PDA

View Full Version : Error Hotspot Virtual Machine



bene
24th Apr 2006, 00:23
I got the Error message while playing Legend. Easily got back to playing the game but when I went back to the PC the screen is messed up - elongated.

Message reads: An unexpected error has been detected by HotSpot Virtual Machine:
#
# EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x00000000, pid=4924, tid=6240
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (1.5.0-b64 mixed mode)
# Problematic frame:
# C 0x00000000
#

--------------- T H R E A D ---------------

Current thread (0x0db66df8): JavaThread "Thread-5" [_thread_in_native, id=6240]

siginfo: ExceptionCode=0xc0000005, reading address 0x00000000

Registers:
EAX=0x0ca9bf90, EBX=0x00000000, ECX=0x0c746ec0, EDX=0x00007d00
ESP=0x0e8cf724, EBP=0x0e8cf760, ESI=0x029d28d0, EDI=0x00000000
EIP=0x00000000, EFLAGS=0x00010202

Top of Stack: (sp=0x0e8cf724)
0x0e8cf724: 6d4a22f9 0ca9bf90 0ca50050 00007d00
0x0e8cf734: 00000000 00000000 0db66df8 029d28d0
0x0e8cf744: 1667caa8 00000000 00000002 0ca50050
0x0e8cf754: 00000000 00007d00 00000000 0e8cf778
0x0e8cf764: 6d4a2a9f 029d28d0 00000000 1667caa8
0x0e8cf774: 00000001 0e8cf7bc 6d4a1bd3 029d28d0
0x0e8cf784: 00000001 08cc826f 0db66eb4 0e8cf7c4
0x0e8cf794: 00039b30 00000000 00000001 0e8cf7a0

Instructions: (pc=0x00000000)
0xfffffff0:

.......and a whole bunch more....

Someone, HELP!

Leak
24th Apr 2006, 06:53
I got the Error message while playing Legend. Easily got back to playing the game but when I went back to the PC the screen is messed up - elongated.
Are you sure that the Java VM (which definitely ISN'T a part of Legend) is the real problem?

Or does this happen everytime you Alt-TAB from the game to the desktop and back?

I'm pretty sure that you've got Java installed for some other program (like your web browser) and that crashed and took the focus away from the game, sending you back to the desktop - and the game or your video driver didn't like it...

bene
24th Apr 2006, 15:19
Thanks for the reply.
Not sure what happened. I don't use Alt tab to get out of the game but I could have hit the Alt key when I was mashing keys.:eek:

After talking to a tech, I downloaded ATI Radon graphics drivers and a driver update. The original drivers won't install. I get the Error message:
INF Error Video Driver Not Found.

Do I have to uninstall all drivers before I try this again?
I had to do that when I installed new sound drivers on my old PC.

Also downloaded and sucessfully installed Java Runtime.

bene
24th Apr 2006, 19:51
Went into Properties and changed the settings to 1280/1024.

That combined with the driver update and reinstall of Java Runtime seems to work.
The INF Error seems not to matter.