PDA

View Full Version : Where is my patch?



Psykopig
8th Dec 2007, 20:53
I have posted all over the place, i even went through the eidos tech support thing and all they could say to me was that the game is broken. So I guess my point is....if they know this....where is my patch?

mclazyj
9th Dec 2007, 03:55
Yeah, something tells me due to poor sales, we will never see a patch for this game.

Psykopig
9th Dec 2007, 08:37
noooo

don't say that....i loved what I did play of the game....i just don't want to ruin my experience any further till they release a patch...

GIGAR
9th Dec 2007, 09:15
Yeah, something tells me due to poor sales, we will never see a patch for this game.
That's a lie.
Actually, IO are working on some new maps right now :D

lordshoot2kill
9th Dec 2007, 15:34
That's a lie.
Actually, IO are working on some new maps right now :D

I dont want maps, i want a game that works!

Psykopig
9th Dec 2007, 18:46
That's a lie.
Actually, IO are working on some new maps right now :D

hahahahahaha

who cares about maps when you can't play the game anyway?

Zacker
9th Dec 2007, 20:53
Both a patch and new maps are in the works.

Winter
9th Dec 2007, 21:07
the could release a lil patch just to get things moveing better i cant play the dam game online!!!

Psykopig
10th Dec 2007, 06:37
the could release a lil patch just to get things moveing better i cant play the dam game online!!!

hey man, at least you can play offline right? Not all of us can!

CommanderJ
11th Dec 2007, 16:45
So...no new tech faq since Nov 29th. And still no patch. It's really quite incredible to have a game sitting on my desk that I simply cannot play, offline or online, because it crashes every 4-5 minutes, with no error message. Quite incredible. Whoever was on the Q&A should have their collective butts fired.

Psykopig
12th Dec 2007, 08:30
I know right?

This is the first time I have loved a game so much...but hated it so badly at the same time.

I want to play!!!!

jaywalker2309
12th Dec 2007, 08:54
So...no new tech faq since Nov 29th. And still no patch. It's really quite incredible to have a game sitting on my desk that I simply cannot play, offline or online, because it crashes every 4-5 minutes, with no error message. Quite incredible. Whoever was on the Q&A should have their collective butts fired.

Are you vista or XP?

Have you got the new `LIVE` update from MS?

Candle
12th Dec 2007, 11:10
The live update didn't stop the crashing.

jaywalker2309
12th Dec 2007, 11:46
The live update didn't stop the crashing.

So you are crashing when going online? are you able to play the SP game okay? (just quickly checked all your posts only saw u mention online gaming problems)

Candle
13th Dec 2007, 02:32
Yes, that is correct. Thanks for checking. Although the live update did make the online slightly better connectionwise.

cls81
13th Dec 2007, 21:09
My biggest problem with the game is that is does not have mouse support.
Jumping like crazy every 2-3sec.

A friend that is working as a programmer is laughing his behind off, saying that if they cant get a mouse to work they should go back to school.
I cant see the fun in it because a pay for the game.

With all the bad reviews and the JEFF "thing" it will be a long wait.

Psykopig
13th Dec 2007, 21:11
hehe

i am glad your game works!


MINE DOESNT! :(

No single player and I sure as hell am not gonna even attempt online considering I can't play offline!!!!



WHERE IS MY PATCH? :( :confused: :(

Psykopig
18th Dec 2007, 01:31
It sucks ass that all I can do is ask....


But where is the patch?

Hasn't it been long enough?

Hopefully when they did at least SOME testing, they noticed the problems with the PC version, such as.....NOT RUNNING AT ALL.

So can I assume they have been working on it????

jaywalker2309
18th Dec 2007, 08:15
It sucks ass that all I can do is ask....


But where is the patch?

Hasn't it been long enough?

Hopefully when they did at least SOME testing, they noticed the problems with the PC version, such as.....NOT RUNNING AT ALL.

So can I assume they have been working on it????

