PDA

View Full Version : MISC. 90%-99% of dmg is grenade launcher or other aoe abilities

Oroibahazopi
28th Nov 2013, 19:40
Been looking at my death breakdowns when playing vamps. Do other people have similar stats?

Ok maybe it's closer to 66% ^^

Psyonix_Corey
28th Nov 2013, 20:46
This doesn't line up with our metrics or internal play sessions, but I wouldn't be surprised if AOE damage was prevalent in matches with newer players or multiple alchemists.

When I play against good human teams, the bulk of my incoming damage is typically Crossbow and Longbow damage.

Oroibahazopi
28th Nov 2013, 20:48
Well how do you avoid the dmg as a vamp when you have 3-4 alcs in a small room shooting their shots off the walls and spamming their fire everywhere?

blincoln
28th Nov 2013, 22:04
I'm no expert, but I would think at least one option there is throwing in one of the poison cloud grenades that the Reavers (? I think?) can obtain.

Oroibahazopi
28th Nov 2013, 22:14
That only helps against direct damage stuff. The nade doesn't really stop you from eating the humans grenades/volley/traps at all. As a Scout as soon as I see a nade and hear the pouncing sound I just throw my own nade in there and usually get numbers flying all over the place with zero real effort.

I mean as a tyrant you can just charge in and pop endure pain getting the humans to dump their stuff on you while you walk away, but smart humans know that you can't actually do anything with endure pain active so they'll ignore you.

I seem to have problems with alcs point blank shooting me with their launcher too which doesn't seem to be damaging them as much as me.

I'm not really saying I have a massive block on how to deal with it per se, I'm saying that it's sad the most effective way to damage vamps is with point blank aoe spam. Yes the Scout and Hunter can plug you for a lot of damage if you let them but it's pretty easy to avoid hits if you know how to tactical shooter.

blincoln
28th Nov 2013, 22:26