PDA

View Full Version : DX3 Preview Rant

Havenkel
5th Oct 2008, 15:35
Edit: http://www.computerandvideogames.com/article.php?id=198546. That's what I'm basint this off of.

Hey everyone, I'm new here. I posted this sometime yesterday at gamefaqs, and came here to see how you guys felt about it. I can't say I like the direction it's going. I hate the direction it's going. I just copied/pasted it, so it might seem like I'm addresing someone at some points, but anyway, here you are:

I was so hyped for this game. I really was. Deus Ex is the best game I have EVER played, and I still thoroughly enjoy it. Not to mention that I'm new to the mods, therefore giving me another year or two of replay.

Let me start with the stealth system. Deus Ex had better stealth that MGS (which I will elaborate on later in this paragraph). It was one of the first games that let you be somewhere without the enemies already knowing where you were. You could hide in plain sight, but be dark enough to get away with it. You even had what they are implementing: cover. So what Eidos Montreal is doing, is taking away a very important feature (shadows), and giving a feature already in the game a different camera angle. That is bull****. That is completely unnessacary, and in the year 2008, they should be able to implement BOTH! They have the resources! I don't want to give up the most important aspect of gameplay for a cinematic camera. Deus Ex is NOT a shooter, and it should not be made into a GoW/MGS4 clone, with a FPS pospective. This is excatly what Metal Gear Solid 1 did with the PSone and the MGS2 with the PS2. Think about how far we've come from that! I can't play MGS with stealth. That's because the system is flawed deeply, and if you can call standing 15 feet in front of a guard stealth...This game was potentionally going to redifine the cross genre which is the RPS, and now it's a clone.