PDA

View Full Version : Securom issues



Raziel_Requiem
2nd Jun 2007, 08:58
Securom are the worst for customer service I have ever seen, and besides, it's not my place to deal with them, as they provide the service to Eidos/Crystal.

After installing the game and playing for a few hours yesterday, I turned off my PC. Coming back to it today, I put the disk into a different DVD-Drive and got the error:

-----------------------------------------------------
A required security module cannot be activated.
This program cannot be executed (5024).

Please have a look at http://www.securom.com/message.asp?m=module&c=5024 for further, more detailed information.

-------------------------------------------------


"The link tells me rather unhelpfully "SecuROM™ has determined that a Process Explorer program is running in the background.
Please close this program and reboot your machine before you start the application."

Not that I'm aware of such an application, in fact, my process list was:

Process list saved on 10:05:27, on 02/06/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)

[pid] [full path to filename] [file version] [company name]
620 C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
696 C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
740 C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
752 C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
908 C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe 6.14.10.4129 ATI Technologies Inc.
960 C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
1140 C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
1240 C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe 5.6.0.2808 Sygate Technologies, Inc.
1564 C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe 5.1.2600.2696 Microsoft Corporation
1700 C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgamsvr.exe 7.5.0.453 GRISOFT, s.r.o.
1732 C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgupsvc.exe 7.5.0.420 GRISOFT, s.r.o.
1764 C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgemc.exe 7.5.0.460 GRISOFT, s.r.o.
1936 C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgfwsrv.exe 7.5.0.469 GRISOFT, s.r.o.
1452 C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe 6.14.10.4129 ATI Technologies Inc.
1852 C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe 5.1.2600.2180 Microsoft Corporation
2488 C:\Program Files\AnalogX\CookieWall\cookie.exe
2720 C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgcc.exe 7.5.0.460 GRISOFT, s.r.o.
3000 C:\Program Files\PCI Audio Applications\Mixer.exe 1.5.8.0 C-Media Electronic Inc. (www.cmedia.com.tw)
3032 C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe 2.22.289.0 Logitech Inc.
3396 C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe 1.4.0.2 Safer Networking Limited
304 C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\Tmas\Tmas.exe 3.0.1.23 Trend Micro Incorporated
1072 C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe 6.0.2900.2180 Microsoft Corporation
5232 C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe 7.0.6000.16441 Microsoft Corporation
1400 C:\DOCUME~1\PJ\LOCALS~1\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe 1.99.0.1 Soeperman Enterprises Ltd.




Somehow, during installation, the Mount-point of the drive used is recorded and used by securom, but without the mountpoint info, I can no longer run the game. Any suggestions?
Im sure re-installing would fix the issue for now, but it would undoubtedly return on re-starting my PC :(

Raziel_Requiem
14th Jun 2007, 19:07
As I thought. Re-installing solved the issue until I re-started my PC again.

I'm sorry, but I would really appreciate some help from Eidos about this as I am not gonna leave my PC running 24/7 nor do I want to reinstall a game everytime I might wat to play it for an hour or two.

aklendathu
15th Jun 2007, 08:30
As I thought. Re-installing solved the issue until I re-started my PC again.

I'm sorry, but I would really appreciate some help from Eidos about this as I am not gonna leave my PC running 24/7 nor do I want to reinstall a game everytime I might wat to play it for an hour or two.

Does the problem occur if you leave the Game DVD in the same drive where you installed it from ? Some games do not allow your CD/DVD drive letter to change after installation.
Occasionally I've had a message prompting me to insert the correct disk in the drive (even though it really was there) when starting TRA. So far, double-clicking on the desktop icon again has solved the problem.
Another way of starting the game is from the Play button in the menu that pops up from the autoplay feature when you insert the disk in the drive.

GoranAgar
15th Jun 2007, 08:42
...Coming back to it today, I put the disk into a different DVD-Drive and got the error:
...

I don't get it. Why do you put the disk into a different drive? What happens if you put the DVD into the original drive you used to install? :scratch:

GeorgeMaciver
15th Jun 2007, 08:44
Good question Goran, must say, I've been scratching my head over that one too. Maybe Securom is doing what it's supposed to be doing :)

Xcom
15th Jun 2007, 13:12
:lol:

Good, I thought I was the only who didn't have any idea what's he talking about.

aklendathu
15th Jun 2007, 13:28
Good question Goran, must say, I've been scratching my head over that one too. Maybe Securom is doing what it's supposed to be doing :)

Actually, it should be smart enough to let you run the game from a different drive or at the very least give you an intelligible error message.

GoranAgar
15th Jun 2007, 21:02
A PC is still not as simple as a TV set. No matter what Microsoft, Apple and Intel promise you.

And I still want to know what happens when he puts the DVD in his other drive.

aklendathu
17th Jun 2007, 15:22
A PC is still not as simple as a TV set. No matter what Microsoft, Apple and Intel promise you.

And I still want to know what happens when he puts the DVD in his other drive.

