PDA

View Full Version : How You Met Lara

Rachie
2nd Jul 2008, 06:56
This is just a fun, reminescing thread on how you first heard about Lara and her famous Tomb Raiding.

My story begins on a birthday party at a friends place, when I was 6 years old. We were going to watch a video (not a dvd, of course) and that video was the first TR movie. Most of you would say that's not really a great intro to Miss Croft, but it worked wonders to my six year old mind. The other kids weren't that fussed, and ended up playing a game outside, but I stayed in front of the tv, completely mesmerised.

A few years later (I think I was 10), I had seen the other TR movies, but otherwise I didn't know much at all about TR. I was very into video gaming though, and one day I went out and bought a LOTR game. When I started playing it, I was very bored of it, and stopped a mere ten minutes after playing it. Then when I went to play again later that day, the game refused to load, much to my happieness, as this meant I could go and exchange it for another game.

So I went back to the store, stammered to the clerk about what was wrong with the game (I was extremely shy, today being no exception) and went to go and choose another game. I was tossing up between a Charlie's Angels game (yes, I know. I was young though!!) and a dragonish game I can't remember, when I saw TR, AoD. I of course loved the movies and Lara, so I decided to buy the game.

I LOVED it, and still do. I was captivated by Lara and her new adventure, and was very pleased with the animation (and so began my dream of working with CD as an animator) and astonished by the story.

A few years after (13 now) I went on a trip to New Caledonia as a French class thing at school, and my friend told me about Legend. I had no idea that there were MORE TR games, and this was very pleasing to hear. So of course, I hastened to buy it.