PDA

View Full Version : HELP! TR Legend works on Geforce MX440???



Ironman993
31st Mar 2006, 03:32
Hi, i have a pentium 4 1,8 ghz, 512 mb ram, windows xp, directx 9.0c, 40g hard drive and nvidia geforce mx440.

I wanted to know since geforce mx440 lacks pixel/vertex shader... will this new game work on my video card?

In simple...Does TR Legend support Geforce MX440!!!???

Thanks

Dojomann
31st Mar 2006, 03:56
I doubt you'd be able to run Tomb Raider: Legend. I believe the min specifications is for the card to be PS/VS 1.1 capable. Either way the mx440 would run it very slow if at all, sorry.

You might want to upgrade your video card, or if you have a console such as an xbox or ps2 you'd probably be better off buying one of those versions.

jacky4566
31st Mar 2006, 03:57
i reget to inform you that it might not work i am 90% sure the game requires pixel shader 1.1 or later and i know hands on that the mx cards do not have this (tried to play splinter cell chaos theory. cost me 60 for a new card(radeon 9200)) what does the eidos game tester thingy say?

jaywalker2309
31st Mar 2006, 10:06
The MX will run the game, but your CPU will be doing more work to make up for the lack of Pixel Shader

Try the demo out first :)

Shehi
31st Mar 2006, 20:21
I have MX... And as a rule, M series do not support MANY games, especially those with Shader effects. Jay knows better: they even do not run Thief 3 :) It does not even start. So I strongly suggest you go and get better card.

Ironman993
31st Mar 2006, 23:36
I tried running Prince of Persia: Sands of time...It did not work as well...

Shehi
31st Mar 2006, 23:49
No, Sands of Time works just fine. I finished that game on MX 440. But POP2:WW would run a bit slower.

Ironman993
1st Apr 2006, 06:57
I downloaded the demo from fileplanet and guess what? It works good...Graphics are great on mx 440, was not expecting ps2 or xbox type but grats to mx 440! =D It actually made the game run smoothly and the game does look amazing. Graphics are not bad either. Just the game is a bit slow, anyone know how to fix that? I think its framerate...but grats to mx 440! lol i never thought it would run this smooth and good - the graphics are great on mx 440!

Regards,

sorcerer
1st Apr 2006, 07:20
Try disable the visual effects on Windows XP.

Right click on my computer -> Properties -> Advanced ->Performance Settings ->Adjust for best performance-> Apply.

Any better?


I`ll play the demo tonight :thumbsup:

Ironman993
1st Apr 2006, 08:57
Nope, not better... Its still slow..i mean gameplay speed is slow.

Shehi
1st Apr 2006, 09:27
I downloaded the demo from fileplanet and guess what? It works good...Graphics are great on mx 440, was not expecting ps2 or xbox type but grats to mx 440! =D It actually made the game run smoothly and the game does look amazing. Graphics are not bad either. Just the game is a bit slow, anyone know how to fix that? I think its framerate...but grats to mx 440! lol i never thought it would run this smooth and good - the graphics are great on mx 440!

Regards,

Exactly same happens on POP2. I doubt you can get around, coz that card sucks when it comes to Shaders.