PDA

View Full Version : I really need help.



laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 00:06
Okay well I bought Legend today, and well since 6pm I have been trying to install it. Everytime it gets to a certain point in the installation bar, my whole computer shuts down. Can someone give me advice?
I have had computer problems, so before I put the disk in, I did a reboot on my PC, so my PC is in the condition when I first got it.
Anyone know what I can do? I don't want to be taking it back.

laraflames
9th Apr 2006, 00:09
Okay well I bought Legend today, and well since 6pm I have been trying to install it. Everytime it gets to a certain point in the installation bar, my whole computer shuts down. Can someone give me advice?
I have had computer problems, so before I put the disk in, I did a reboot on my PC, so my PC is in the condition when I first got it.
Anyone know what I can do? I don't want to be taking it back.
r u playing on a lab top?

laraflames
9th Apr 2006, 00:11
ok nvm hmm..either u have to much memory in it...or u need to run it through a cd cleaner....if u do it lemme know how it goes..and i will help u through out so let me be ur guied hehe

laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 00:17
how do i know if i have too much memory?
im sorry but im a dunce, a complete novice with the technical sides of computers,lol.

Legendary Lara Croft
9th Apr 2006, 00:20
please post your computer specs

laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 00:23
what do you mean?

Legendary Lara Croft
9th Apr 2006, 00:26
what kind of computer you have?

try running these tests too
http://gameadvisor.futuremark.com/gameadvisor/service/
http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/eidos?registration_option_id=2524

and don't forget to upgrade your drivers, specially for video and audio cards.

R1c4n
9th Apr 2006, 00:26
Post the amount of ram you have, your type of CPU, video card and operating system.

laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 00:36
Time of this report: 4/9/2006, 02:32:39
Machine name: CATHERINE
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Packard Bell NEC
System Model: 00000000000000000000000
BIOS: Award Medallion BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.93GHz
Memory: 256MB RAM
Page File: 260MB used, 355MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Legendary Lara Croft
9th Apr 2006, 00:39
please also post which video card you have and make you upgraded driver lately

also read this




The Installer keeps stopping when a certain percentage is complete.

There are three likely causes:

- You may have run out of free space on your hard drive. Please remove unwanted programs to free up additional space for the game, and then reinstall Tomb Raider: Legend Demo.
- Files are possibly being copied to a corrupted area of your hard drive. If this is so, you'll need to run the scandisk program and make sure to use the Thorough option (see previous). After scandisk has finished running and has informed you that your drive is free of errors, try to re-install.
- There may be dirt or fingerprints on the DVD-ROM disc itself. Examine the bottom of the disc; if you see any fingerprints or dirt, carefully clean the disc using a clean, soft, lint-free cloth by wiping from the centre of the disc (near the hole) towards the outer edge in a straight line.

movieman
9th Apr 2006, 00:58
The odd thing is not that the installer fails, but that the computer crashes. Normally only a driver or operating system bug would cause that to happen, not running out of disk space or a faulty DVD.

Might be worth looking in the event viewer -- control panel/administrative tools/event viewer/system and application -- to see if any errors are listed in there when you run the program.

laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 01:08
The odd thing is not that the installer fails, but that the computer crashes. Normally only a driver or operating system bug would cause that to happen, not running out of disk space or a faulty DVD.

Might be worth looking in the event viewer -- control panel/administrative tools/event viewer/system and application -- to see if any errors are listed in there when you run the program.
it has been shutting down by itself lately, when im in the middle of things it just shuts down completely, its getting on my last nerve.
I have no idea what I can do to fix this, as I have no idea what to do, and what is causing the problems or anything. It probably has nothing to do with the game, but it is causing problems with me trying to install it.
It would be great if someone could help me.
PS) I don't know how to view my video card?

laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 01:52
post

lllll
9th Apr 2006, 02:06
It could be anything from a wrongly installed component that interferes with windows to a virus....best would be to let it get checked by a nerd :o

I can mention a few things which will clean up your PC, making it run smoother:
-Download and install the freeware ccleaner here:

http://www.ccleaner.com/ccdownload.asp

Clean files, and then go to problems and click to scan and then if it finds anything (it will find a lot), click repair.

-Try defragmenting the disk, see what happens. Here it is explained, really simple in method 1:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;314848

:thumbsup:

Legendary Lara Croft
9th Apr 2006, 02:50
I think it shuts down because there is not enough power. How many watt is your power supply? If you recently upgraded computer check if all the hardware installed firmly in the motherboard, all the wires are connected all the way etc. Check the temprature of your video card, maybe it gets overheated, maybe some fan broke or smth like that. There may be various reasons due to software and hardware issues. You didn't mention before that it happens not only in tomb raider installer. This means that the problem is definetely your pc and not the game.

check your system too, "my computer"- right click "properties", "hardware", "device manager", see if there are any conflicts. maybe something wrong with cdrom/dvdrom

run this test here and post screenshot if you can
http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/bonus/a/register/t/analysis.tmpl

like this

http://img439.imageshack.us/img439/4903/specs2sn.th.jpg (http://img439.imageshack.us/my.php?image=specs2sn.jpg)

to do that run test, than scroll down some, press prt scr, open photoshop or paint, paste image, save and upload here http://imageshack.us/

laracroft1111
9th Apr 2006, 03:56
http://img118.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled0vq.jpg


this is what i got, my results.