Thread: building my own computer. just for JC2

building my own computer. just for JC2

  1. #1

    building my own computer. just for JC2

    so i was just going to ask i wan't to build my own computer. this summer. and wanna know. what do you guys recommend to buy for components to get the best from gaming. i got maybe like 7000 swedish kronor and in us dollars thats like 971 dollars, and in pounds 632. it can go a bit over :P.

    and sorry if there is a tread like this i couldn't really found any. thanks in advance
    heil Almighty Dual Hook!!! . time please go faster! the two best games in the time assassins creed 2 and just cause 2 | gamertag = younas456

  2. #2
    Most high powered gaming PC's in the UK can cost up to £1500, but can go as low as £700-£800. I would recommend looking at computer stores. In the UK, PC World is a good one, maybe you can get the parts and have them delivered.

    www.pcworld.co.uk

    They have all sorts of parts for computers as well as ready built gaming PC's.

  3. #3
    Not to be a pain, but this should go in the Just Cause 2 PC discussion forum.
    www.panauisland.com - #1 source for the latest Just Cause 2 news, information, media, Directors Club and even a live podcast!

  4. #4
    intel i7 or i5 CPU, cause they are awesome
    Rico: I tried getting a driving licence but when i get into a car i have an uncontrollable urge to drive it into a gas station and jump out at the last minute.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,475
    Overclocked Intel Core i7 980x Extreme (4.0GHz, 12MB Cache)

    Dual 2GB GDDR5 ATI Radeon HD 5970 CrossfireX Enabled

    12GB DDR3 1600MHz Tri Channel Memory

    Oh and dont forget Windows 7, no XP.

    That should just about run Just Cause 2 without any problems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,180
    what would run JC2 max settings 100%?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,475
    Originally Posted by AssassinAgent47
    what would run JC2 max settings 100%?
    see post #5 above.

  8. #8
    Originally Posted by Rios
    see post #5 above.
    yeah but he has a spend limit
    Rico: I tried getting a driving licence but when i get into a car i have an uncontrollable urge to drive it into a gas station and jump out at the last minute.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,475
    Originally Posted by alien_guy
    yeah but he has a spend limit
    Oh, well never mind then.

  10. #10
    I spent £530 building my pc, it runs JC2 at 1680x1050 on all full with 2xAA with the average fps at 60 on benchmark.

    Specs are:
    Antec 300
    AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3ghz
    ATI HD 5770 1GB
    500GB HD
    650W Corsair 650TX
    4GB 1066 DDR2 HyperX
    Gigabyte MA-770-UD3

    Took me a few hours to build but its awesome, runs Crysis Warhead on Enthusiast at about 40 and anything else on all full really well.

    Although I would say, while JC2 is pretty I wouldn't build a pc JUST for JC2.

  11. #11
    nr 5 was good but yeah quite expensive :P but the i5 looks good so far :P ehm i was thinking of a nvidia geforce 8800 gt or 9800 gt
    heil Almighty Dual Hook!!! . time please go faster! the two best games in the time assassins creed 2 and just cause 2 | gamertag = younas456

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    162
    Originally Posted by Mcclaud
    Most high powered gaming PC's in the UK can cost up to £1500, but can go as low as £700-£800. I would recommend looking at computer stores. In the UK, PC World is a good one, maybe you can get the parts and have them delivered.

    www.pcworld.co.uk

    They have all sorts of parts for computers as well as ready built gaming PC's.
    PC World isn't very good for buying components such as graphics cards, PSUs, etc.
    They are very overpriced since PC World have to pay tax to the government to maintain their stores.
    Best and cheapest way to upgrade is buy the components separately. I recommend maplin UK shop, it is cheaper and less priced than PC World.