Well, I put mine in another drive and the game ran fine, thank you, even though it was not the install drive. :thumbsup:

Raziel_Requiem
20th Jun 2007, 17:06
Sorry, perhaps I should have mentioned. It wa only after the first installation that I next went to run the disk in a different drive. Why use a different drive? I simply didn't consider it to make a differece, or at least, inform me that the disk is in the 'wrong' drive.

Anyway, whichever drive is used is irrelevant, as the error occurs regardless. I only mentioned that to describe in more detail what I did on first running the game.

To answer your questions:

Q:Does the problem occur if you leave the Game DVD in the same drive where you installed it from ? Some games do not allow your CD/DVD drive letter to change after installation.
Occasionally I've had a message prompting me to insert the correct disk in the drive (even though it really was there) when starting TRA. So far, double-clicking on the desktop icon again has solved the problem.
Another way of starting the game is from the Play button in the menu that pops up from the autoplay feature when you insert the disk in the drive.

A: Yes, the problem occurs each time, regardless of drive used. I do not use autoplay features on any drives.

Q:I don't get it. Why do you put the disk into a different drive?
A:Why not?
What happens if you put the DVD into the original drive you used to install?
A: See above

Q: Maybe Securom is doing what it's supposed to be doing
A: In Sony's own words: "SecuROM™ is Sony's copy protection solution for publishers to protect their software on DVD."

Q:Good, I thought I was the only who didn't have any idea what's he talking about.
A: Rather than re-iterate, I'l just ask you to read my initial post. It's written entirely in English and with the longest words only around 11 letters long, so it's shouldn't be that difficult.

Q:And I still want to know what happens when he puts the DVD in his other drive.
A: See above. Altough, I shall mention again that the drive used is irrelevant.

Q:Well, I put mine in another drive and the game ran fine, thank you, even though it was not the install drive.
A: Thank you at least, for clarifying this.

aklendathu
20th Jun 2007, 18:07
There must be a process running in your PC that's confusing SECUROM, making it think that you're trying to hack the game. It may be even some old driver lurking around in the background. It once happened to me that a game wouldn't run because I had some old drivers for a Microsoft trackball (intended for kids).

The best strategy would be to install Windows and the basic system drivers on another disk and run TRA from there. Or, you can try to kill some non-essential processes on your current system and keep trying to run TRA until you succeed. Then you'll know which process was causing the problem.

If you would like additional help/info on this I suggest you send me a pm.

Raziel_Requiem
21st Jun 2007, 11:39
I have no drivers installed except those required for hardware currently in use, i.e. Microsoft system drivers, mainboard drivers, expansion card drivers etc.

In essence, my set up is exactly what you have suggested, aside from 3rd party expansion card drivers and security software.

The process list is posted in my first post. I consider all these to be essential.
Except for the AUI loader, which unfortunately, cannot be removed to my knowledge.

Raziel_Requiem
21st Jun 2007, 11:51
Sorry for double-post, but I am unablle to edit without maybe cookies or javascript.

Anyway, here's a list of installed drivers from DriverGuide Toolkit:

Windows Drivers currently installed on DESKTOP
List created: 21/06/2007 12:55:57

Driver: ATK0110 ACPI UTILITY
Driver Type: System devices
Driver Version: 1043.2.15.37
Driver Date: 08/13/2004
Manufacturer: ATK
ProviderName: ATK
Num files: 3
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:57

Driver: AMD K8 Processor
Driver Type: Processors
Driver Version: 1.2.2.0
Driver Date: 10/26/2004
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices
ProviderName: Advanced Micro Devices
Num files: 2
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:58

Driver: AMD AwayMode
Driver Type: System devices
Driver Version: 1.0.1.0
Driver Date: 04/06/2006
Manufacturer: AMD
ProviderName: AMD
Num files: 2
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:58

Driver: Easy Internet Keyboard
Driver Type: Keyboards
Driver Version: 2.21
Driver Date: 12/18/2003
Manufacturer: Logitech
ProviderName: Logitech
Num files: 3
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:58

Driver: Creative Media C-8378 Device
Driver Type: Sound, video and game controllers
Driver Version: %DriverBuildID%
Driver Date: 06/27/2006
Manufacturer: Analog Devices
ProviderName: AnalogDevices
Num files: 1
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:58

Driver: ATI SMBus
Driver Type: System devices
Driver Version: 2.21
Driver Date: 12/18/2003
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc
ProviderName: ATI Technologies Inc
Num files: 3
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:58

Driver: ATI SMBus
Driver Type: System devices
Driver Version: 2.21
Driver Date: 12/18/2003
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc
ProviderName: ATI Technologies Inc
Num files: 3
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:58

Driver: Sapphire RADEON X1600 XT
Driver Type: Display adapters
Driver Version: 8.380.0.0000
Driver Date: 05/17/2007
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
ProviderName: ATI Technologies Inc.
Num files: 38
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:59

Driver: Sapphire RADEON X1600 PRO
Driver Type: Display adapters
Driver Version: 8.380.0.0000
Driver Date: 05/17/2007
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
ProviderName: ATI Technologies Inc.
Num files: 38
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:59

