PDA

View Full Version : Old TR games in retrsopect versus TRA. what works now and what doesn't.

Agent Guile
8th Jun 2007, 10:29
List of TR games that I've played:
1. TR1
2. TR Gold
3. TR2
4. TR2 Gold
5. TR3
6. TR3 Gold
4. TR4
5. TR Chronicles
6. TR Angel of Darkness
7. TR Legend
8. TRA (not yet finished)

It would be a bit disorganized if I just list things at random so I wanna write first a basic principle that I feel Tomb Raider fans should understand.

In solving a TR puzzle, there are two basic principles, in my opinion:
1. Rules

We can subdivide this to
a. understanding what you have
b. understanding what you can do

2. Objectives

I'm a Tomb Raider veteran and with the list of TR games that I've played, there's no question about the legitimacy of my declaration of being that type of TR gamer.

There's only one basic standard that I live with whenever I play Tomb Raider--I try to finish the game without asking for help, even it takes me an eternity to do it. I don't even read minor hints, let alone read a wakthrough. Some other TR geek can do the other things, such as doing a speed trial or something. That's his turf, and that's something that I don't really play TR for.

However, there are only two TR games (TR gold editions aside, which were generally easy), that I successfully finished without asking for help--TR1 and TR2.

Every other game that followed TR2 has lost grip of these basic principles (except maybe when Crystal Dynamics took over). The two principles were off balance since then.

Consider the 1st two TR games:
Basic rule: Find a key
Basic objective: Open a door where the key fits

Anyway, TR1 and TR2 were the only flagship TR games of CORE in my opinion. TR3 messed it up, despite not changing the rules drastically. It's still:
Basic rule: Find a key
Basic objective: Open a door where the key fits