    I bought my Ati HD 4890 OC Edition graphics card 8 months ago brand new from ebay for £179.99. If you can find a great deal like that then that's the best way to go really. Fitting parts is easy, especially the graphics card and power supply.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,180
    Originally Posted by Rios
    see post #5 above.
    oh ok I thought when you said "just about" run it meant , it's 'just good enough" to run the game, meaning it meets the requirements but may have to settle for lower frames or something when running full water effects or 3-D or this and that

  14. #14
    none of you have a clue
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119204
    [url]http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136073/url]
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128432
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102864
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153114
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227249
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103696
    total 616USD S&H ( if you don't want ddr3 - 70 bucks for a ddr 2 version if you dont need a quadcore -45 bucks and get a Athlon II 255
    I have a AMD 250 5750 and I can max it out

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    4,047
    This looks ok aside from the IDE harddrive and only 2 GB RAM, I'd go for SATA drive(s), also a bit more than 160 GB, and 4 GB of ram.

  16. #16
    I would recommend the following:

    Intel Core i5 650
    ASRock P55 PRO DDR3
    Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) Value Select DDR3 1333MHz
    XFX Radeon HD5770 1GB
    640GB Western Digital Caviar GP SATA-II
    Optiarc AD-7240S DVD±RW
    Antec Three Hundred
    Corsair VX 450W 80+
    Free Shipping coupon

    For a total of 7035 SEK. I would recommend that you go with Windows 7 64-Bit.

    Or if you would like to have a blu-ray player, you can use the following motherboard, CPU and blu-ray instead.

    AMD Phenom2 X4 955 3,2Ghz BE AM3
    Asus M4N68T
    Samsung SH-B083L Blu-Ray
    (Total 6912 SEK)

  17. #17
    Originally Posted by Heliosicle
    4GB 1066 DDR2 HyperX
    is 1066 for 1066 Mhz? :P
    heil Almighty Dual Hook!!! . time please go faster! the two best games in the time assassins creed 2 and just cause 2 | gamertag = younas456

  18. #18
    Originally Posted by Rios
    Overclocked Intel Core i7 980x Extreme (4.0GHz, 12MB Cache)

    Dual 2GB GDDR5 ATI Radeon HD 5970 CrossfireX Enabled

    12GB DDR3 1600MHz Tri Channel Memory

    Oh and dont forget Windows 7, no XP.

    That should just about run Just Cause 2 without any problems.
    Major overkill

    I have an AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.60Ghz
    ATI Radeon 5870 1GB(stock)
    4GB Ram
    Windows 7 64bit

    With this I have never dipped below 30FPS.

    Benchmarks -


    (click image to enlarge)


    (click image to enlarge)


    (click image to enlarge)

    all this was £749.99 on overclockers. Bought in January.

  19. #19
    Originally Posted by @m
    This looks ok aside from the IDE harddrive and only 2 GB RAM, I'd go for SATA drive(s), also a bit more than 160 GB, and 4 GB of ram.
    thought i had selected the satamodel*fixed
    4gb ram wont help just cause 2 at all (just never uses more then 900Mb or so
    anything over 2 is pointless unless your running x64 more ram != faster ram being used = faster idilram = waste ;

  20. #20
    OP, I would avoid the i5 platform if I were you. I know a lot of people recommend it, and yes it's pretty fast, but the 1156 sockets have a tendency to.... BURN!

    See here:

    http://www.overclockers.com/socket-1...urning-issues/

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...234723&page=13

    http://forums.overclockersclub.com/i...owtopic=169611

    Now, a lot of people are saying "oh, it's just the extreme overclockers who are having this issue", but the reality is that this problem is very widespread and the reason the oc'ers are the ones reporting this is because they're the people who routinely remove their cpu and would notice the damage. There are a lot of reports of people who have not oc'ed getting burnt sockets now too; it's a design flaw on intel's part. They rushed the 1156 socket to market to compete with AMD in the mainstream market (not that they needed to; a core2quad can still beat a phenom 2 in some cases). Many people say it's also just the 1156 sockets made by Foxconn, but that is not the case.

    You'll see a lot of different info on this subject OP, and anyone else who is looking into upgrading/building a new computer. IMO, this issue makes the 1156 socket a total waste of time and something to stay away from indefinitely.