Sigh why do people assume cos they have a problem that it meant someone in testing missed it. Do you know how many configurations of pc software/hardware are out there? Lots, and lots and lots.

As an example we bought a load of pc's at the same time, so they were `identical` for our Multiplayer room (ensures that the only issues seen in the room would be related to the MP code not due to the performance of the pc's etc) and after a short period of time a few of them started having issues in general. So even tho they are hardware identical some of them experienced issues whilst others didn't (K&L ran fine on them all, but some started taking much longer to boot etc). So even in this enclosed controlled environment we found machines acting differently, so imagine how the `WORLD` pc's act?

We test on our hardware here, we have done compat testing with a very reputable 3rd party company as well, and we didnt have any `startup` crashes reported. Every single PC in the world is unique.

We're trying to find out whats causing a few machines not to run the game when on paper their specs are good enough. We've listed a few issues where we've found common issues between machines etc. We've not abandoned people we're just trying to sort an issue we do not get here.

jaywalker2309
18th Dec 2007, 08:19
I've read thru some of your posts, you had it running fine for a while, but i am guessing you were still alt-tabbing the error message away.

The error message is the important key here. That error is related to the protection system within K&L. It gives that error as its not getting the response back from your machine its expecting. Simple things to check, do you have Daemon tools or any other image making software running. Do you have the original disc in the drive (if you have 2 drives, try putting the disc in to another drive).

Have you updated Live to the new version as listed elsewhere on the forums?

Candle
18th Dec 2007, 11:29
SOme people, I.E. me, don't get an error message and cant even connect to games.

3 things to make it one of my favorite games:

1. Online co-op

2. Fix the crash

3. Fix the connectons issues

Psykopig
18th Dec 2007, 22:51
I've read thru some of your posts, you had it running fine for a while, but i am guessing you were still alt-tabbing the error message away.

The error message is the important key here. That error is related to the protection system within K&L. It gives that error as its not getting the response back from your machine its expecting. Simple things to check, do you have Daemon tools or any other image making software running. Do you have the original disc in the drive (if you have 2 drives, try putting the disc in to another drive).

Have you updated Live to the new version as listed elsewhere on the forums?


I updated windows live, I have the original disc in, and i already tried to quit daemon tools before running it, but its still a no go.

I was alt-tabbing the error message but the game would crash not too long after that so I gave up.

I am not sure why you think testing could not have missed it, yes like you said, all machines in the world are unique, but with so many people experiencing the same issue there has to have been some sign of it.

Also, when the eidos support team tells me that the game is broken, i assume they know there is a problem right?

I worked with a very nice lady (Veronica) at the support place and she can't find any issues with me, they suggested that the game was broken and that I should either send my cd back for a replacement or wait for the patch.

Really, I am waiting for the patch, because from maybe 1 hour of gameplay I got out of the game I absolutely loved it!

Candle
19th Dec 2007, 00:24
Yes, this game is awesome when it works. Fortunately for me, this game often works.

Winter
21st Dec 2007, 08:10
Wheres!!! the DAM!!! PATCH!!!

Maxx_Fire
21st Dec 2007, 10:26
I updated windows live, I have the original disc in, and i already tried to quit daemon tools before running it, but its still a no go.

So you closed the daemon tools launcher... Did you unmount all the emulated drives and switch off emulation before closing? Daemon tools is just one possible cause; powerDVD, alcohol 120%, Nero (imagedrive), easy CD creator (disc burning software in general really...), MagicDISC, MagicISO, PowerISO, UltraISO, Microsoft Virtual CD-ROM and I'm sure there are a few others.

Daemon tools in particular has caused me headaches in the past thanks to it installing a virtual scsi controller which it uses to create the drives on the fly. This virtual controller has conflicted with protection software before in the past, I would imagine that Microsoft's software knows about this one! ;)

Just some info, don't know if this will help or not.

Candle
21st Dec 2007, 14:22
I think it may have helped me. I have played like 10 games on a different computer w/out it and only crashed once.

