PDA

View Full Version : What kind of gamer were you...

Xcom
9th Apr 2008, 08:57
BEFORE playing original Deus Ex?

1. Dedicated, all-around gamer? You played lots of games of various genres, possibly on different platforms.

2. Hardcore gamer? You played quite a few games but usually of one genre (eg. shooters)

3. Casual gamer? You played some games... occasionally.

4. Novice gamer? You weren't really into videogaming before Deus Ex.

Be objective. :p

And additional question: did playing Deus Ex change your gaming habits? Did you start playing more games / less games?

Inane Mythos
9th Apr 2008, 09:05
I was and still am a (less than)casual gamer. I've been playing games for about 15 years now but my time is always spent on my work (3D visualisations and Architecture and Animation). I'll at the most maybe get about 4-6 hours a week to play a game.

Deus Ex didn't change the way I played games, but it did change what games I'd play if that counts for anything! :p

Blade_hunter
9th Apr 2008, 11:24
Much before DX, I was a dedicated gamer I've played some different kind of games and I finally prefer the FPS genre; and when I've played DX I discover the first true mix between genres (FPS,RPG,Infitration).
I loved the global gameplay because We can use each part of the different gameplays of the game to turn them into my adventage when need to pass each situation.
I loved this game because we can customize our character, because we must made choices (what item are must necessary on my inventory, how I can aboard each situation, how sentence I must chose to obtain what I want or what is much necessary) I loved the characters in the game, How the world is changing after our actions, the interactivity with the world and more ....

I vote dedicated because, just before DX I was an hardcore gamer but with not sufficient experience on games to say I'm an hardcore gamer

Red
9th Apr 2008, 12:03
Dedicated.

RTS, RPG, FPS, racing, you name it, I played it.