PDA

View Full Version : Disabling Hyperthreading



TheJoker
4th Oct 2006, 12:34
I need to disable hyperthreading to get thief 1 and 2 to work :)

I know how to do it, it's just that I've been havin some problems with my computer lately and now finally have sorted it out.

Just wondering, If I disable it could it in any other way affect the computer in a bad way in gaming or other stuff? :scratch:

thanks,

TheJoker

theBlackman
4th Oct 2006, 19:27
The general answer is NO. You might want to set it on Enable when you guit THIEF to play or do another application.

It should not "Affect" your other use in any way that you would notice. It might slow some applications down, but usually not in a time sense a human could recognize unless involved in a lot of major math or graphics applications.

Peter_Smith
5th Oct 2006, 03:22
Another way is to set affinity to one processor after starting Thief but before playing the game.

TheJoker
5th Oct 2006, 20:56
Another way is to set affinity to one processor after starting Thief but before playing the game.

That's what I've been doing before,
but it's quite easier to just turn the whole thing off then

thanks :)

R_Soul
5th Oct 2006, 22:33
Another way is to set affinity to one processor after starting Thief but before playing the game.This is a much better method:
http://www16.brinkster.com/salvage/thief/darkengine.htm