PDA

View Full Version : Hangs on mission Load

Illysidyl
9th Sep 2006, 11:52
I just started playing and I'm having trouble. Basically, the game hangs when I try to load a game. When I load from the start-up screen, I get a progress meter and it works OK (most of the time). When I try to load from inside a game (or sometimes from the start up screen), i don't get the progress meter (just a black screen), I see my hard drive lights blink, but then nothing. From that point I can't alt-tab, or cntrl-alt-del and have to reboot. What's worse, is the same thing happens when I try to transition to the next game area. For example, the same thing happens in the first level, when I walk into the swirling blue smoke to get to the inner courtyard. Known issue? Work around?

Thanks ...

theBlackman
10th Sep 2006, 20:33
Read the FAQ at the top of this forum. WHAT GAME ARE YOU PLAYING?

List your system specs. CPU, Video card, etc.

Without this your question has no meaning.

Illysidyl
11th Sep 2006, 01:37
Thief Deadly Shadows

Its a fairly new Falcon Northwest with AMD 64 FX-60 Dual, 2 GB RAM, 2 NVIDA GeForce 7900GTX in SLI (Driver 9.1.4.7), and Creative X-FI Extreme music.

Note that I have turned off one of the CPU's using /numproc=1

theBlackman
11th Sep 2006, 18:48
There has been some success for CPU with the use of the "AFFINITY" settings to select a single core.

There has also been problems with the X-FI with the game.

You might try setting the COMPATIBILITY to Win2000. This has also worked for Blackout problems.

Illysidyl
12th Sep 2006, 01:59
Thanks blackman, I'll give the compatability thing a try. Should have tried that right away.

When you say blackout problems, do you mean an event where you actually get a black screen that you can't alt-tab, or ctrl-alt-del from?