.)

    The 8800GT was a lot more of a card than most people would think given its generation. Even the 9800GT (itself intended to be rebranded as the GTS 240 at one point) was, save for the addition of three-way SLI capability, essentially a rebranded 8800GT.

  22. #22
    Originally Posted by Crazy Street Bum
    In the demo I was able to play just fine on a 512MB 8800GT with PhysX normal, 1440x900 resolution, antialiasing at 8x, and everything else cranked as high as it went. (Not sure about the final, since it's still downloading off Steam.)

    The 8800GT was a lot more of a card than most people would think given its generation. Even the 9800GT (itself intended to be rebranded as the GTS 240 at one point) was, save for the addition of three-way SLI capability, essentially a rebranded 8800GT.
    Can you post how the game plays please once you have it.
    I have a 8800GTS 512 OC and had no problem with the demo with everything on high. But if it causes issues I am going to get a new card ASAP. Thanks

  23. #23
    Originally Posted by Nemesis296
    Well the normal PhysX setting for the game reccommends a 9800GTX or higher. The Max PhysX needs the 260GTX or higher, which is what I have. I'm sure that your system can handle the better card, but be careful you wont have to get a new powersupply for your rig if you upgrade. I had the 8500GT that I upgraded to the 260GTX and had to spend $100 on a better power supply to use the card...
    no the recommended just for the game itself is a 9800gtx. the recommended for normal physx is a gtx260 and for high physx an additional 9800gtx dedicated for physx.

    those are a little over the top as a gtx260 can run high physx even at 1920 as long as you arent using very much if any AA.
    Windows 7 Pro 64 bit || i5 2500K || MSI P67A-G45 || Galaxy GTX570 || G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB 1600 DDR3 || Samsung F3 1TB || HAF 912 case || Antec Neo Eco 520 watt

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,055
    Originally Posted by trek554
    no the recommended just for the game itself is a 9800gtx. the recommended for normal physx is a gtx260 and for high physx an additional 9800gtx dedicated for physx.

    those are a little over the top as a gtx260 can run high physx even at 1920 as long as you arent using very much if any AA.
    Not sure where you saw that (maybe the game launcher was updated from the demo), but my rig has just a 260GTX and a 128MB AGEIA PhysX accelerator // 3GB RAM // 1.8GHz Duo Core proc and I could run the demo max everything with 16X AA if I wanted to...
    PSN: Nemesis296
    XBL/GFWL: HyperN3mesis

  25. #25
    Originally Posted by Nemesis296
    Not sure where you saw that (maybe the game launcher was updated from the demo), but my rig has just a 260GTX and a 128MB AGEIA PhysX accelerator // 3GB RAM // 1.8GHz Duo Core proc and I could run the demo max everything with 16X AA if I wanted to...
    well yeah that was in the demo. it certainly is not smooth with those settings and your cpu at just 1.8. also even an 8600gt card is stronger than that ageia card for offloading physx and only made a about 2-3 more fps average with minimum fps only going up 1fps than running everything on my gtx260. why in the heck would you put a gtx260 in a system with a 1.8 core 2? you are killing the performance of that card.


    1920x1080 very high settings, high physx and 16XQ AA

    E8500 at 1.8 GTX260 at 666/1392/2200
    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    1630, 68438, 16, 30, 23.817

    E8500 at 3.16 GTX260 at 666/1392/2200
    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    1737, 62705, 21, 36, 27.701


    that is certainly not very smooth to me with my stock cpu and even worse with my cpu at just 1.8. your cpu at these very demanding gpu settings doenst make too much difference but it does it make it less playable for sure. at realistic settings that are more playable your setup doesnt get much faster. in other words when I take off some of the load on the gpu my framerates go way up where as your cpu is still a bottleneck. not to mention your cpu at 1.8 is slower clock for clock than my E8500 running at that low speed. so if anything I am giving your setup the benefit of the doubt.

    see my point as shown here without AA

    1920x1080 very high settings, high physx and no AA

    E8500 at 1.8 GTX260 at 666/1392/2200
    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    1996, 63082, 18, 38, 31.641


    E8500 at 3.16 GTX260 at 666/1392/2200
    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    2742, 66301, 31, 53, 41.357


    I didnt use the 8600gt for dedicated physx because its not worth the hassle and my tests last week show little improvement. again your ageia card would be no better and likely even worse than the 8600gt for physics.
    Windows 7 Pro 64 bit || i5 2500K || MSI P67A-G45 || Galaxy GTX570 || G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB 1600 DDR3 || Samsung F3 1TB || HAF 912 case || Antec Neo Eco 520 watt

Page 1 of 2 12 Last