PDA

View Full Version : Black Screen on start



photiscta
5th Nov 2008, 08:05
Hello!
Starting the game, it shows a black screen and can't do anything.
I have try many configurations, from all low to all hight with no luck.
Any idea?

WinXP sp2, 3GB RAM, asus AH 3650-latest driver, dx9c latest version, all windows update (except sp3)

rg_001100
5th Nov 2008, 08:07
Please post results of your DxDiag as well :) (Just in case...)

photiscta
5th Nov 2008, 08:35
Hello!
Starting the game, it shows a black screen and can't do anything.
I have try many configurations, from all low to all hight with no luck.
Any idea?

WinXP sp2, 3GB RAM, asus AH 3650-latest driver, dx9c latest version, all windows update (except sp3)

My DxDiag is:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/5/2008, 11:19:54
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.080814-1233)
Language: English (Regional Setting: Greek)
System Manufacturer: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
System Model: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
BIOS: Rev 2.00
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 2558MB RAM
Page File: 577MB used, 5660MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: The file ati2dvag.dll is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL). You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ASUS AH3650 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x9596)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9596&SUBSYS_00281043&REV_00
Display Memory: 512.0 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: LG FLATRON L1780U(Digital)
Monitor Max Res: 1280,1024
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6764 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 1/9/2008 16:06:19, 272384 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: No
WHQL Date Stamp: None
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 1/10/2008 00:40:38, 2846720 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D6D6-11CF-9F69-2220A1C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x9596
SubSys ID: 0x00281043
Revision ID: 0x0000
Revision ID: 0x0000
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
...

GoranAgar
5th Nov 2008, 11:43
---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ASUS AH3650 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x9596)
...
Driver Date/Size: 1/9/2008 16:06:19, 272384 bytes
Please update your driver.


asus AH 3650-latest driver
I almost believed you.

photiscta
5th Nov 2008, 17:54
These are the latest drivers.
Also I did an uninstall / reinstall of the driver and the dx, with no luck.

rg_001100
5th Nov 2008, 18:52
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

What do the display tests come up with?

Is this issue just the case for the TR:U demo, or does it happen with other games?

photiscta
5th Nov 2008, 19:29
I had the same issue with GRID.
But, it run in window mode with no problem.
After reset the settings (antiallising etc) for the game, I had no problem at all.
No problem with other games.

rg_001100
5th Nov 2008, 19:38
So your computer has issues with Full Screen Anti-Aliasing then? :scratch:
Working all good now?

photiscta
5th Nov 2008, 19:50
I am using these settings (full screen & Anti-Aliasing) for every game.
I had the same issue (black screen) with Grid. The work around was to reset the settings to low. After, I re-enable Anti-Aliasing and high settings at all, with no problem.
By the way, thank you for the reply! :)

photiscta
6th Nov 2008, 16:54
The solution: Installation of Windows XP Service Pack 3! :)
Thank you all.

GoranAgar
7th Nov 2008, 05:52
The solution: Installation of Windows XP Service Pack 3! :)
Thank you all.
... what??? :scratch:

UXYR
14th Feb 2009, 07:37
Failed to Initialized Direct 3d Current Setting ...

Plzz HELP Mee .. . ..

rg_001100
14th Feb 2009, 07:49
Failed to Initialized Direct 3d Current Setting ...

Plzz HELP Mee .. . ..

Plz read FAQ (http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=81793).