PDA

View Full Version : Xbox360 VGA - letterbox problem

jerimiahf
23rd Apr 2006, 04:55
Upon purchasing TRL today for my 360, I started playing and saw something VERY annoying with the game's cutscenes.

When the game goes to cutscenes, the top letterbox black bar has a horizontal 1 pixel high line about 1" or so above the action window. And what's really odd is that it would seem that the remaining black box below it was put there to HIDE some of the view of the game. I know because the line is transparent and you can see a continuity of what's in the action window up there where the line is - and it's proportionately there meaning that I'm missing 1" or so of the cutscenes. The line also continues down the left side of that 1" high black box into the action window so you can see CLEARLY that the black box is hiding stuff here.

I'll try and get a screen shot of it with my dig cam - but this game has issues. Also had the first fight scene where you're on the rock platform after running across the rope bridge with the heli - the enemies were shooting at me and white lines were coming from the character's guns. Only happened during that one cutscene but came from every character as they shot at me.

Oh that and you can see the damn screen looks compressed when it shouldn't be... so Lara looks weird. And I run my Xbox 360 on a 19" LCD (non widescreen) monitor in 1280x1024 mode running in Standard (not widescreen) setting so I know it's THIS game as all my others run fine. And I use the offical Xbox cable too.

qazszWREK
23rd Apr 2006, 06:11
if you choose to run the game in widescreen on a 1280*1024 monitor like yours, will it add letterboxes to get 16:9 or will it stretch out?

Leak
23rd Apr 2006, 08:55
you can see CLEARLY that the black box is hiding stuff here.
That's deliberate - it's meant to show you that this is a movie part, not one where you're supposed to do anything. (You know, like in "letterbox = movie"...)