PDA

View Full Version : NVIDIA 9400 -- Go or No Go?



Curious101
23rd Nov 2008, 05:39
I'm wanting to upgrade my video card. Does anyone have an NVIDIA 9400 and can run Underworld well?

leo-xx
23rd Nov 2008, 05:45
no, 9400 is a fairely weak card, if you want to run underworld fluently at high resolution with most details on, go with 9600GT or better.

burt_ie
23rd Nov 2008, 10:23
I have a 9600GT on my pc and it run the TRU demo well with all effects and high res textures etc on :)

trlestew
23rd Nov 2008, 14:26
no, 9400 is a fairely weak card, if you want to run underworld fluently at high resolution with most details on, go with 9600GT or better.

how much $$$ is that card?

iveko
23rd Nov 2008, 17:12
I'm wanting to upgrade my video card. Does anyone have an NVIDIA 9400 and can run Underworld well?

I just bought a new computer with an nVidia GeForce 9400GT (but it's just temporary until I get 9600GT or 9800GT if I'm lucky :D ). The game runs perfectly with all effects and on the highest resolution (I was surprised when I saw that this card was listed in the NOT SUPPORTED section). If you don't want to spend more money then I suppose you can get the 9400 but nobody can be sure that the game will run fine on your configuration. I recommend 9600GT.

GOOD LUCK:thumbsup: , and hope you'll enjoy the game soon.

tym
25th Nov 2008, 05:53
How about the GeForce 8400 GS? It's the best I can get in PCI for my laptop dock.

Wlado.Srbija
15th Mar 2009, 21:47
I have nvidia 9400 GT, and the game runs fine. On larger resolutions fps is low (20 - 40). I play on 640 x 480, and everything else is maxed except the Anti Aliasing which is 2x AA, though it's not big difference on smaller resolutions, anyway experiment, and set it up how you like. FPS never get under 30 (usually 40 +), only when above water (25+). Shadows are not the best, but they look like that on recommended cards too, so don't think that it's because of your card (i checked online and with friends). :D
So, simply said, I don't know why this card is not supported, because it runs fine. :scratch:
:)

This applies to demo, I don't have the full game yet.

P.S. Here are my specs if it means something...

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 3/15/2009, 22:48:05
Machine name: XP
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.080814-1236)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: M56S-S3
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Page File: 354MB used, 3585MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 9400 GT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Display Memory: 512.0
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0011.7779 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 7/26/2008 05:48:00, 6047360 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: No
WHQL Date Stamp: None
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys

Wlado.Srbija
27th Mar 2009, 12:33
Hey, I have a full game now, and it runs FINE! A few stutters here and there, but it is cool. You can play on 800x600 or even 1024x768 without AA and runs fine OR on 640x480 with AA. So, set it how you wish !

Btw, in nvidia CP, when I set overall performance/quality, when you set it to High Quality, it runs smoother than Quality... Why? I personally don't see any difference in quality, no matter if it's Performance, or Quality or HQ... :)