PDA

View Full Version : All of a sudden can't lockpick!

hagatha
11th Feb 2006, 08:05
This is my third time through the game, and all of a sudden in the Lower Libraries I can't pick locks any more. Chests just register as "nothing". The game ran completely bug-free the first two times. I just loaded the patch, but it didn't help at all.

I'm playing on XP, and my system can more than handle the game - I have a new graphics card, loads of memory, and am able to play every game I've bought recently with no trouble. Is this a known issue? I'm not good with "tweaking" my computer - I don't understand half of what's suggested on the tweaks guids, and am reluctant to try any of this without knowing what I'm doing. Any help would be appreciated.

I just realized that I can't do much of anything. I can't finish the lower libraries because I cannot climb up the ladder. It doesn't register.

theBlackman
11th Feb 2006, 08:22
If you have been using QS you may have a corrupted save.

Go back through your saved games *they are there from day one*, use the UP/DOWN arrows to scroll the saves.

Go to the Options menu, LOAD SAVED GAME, then use your arrow keys to back up to a save just before you went down to the lower library.

If you can't do that (you don't have a save or can't find one) then REPLAY MISSION or go to the last save you have and replay from there.

Don't use only QS. It sometimes burps and corrupts the save file. So, now and then do a regular save. This will be listed with time and date so you should be able to find a good place to restart a mission without a full "Start from square one".

hagatha
11th Feb 2006, 20:48
Thanks. I will try that.

I had noticed that the game was starting to stutter a bit in the few hours of gameplay - a case where an older video card worked better than a new one, I guess.

hagatha
12th Feb 2006, 06:19