  21. #21
    Originally Posted by AUnjustCause
    none of you have a clue
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119204
    [url]http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136073/url]
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128432
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102864
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153114
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227249
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103696
    total 616USD S&H ( if you don't want ddr3 - 70 bucks for a ddr 2 version if you dont need a quadcore -45 bucks and get a Athlon II 255
    I have a AMD 250 5750 and I can max it out
    What you dont realise is that in europe theres a fair amount of vat, plus components are generally cheaper in the us, making that pc about $800 here

    I would recommend ATI, they run really cool and the new 5xxx cards are really energy efficient, nVidia tend to run pretty hot, especially the 8xxx and GTX 2xx series'

  22. #22
    Originally Posted by ZombieSkydiver
    OP, I would avoid the i5 platform if I were you. I know a lot of people recommend it, and yes it's pretty fast, but the 1156 sockets have a tendency to.... BURN!

    See here:

    http://www.overclockers.com/socket-1...urning-issues/

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...234723&page=13

    http://forums.overclockersclub.com/i...owtopic=169611

    Now, a lot of people are saying "oh, it's just the extreme overclockers who are having this issue", but the reality is that this problem is very widespread and the reason the oc'ers are the ones reporting this is because they're the people who routinely remove their cpu and would notice the damage. There are a lot of reports of people who have not oc'ed getting burnt sockets now too; it's a design flaw on intel's part. They rushed the 1156 socket to market to compete with AMD in the mainstream market (not that they needed to; a core2quad can still beat a phenom 2 in some cases). Many people say it's also just the 1156 sockets made by Foxconn, but that is not the case.

    You'll see a lot of different info on this subject OP, and anyone else who is looking into upgrading/building a new computer. IMO, this issue makes the 1156 socket a total waste of time and something to stay away from indefinitely.
    thats because there nooob and don't understand that you can't oc a 95 wat cpu on a 95wat MAX board to 120+ wats nothing todo with the chip its has todo with cheap motherboards and crapy MOFSETS blowing up and burning the chip
    when you overclock you need to take into account that the chip will exceed its TDP and possibly the boards
    for example my AMD 250 is rated at 65wat @ 3.0ghz @ 1.35v now with my overclock of 3.4Ghz @ stock voltage I m drawing 72wats this is fine because my board is capable of up to 140wat but if say my board was a 95wat max Sure it would work for a bit but eventual the vdcc and mofsets would overload its not the chip its the n00bs who think they know what there doing but dont and the reasion IS due in part to overclocking without proper hardware

  23. #23
    OP, and everyone else, have you seen these cases yet? lol!

    http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...acture=LIAN-LI

    The Lian-Li Spider open bench case. I want one! lol! I think it would make a sweet rig for JC2, but I'm not sure it can fit a big gfx card. Being open air tho, I'm guessing it will. For the price, pretty cool.

    I also think it kinda looks like a fire-ant from Fallout 3!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11
    Originally Posted by Tomtenizze
    I would recommend the following:

    Intel Core i5 650
    ASRock P55 PRO DDR3
    Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) Value Select DDR3 1333MHz
    XFX Radeon HD5770 1GB
    640GB Western Digital Caviar GP SATA-II
    Optiarc AD-7240S DVD±RW
    Antec Three Hundred
    Corsair VX 450W 80+
    Free Shipping coupon

    For a total of 7035 SEK. I would recommend that you go with Windows 7 64-Bit.

    Or if you would like to have a blu-ray player, you can use the following motherboard, CPU and blu-ray instead.

    AMD Phenom2 X4 955 3,2Ghz BE AM3
    Asus M4N68T
    Samsung SH-B083L Blu-Ray
    (Total 6912 SEK)
    QFT.

    Although maybe a 5850/70 for the video card. Otherwise this man is dead on. Not to expensive, but quite a power house (Phenom II x3 720, 5770, 4 gigs of RAM here)