Driver: Sapphire RADEON X1600 XT Secondary
Driver Type: Display adapters
Driver Version: 8.380.0.0000
Driver Date: 05/17/2007
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
ProviderName: ATI Technologies Inc.
Num files: 38
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:53:59

Driver: Sapphire RADEON X1600 PRO Secondary
Driver Type: Display adapters
Driver Version: 8.380.0.0000
Driver Date: 05/17/2007
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
ProviderName: ATI Technologies Inc.
Num files: 38
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:54:00

Driver: Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Driver Type: Network adapters
Driver Version: 8.56.1.3
Driver Date: 05/23/2006
Manufacturer: Marvell
ProviderName: Marvell
Num files: 3
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:54:00

Driver: AMD Low Level Device Driver
Driver Type: System devices
Driver Version: 1.0.0.0
Driver Date: 11/01/2006
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices
ProviderName: Advanced Micro Devices
Num files: 2
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:54:00

Driver: Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Driver Type: Printers
Driver Version: 0.3.6000.0
Driver Date: 22/03/2007
Manufacturer: UNKNOWN
ProviderName: UNKNOWN
Num files: 13
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:54:00

Driver: Lexmark Z25-Z35 Color Jetprinter
Driver Type: Printers
Driver Version: 0.3.6000.16438
Driver Date: 7-9-2001
Manufacturer: Lexmark Inkjet Drivers
ProviderName: Lexmark Inkjet Drivers
Num files: 25
Backed Up: False
XMLIgnition: 21/06/2007 12:54:00

******
I'm still sure it is more likely to be the drive mountpoints than any other issue, though.

Leak
21st Jun 2007, 17:57
I'm still sure it is more likely to be the drive mountpoints than any other issue, though.
I doubt that. That error message comes up when a program hooks into a windows kernel function that SecuROM doesn't like - Process Explorer from Sysinternals/Microsoft is one such example.

Anyway, try disabling all that so-called "essential" crap you're running in the background - nobody needs a virus scanner, spyware scanner, firewall or cookie guard (WTF?) to play a single player game...

Get Autoruns (http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/Processesandthreadsutilities.mspx) and start disabling stuff until the game works after rebooting.

np: Collabs 3000 - Hilt (Metalism)

Raziel_Requiem
22nd Jun 2007, 14:51
Im not going to disable my firewall, sorry, but hwhilst it's not essential for a game, it most definitely is needed for security.

Also, I am not about to download any unwanted software such as "Autoruns" when programs & services can be prevented from running at boottime from within windows.

Anyway, whether progress or not, I now get the following error:

"SecuROM™ has determined a disc different than the original or play-disc was detected. This could be caused by a backup copy, or in the case of a multiple disc set, the wrong disc was inserted before starting the program. Please follow these steps to help resolve the issue:

Please ensure the correct disc is inserted.
If the problem persists, or you need additional assistance, please send a SecuROM™ analysis file to support@securom.com (see Support Info section on how to prepare and send an analysis file). "

If it's relevant, mmc reported a code 11:

The driver detected a controller error on \Device\CdRom0.

0000: 00680103 00b80001 00000000 c004000b
0010: 00000101 00000000 00000000 00000000
0020: 00000000 00000000 00012634 00000000
0030: ffffffff 00000002 c4000040 00000002
0040: 120a20ff 0000024c 00000000 0000000a
0050: 88fa7000 89855e58 00000000 8984ca58
0060: 00000000 00000000 00000028 00000000
0070: 00000001 00000000 00040070 0a000000
0080: 00000000 0000023e 00000000 00000000


Hardware issue, perhaps? Dying drive?

aklendathu
22nd Jun 2007, 16:09
Autoruns is a Microsoft program and gives you a much more detailed view of the stuff that's loaded at startup time than the system configuration utility.

While I don't believe the firewall is causing you problems, you can certainly turn it off safely if you disconnect yourself from the internet first.

The driver error message is puzzling. Did you check the system event log to see whether there are any error messages there (at boot time or when you try to start the game) ?

Also, are you by any chance using DOS drivers to access your CD/DVD drive ? I believe it's mentioned somewhere in a technical FAQ that it could cause problems with the game.

In your drivers list in an earlier post there are what seems to be double entries for ATI SMBus and Sapphire RADEON. Is that OK for your system ? (I'm an NVIDIA person myself).

Raziel_Requiem
24th Jun 2007, 09:18
While I don't believe the firewall is causing you problems, you can certainly turn it off safely if you disconnect yourself from the internet first.

- sure, did that.

The driver error message is puzzling. Did you check the system event log to see whether there are any error messages there (at boot time or when you try to start the game) ?

-Only these two
-The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service entered the running state.
-The IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service service was successfully sent a start control.

Also, are you by any chance using DOS drivers to access your CD/DVD drive ?
-Not unless the default v5.1.2600 Windows XP SP2 device driver is a DOS driver.

In your drivers list in an earlier post there are what seems to be double entries for ATI SMBus and Sapphire RADEON. Is that OK for your system ? (I'm an NVIDIA person myself).

-Yes, Motherboard driver and GPU driver all kosher and pertinent to my hardware.