PDA

View Full Version : Vista - Cursor changes to CD on load (hangs)

FaTaL0505
6th Mar 2008, 08:21
My girlfriend recently bought a PC here in Beijing. I figured I'd try a few games on it..

Since I had Thief 3 on dvd, never played, it was 1st in the machine.

My PC is as follows :

Windows Vista Home Basic
Intel(R)Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2180 GHz
2.00 GB
NVidia GeForce 8400 GS

It installs fine, no drama. But when I double click to play :

The cursor changes from the little blue ring to a CD, and just stays on that.

Now this is my first time on Vista, so I have barely any knowledge on it.

Also, the Vista is annoying coz its in Chinese (since I'm in Beijing) but my girlfriend can translate on the most part for me.

Does it matter what language Vista you have in relation to games?

I've read one solution on some GameTap site, but I didn't get mine through them so I don't have the same directories, etc..

Also, read numerous, change compatibility, also, untick the use of one cpu in Affinity (which I worked out which one was last night) but still no change.

Thanks for your time.

- Mike

Peter_Smith
6th Mar 2008, 17:33
You need to set affinity of both t3.exe and t3main.exe to a single processor. t3.exe does not work with imagecfg. For a permanent change use ProcessWatch. You can try it manually first. Try that and report back.

I don't know much about Vista, and certainly not the Chinese version. You could do a search for Vista and see if there are any other issues. Good luck.

FaTaL0505
7th Mar 2008, 02:02
I've only seen t3.exe.. never t3main.exe in the task manager..

Ah well, I'll give processwatch a shot and report back to you :)

Thanks.

Peter_Smith
7th Mar 2008, 04:50
t3main.exe is definitely in the task manager, at least in my version of the program. No matter which of the two EXEs I start, the other one is invoked, and they both run. I suggest you look again and make sure that ProcessWatch is watching them both.

DanekJovax
19th Mar 2008, 22:53