PDA

View Full Version : Need rule clarification...

Polixenes
22nd Jun 2006, 16:13
Hi, I just started playing IG this week and played through my first campaign (the limited turns variation, not complete victory).

One thing confused me enough that I spent a couple of hours browsing every thread in this forum but couldn't find an answer.

Here's the situation. I played as France and during the game I lost provinces by agreeing to a Peace request whilst enemy troops were in them. They were automatically annexed when I said yes to Peace.

However I can't seem to win territory the same way the computer-player does. When the tables are turned and I have occupied enemy territory, and then agreed to Peace overtures, the enemy provinces I have troops in do not become mine. E.g. I had troops in a Spanish province and agreed peace, but the province remained a Spanish possession. I took back Champagne from Prussia and declared Peace, but it remained Prussian, and I dislodged Great Britain from my northwest port (Brest? Brittany?) and declared Peace but it remained British. The only territories I managed to take over fully were ones where I took the enemy capital and subjugated them.

Basically, how do I kick Britain and Prussia off French soverign soil?

Am I doing something wrong, or do the computer-played countries live by more favourable rules than players do?

galatee
24th Jun 2006, 18:37
If you want to "kick Britain and Prussia off French soverign soil" you have to attack them at these locations... But you must stay in these provinces for several turns after a successful attack to see them become again french provinces. Don't sign for a peace treaty before your annexation of wanted provinces is complete !
And for the enemy annexation of your provinces with a peace treaty it's probably because they were in there the number of turns needed for the annexation to succeed.