PDA

View Full Version : Get the atmosphere right

LeatherJacket
6th Apr 2008, 09:40
I love the original Deus Ex. It had a very good atmosphere with its dark and gritty look.

I think well done rain (like this nvidia sample (http://developer.download.nvidia.com/SDK/10/direct3d/samples.html#rain) ) will help a great deal :D. No need to go all the way like Ati's toy shop demo! Just get the rain-light interaction and the little bit of local haze where the rain hits objects. This and a bit of post processing will go a long way getting a cyberpunkish film noir style IMHO. While I'm a graphics programmer (right now I'm working on graphics drivers), I only request you to do the minimal things to convey the mood—which I think has more to do with art direction than GPU intensive graphical effects. Eye candy is appreciated but not at all required :).

I wish that the music is done like the original one. The original music was just awesome and drew me right in!

Also I loved the teaser! The flashing imagery some how reminded me of the flashing symbols in the movie Casshern :).

jordan_a
6th Apr 2008, 10:47
I only request you to do the minimal things to convey the mood—which I think has more to do with art direction than GPU intensive graphical effects.Amen to that. The setting is important (Rain (http://developer.download.nvidia.com/SDK/10/direct3d/screenshots/samples/Rain.html)) they shouldn't spend too much time on it though. The story, a great and true video game soundtrack and challenging levels is all I need.

LeatherJacket
6th Apr 2008, 15:27
The story, a great and true video game soundtrack and challenging levels is all I need.