Psykopig
22nd Dec 2007, 00:23
no, daemon tools is closed and I run no other emulation software...

is the patch out yet?

Psykopig
22nd Dec 2007, 08:45
Well, it seems with the new nvidia 169.21 drivers becoming official, my problems have ceased.

that combined with the windows live update!

Potentialkilla
30th Dec 2007, 20:33
we need a ps3 patch aswell for fragile alliance (online)
how will we know if theres a patch been realesed for ps3 how do we check for patches on this platform and you need to fix the game before making new maps.

bothered
30th Dec 2007, 22:12
Sigh why do people assume cos they have a problem that it meant someone in testing missed it. Do you know how many configurations of pc software/hardware are out there? Lots, and lots and lots.

As an example we bought a load of pc's at the same time, so they were `identical` for our Multiplayer room (ensures that the only issues seen in the room would be related to the MP code not due to the performance of the pc's etc) and after a short period of time a few of them started having issues in general. So even tho they are hardware identical some of them experienced issues whilst others didn't (K&L ran fine on them all, but some started taking much longer to boot etc). So even in this enclosed controlled environment we found machines acting differently, so imagine how the `WORLD` pc's act?

We test on our hardware here, we have done compat testing with a very reputable 3rd party company as well, and we didnt have any `startup` crashes reported. Every single PC in the world is unique.

We're trying to find out whats causing a few machines not to run the game when on paper their specs are good enough. We've listed a few issues where we've found common issues between machines etc. We've not abandoned people we're just trying to sort an issue we do not get here.

Sorry, not good enough. Almost every game I or my mates have bought have worked, all I see for K&L is, in the 'real world' almost nobody can play it. Every single PC in the world may be different but most games work on them all. No way has this been tested properly. It is such a glaring failure that any claim that it has 'been tested with a very reputable 3rd party company' is laughable or the company involved uses one PC that seems to identical to yours. If this was any other product than a PC game there would be a stampede to get our money back and this is why the law needs changing.

Kneo24
31st Dec 2007, 01:50
I want to expand some on Bothered's thoughts.

For starters, it only makes sense that you buy new PC's to test the game out (new games should be developed to take advantage of the newer hardware that's out). If people want to do any sort of gaming on the PC, they should try to keep their hardware within 3 years behind max (newer games will run like ass on the lowest settings, but they should still be playable). I don't think anyone is expecting you guys to support hardware that's really dated.

However, when a plethora of people are having problems on the latest hardware, it makes one wonder what exactly you guys did use, and what you guys had installed on those computers. Furthermore, how different was the hardware that you guys used? I know put the word identical in quotes which means not every machine was exactly the same. Did you guys even bother to make sure everything was set correctly in the BIOS or did you guys just stick with whatever the motherboard detected?

And "compatibility testing with a reputable 3rd party company" sounds like corporate talk for having a massive gay orgy, because really, it is a that vague of a statement.

Perhaps it's time you guys get on track and actually ask for more community help into the matter, which you haven't as of yet. I've seen plenty of other developers do this with success.

I ask these questions because your testing process is suspect at best. You have admitted that each PC is ever so different, so one would assume that at some point you guys would want to test the game into the ground on various machines after you have some initial kinks worked out, which it doesn't sound like you did.

bothered
31st Dec 2007, 07:30
Exactly.
I have added my sig but it doesn't show in this forum. Here is what I'm using -
Abit IP35Dark Raider:Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz:4Gb OCZ Ram:MSI 8800GTS:3 HDD(240Gb):Pioneer 108: DVD:Camera,scanner,:xp pro sp2:
The game will not run at all. My Sons PC is a single core AMD xp3200, 1Gb RAM and a 7800GT, the game runs after you Alt Tab out of the error. Fairly standard PCs I'd have thought.

