PDA

View Full Version : T2 Problems

Bella Lagussi
23rd Sep 2006, 16:42
I'm having the same problem that Philc had with his game (see below "T2 bugs again") On the first mission the game finishes loading and then hangs at a black screen and stops responding. I already know how to change the affinity since I just beat The Dark Project, and it's doesn't seem to be a problem with T2 because for some reason it shuts off the second processor on its own so I don't have to go do it.

I'm trying to follow the same steps he did, but when I try to uncomment the safe_texture line, my PC says I have to get permission from the admin to save the file, even though I am an admin. After I got frustrated with that I decided to try uninstalling and reinstalling with the D:\setup -Igntforce, but I have no clue what that is. I found the D:\setup file but I'm clueless as to where to go from there.

I'm running:
Windows XP Media Center Edition v.2002
Pentium 4, 3.20 GHz
1 Gb RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 6800

Please HELP! I'm a Thief fanatic and I reallllllly wanna play these again!

theBlackman
23rd Sep 2006, 18:55
Start>run>D:\setup -Igntforce That is lowercase L not I.

Where D is what ever your CD drive letter is.

When you have the RUN screen up Browse to the CD that contains the SETUP EXE.

Click on the SETUP EXE and add the lgntforce line. It should look like this:

(your CD)":\setup.exe -lgntforce". Don't include the quotes. Be sure to include the SPACE.
Hit OK and install the game.

Then if needed set the compatibility, and disable one of the cores if you have a dual core processor.

Peter_Smith
23rd Sep 2006, 21:09
I am pretty sure Thief 2 does not shut off the second processor. It is a good game, but it is certainly not that smart. Try setting the affinity to one processor anyway and check whether that works.

TheBlackman is right about the install and the lgntforce flag. If not done right the first time, the install might cause problems, but I wouldn't bet on it.

Bella Lagussi