PDA

View Full Version : Crash on Load?



NickyThomas
2nd Aug 2006, 20:35
The Demo runs perfect.

I got the full game, installed it and when I run it, starts loading gets halfway and crashes to desktop.

Anyone help please?

theBlackman
2nd Aug 2006, 21:28
What Demo?
What Game?
What are your system specs?
Read the FAQ at the top of the page.

NickyThomas
2nd Aug 2006, 21:32
Thief Deadly Shadows, dont worry about my specs their ok.

theBlackman
2nd Aug 2006, 22:30
OK as in you don't have a Dual Core Processor. Or other items that are known to cause the problem you ask about.

Let us decide if your specs are right. The "Official Specs" are not accurate.

Just so your know, the following can cause your problem:
Your CPU
Your model of Vcard AND the particular version of drivers you are using.
The background running of other applications that come on startup.
The type of Keyboard, and other devices, and USB connected devices.

There are more, but if you are so sure, as you seem to be, why do you need us to help you solve your problem with your perfect machine? :p

NickyThomas
3rd Aug 2006, 12:13
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/3/2006, 13:12:13
Machine name: CLASSIFIED
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.060220-1746)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Compaq Presario 061
System Model: EK335AA-ABU SR1619UK GB540
BIOS: Phoenix - Award BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
Memory:512MB RAM
Page File: 447MB used, 605MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

theBlackman
4th Aug 2006, 00:24
From that I assume you have a on-board video card. If you know what is it and what drivers is it using post the model, on Vcard ram, and the drivers.

TDS is extremely hard on video cards. The fact that you ran the demo does not mean you can run the full game pack.

Most cards struggle with it if the card has 128 meg or less of on card ram to work with.

A Google tells me that the Presario 061 is a laptop. If so, then you probably will not be able to run the game.

There was a thread about some posters who managed to get the game to run on a laptop. I'll see if I can find it and post the link, or you could do a search in the THIEF SERIES for LAPTOP.

Try this: a full list of queries and comments on laptops.

http://forums.eidosgames.com/search.php?searchid=38653

Peter_Smith
4th Aug 2006, 02:35
A dxdiag listing is not a very informative list of system specs. A more English language listing of all your components including type of computer, video card, audio card, and drivers is helpful. Owing to incomplete information, I think tBm may have gotten the laptop thing wrong. Here is what I found after a lot of looking:

http://h10061.www1.hp.com/ccsearch/search?pname=EK335AA-ABU&qry=crash&submit.x=7&submit.y=7&method=prodFinder&ctry=us&lang=en&dlc=en&sni=&search=0

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=1147955&lang=en&docname=c00519847

Anyway, unless you tell us otherwise, it appears that you have integrated graphics. Integrated graphics are death to Thief. Some work, many don't. Your best bet to use any computer for gaming is to have a real graphics card with good memory and speed, as tBm says. GeForce 6600GT (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814125156) and better are safe bets nowadays. This applies to all games, but most particularly to Thief, which is very fussy. You might find a workaround using the search function, but I'll leave that to you.

theBlackman
4th Aug 2006, 07:57
You are probably right Peter. I searched only for the Compaq Presario 061 and came up with links to Laptops only.