PDA

View Full Version : help for a beginner

yanpa
13th Feb 2006, 14:10
Hi i have just start playing imperial glory and i have a simple question it is aobut diplomacy I am playing with france and just a few turns after the beginning england takes hannover and portugal with diplomacy (they loved 100%) i would like to know if there is anything similar i can do, and also if someone wants to tell me about anything about diplomacy i will read it because i want to learn about it, thanks everybody

bye :cool:

Hengist_Sharpe
13th Feb 2006, 15:26
Build a Consulate and then Newspaper offices in the country that you wish to peacefully assimilate.

MikeJW
13th Feb 2006, 23:37
I'm a newbie too. It can take a while to peacefuly annex countries but you need to do trade deals, enter alliances, basicly just be friendly to them. When their sympathy is 95 build a consulate in their capital as this will give you the needed extra 5 points and shortly they will join your country. In my current campaign I'm France and the Brits went colonial everywhere. I noticed most of their units were militia in the colonies which become useless once you unlock the square formation so I went to war with GB starting in Portugaul. When I wiped out their forces I was given the option to withdraw or stay and seize control. I withdrew which gives you a good boost in sympathy their and worldwide. I stayed friendly to them and went on liberating GBs other colonies and the sympathy boosts for freeing them rather than seizing them allowed me to peacefuly annex Portugaul, Morroco, Lombardy, the Papal States, the Two Italys,Helvetian republic,Piedmont and all of N. Africa. You can not peacfuly annex on of the main empires like Austria or Russia.