Potentialkilla
2nd Jan 2008, 15:48
Sorry, not good enough. Almost every game I or my mates have bought have worked, all I see for K&L is, in the 'real world' almost nobody can play it. Every single PC in the world may be different but most games work on them all. No way has this been tested properly. It is such a glaring failure that any claim that it has 'been tested with a very reputable 3rd party company' is laughable or the company involved uses one PC that seems to identical to yours. If this was any other product than a PC game there would be a stampede to get our money back and this is why the law needs changing.

well put ;) the game clearly it has serious issues on both pc and ps3 a total rip!

Stooge
2nd Jan 2008, 22:04
I'm still waiting for an answer to the threads question, where is our patch?

Kneo24
3rd Jan 2008, 00:42
Unless they're close to releasing a patch soon, it might be a wise move on their part to release an intermediate patch that fixes some issues. It won't help everyone, but it will help some people.

mclazyj
4th Jan 2008, 22:05
Well as I said in the second post in this thread, looks like I was right as we are getting the shaft end of the stick in regards to the patch.

You say that you tested it on several identical new machines. Maybe it is just me, but when I test in our IT lab at work, I use several different specifications to make sure an app will work across all hardware types. Using the same type machine guarantees they will all work or they will all break.

The fact that it has been over a month and a half, and we have yet to see a patch, tells me that we won't see a patch. And it is a shame, because there is a lot of good foundation there for the game, but it is just so broke that you can't get a useful grasp of how the game will play.

At this point, I would rather have Eidos send me a jar of vasoline and tell me that we already got your money and tough luck. At least I would be getting an honest answer. To sit there and blame the multitude of different hardware specs is B.S. Every other company releasing for the PC has to deal with this and they get patches out far quicker than this. Call of Duty 4 has had four different patches since its release two weeks before Kane and Lynch. Valve has released numerous patches for The Orange Box via Steam since its release, and they continue to do so, months after release. The Witcher has had several patches released for it since launch. It goes on and on. All the companies deal with technical issues and do it promptly, because they have some semblence of care towards the customer.

Sad thing is that Io Interactive made Freedom Fighters and the Hitman series and both have been stable and patched as necessary to play on the PC. Someone dropped the ball and pushed this thing out the door far early than it should have.

Just one man's opinion, but it is looking to be more accurate every day.

cls81
9th Jan 2008, 21:34
Is this game officially dead, or is there work being done?

But i can understand if there isnt. They got my money so why care right.
Eidos should join hands with "atari europe" go in a lake and not bother to come up for air.

Zacker
11th Jan 2008, 08:12
We do care and there is a patch on it's way.

Dr_Phaust
13th Jan 2008, 09:17
I've just down loaded the demo for the game and even that doesn't work. What chance do we have for a patch when they can't even be bothered to release a "fixed" demo when they know all this is going on.

Once a again, great job Eidos for the biggest game con I've seen yet. Enjoy my money.

mclazyj
20th Jan 2008, 01:45
We do care and there is a patch on it's way.

I understand, but you have to understand our distrust in this statement, because we have been feed so much lip service about a patch. The game had a lot going for it, but all of these stability issues just go to show our frustrations. I have been an Io Interactive supporter for many years. Bought all the Hitman games and Freedom Fighters, and never had stability issues like this. I wish we could get more substantive news, like a date or even a rough period when the patch will be ready. Two months and counting for that patch.

Jaydam
20th Jan 2008, 09:20
We do care and there is a patch on it's way.

can we have some more information added to this statement please?

like when?

this week / next month / next year?

The game is great, eidos technical support is clearly NOT!

or should i put a bill in for the hard drives that crash due to the game rebooting my pc?

Never before have i had this on any game.

bothered
25th Jan 2008, 05:04
We do care and there is a patch on it's way.

I've had this game for over a month now and I still haven't even seen a screen from it. Any news on if a patch is going to happen?

Littleweasel
26th Jan 2008, 22:02
That's a lie.
Actually, IO are working on some new maps right now :D

and how the hell do you know that their working on new maps? do you work there?

it might be just me but shouldn't they try and fix the problems with the game that are at hand right now before bothering with new maps that people can't play anyways because of the online being so f'd up before adding more problems to an already problem filled game?