PDA

View Full Version : Hitler compared to William The Just

goblin981
4th Mar 2006, 11:04
I'm no history scholar so I'm not 100% sure if this is true or not but it makes sense. A few years ago (waaaay back in school) I was told that there was a time when Hitler was incredibly popular and if he had have died a few years before the war he would have been remembered as one of the greatest men in history.

Sounds a bit like William doesn't it?

Just a thought

Omega
4th Mar 2006, 12:05
The thing with Hitler though, is that he did have loads of great ideas (uniting the world in peace etc) - but he went extremely overboard in how he went about them.

I don't think poor William had visions of peace!

goblin981
4th Mar 2006, 13:16
That may be true (like I said I'm no expert on the subject), though William may have been the same. He did die a 'Martyred Saint'.

Either way, thought it was worth mentioning.

Umah Bloodomen
4th Mar 2006, 13:33
The contributions to this thread had better remain constructive.

You all are highly advised to tread cautiously when discussing real-world matters and individuals (especially ones along the lines of Adolf Hilter as his "mark" on history is not one of the more socially acceptable and tends to offend many people). ANY non-constructive remark, will subject you to the enforcement of our TOU (http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=53690); no questions asked.

It has typically been our policy to close threads of this nature, however the changes in the administration have given way for more leniency and we trust that it won't be taken advantage of. With that said, the topic of this thread has been altered so as not to come across as pro-Hitler and to deal with the comparison/contrast issue established by the author and is being monitored.

Any questions, comments, or concerns regarding my post can be brought to my attention via private channels (PM's and/or email).

Thanks.

Anoobish
4th Mar 2006, 13:57