PDA

View Full Version : Post your modding questions here [Answers inside!]



Mike_B
21st Jul 2005, 17:32
Ok guys/girls,

I've got in contact with the producer of Imperial Glory.

He has promised me to speak with the lead programmer of the game and ask him to help with the modding :)

So I just won't to be sure I'm asking the correct stuff, the stuff that isn't possible with the tools that are already released.

I believe the most important thing was how to decrypt the .dt file format that holds the unit stats. If there are any other things you want to know, post them here and they will do their best to help.

This thread is only for those questions.

Nahirean
21st Jul 2005, 21:05
The .dt file is the holy grail. Consider what we can do with it:

We can remove/modify and tweak all of the battle settings which would make this game truly fantastic. Imagine a real battle with lines that don't die instantly, a fight that takes a long time like the battles in Take Command 1861, or N:TW with Imperial Glory's battle engine. The results would be incredible.

I would like to know how to also modify Naval Conflicts. Everything from Range of Fire, to damage inflicted, ship speed, manuverability and hitpoints.

I would also like to know how to modify unit costs, building costs, and unit production times.

Thank you.

Mister Nock
21st Jul 2005, 22:25
I agree with everything Nahirean says.

One other thing, Officerpuppy found those skin files for officers, but there are no models, (that we could find anyway.)

Basically, we want *.V3D files that go with the officers' skins. If they're in the game files then we can't find them and I'd like to know where to look. If they're not there, then I'd like to be able to get hold of them. If they never made any in the first place then, well, I'll have to find another way round it. :(

I think that's it.

And Cheers for this @m. You are gre@ m@e. :D

Phillippe
21st Jul 2005, 22:45
What possibilities are there in editing the existing countries of choice, so that rather than replace Major Power, we can add some?

Altering the Campaign Map, and with it the Territories?

Whether it is possible to add user-made maps to play on?

What possible limits will you place on us Modding your game?

Queeg
21st Jul 2005, 23:21
Is it possible to create separate scenarios? I'd like to be able to mod the starting stats and positions of the nations and the starting date to create separate scenarios. For example, an 1805 scenario with an uber-powered France, led by Napolean already set as a Marshal, and with most of the military improvements already available would be great fun. The game is great fun as is, but I can think of several scenarios that I'd like to do.

Cpt.HooK
22nd Jul 2005, 06:04
I would also like to know how to modify unit costs, building costs, and unit production times.

Its pretty simple to change the cost of unit,buildings and research that is covered in the sticky :)


Is it possible to create separate scenarios? I'd like to be able to mod the starting stats and positions of the nations and the starting date to create separate scenarios. For example, an 1805 scenario with an uber-powered France, led by Napolean already set as a Marshal, and with most of the military improvements already available would be great fun. The game is great fun as is, but I can think of several scenarios that I'd like to do.
I've been thinking something very similar i want to modify the starting point of each nation so they start with some decent troops instead of militia i think this will be simple i have changed the starting navies in the .sb files so the file for land armies must be there somewhere.

Nahirean
22nd Jul 2005, 06:11
Its pretty simple to change the cost of unit,buildings and research that is covered in the sticky :).

Thanks for covering 50% of my sentence. Let me type it again:

unit production times

Cpt.HooK
22nd Jul 2005, 06:33
I don't know how to change that yet even when you make research free you must wait lots of turns at the end of each era.It seems this game would be very easy to mod if you know spanish

Mike_B
22nd Jul 2005, 14:51
Hiyas all,

Thanks for the input, I've forwarded it. I'll keep you informed of the progress.

Cheers,

Nahirean
24th Jul 2005, 16:17
Hiyas all,

Thanks for the input, I've forwarded it. I'll keep you informed of the progress.

Cheers,

Any updates?

Mike_B
24th Jul 2005, 17:42
Not yet, would've posted it. I sent it Friday so I assume the producer forwarded it the same day but the time of response will depend how busy the lead programmer is I guess and or they work in the weekend.

Mike_B
2nd Aug 2005, 13:54
Just got informed by the producer that'll you have to wait a little bit longer as the lead programmer has vacation.

jaywalker2309
2nd Aug 2005, 13:57
Just got informed by the producer that'll you have to wait a little bit longer as the lead programmer has vacation.

Yeh tis the annual `pyro gets away for a while` holiday :) Almost entire company takes this time off.. lucky them :)

Captain.Crunch
8th Aug 2005, 07:45
Just got informed by the producer that'll you have to wait a little bit longer as the lead programmer has vacation.

Please ask producer how that vacation is going. Nothing like a holiday ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh… :D

moetman
8th Aug 2005, 21:35
It's great having improved stats but it's useless if you can only play for 30 minutes !!! That has to be the 1st priotity : unlimited play - no time limit !

Emperor of the French
10th Aug 2005, 07:46
Ask how to modify attributes for the governments, so I could allow Dictatorships to arrange marriages or whatnot. Afterall, Napoleonic France fits the Dictatorship government the best--but even he maried Maria Louisa of Austria.

Mike_B
24th Aug 2005, 17:41
Answers are just freshly in, many thanks go to both the producer and the lead programmer of the game :thumbsup:

Word of warning though, not everything is answered as in order to mod certain settings of the game you'll need the full game editor and Pyro are a bit reluctant to release this as it may be used on up-coming titles.

But this should help you to mod:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

-How to decrypt/decipher the .dt file format, this file format seems to hold important settings that such as the strenght of units. They would like to know how they can edit this file.

We already sent some source code describing the way to read the file. They should be able to write a simple tool to edit it.

In fact there was someone who made a tool for edit this format and He published it in the EIDOS forum.

-How do modify the naval battles: settings such as the range of fire, the inflicted damage, the speed of the ship, manoeuvrability and hitpoints.

Take a look at the files:

Game/GameModes/NavalBattleMode/DefCombat.sb -> Combat Parameters

Game/GameModes/NavalBattleMode/DefCombatCrews.sb

Game/GameModes/NavalBattleMode/DefFisica_Fragata.sb -> Physical Paramaters of the ships

Game/GameModes/NavalBattleMode/DefFisica_Navio.sb

Game/GameModes/NavalBattleMode/DefFisica_Corbeta.sb


- How to modify the unit costs, building costs and unit production time

This is hard because these parameters are specified in the DefModeloGestion.mng file and this file's format is quite complex.

However, they can try modifying the DefsBalanceoJugadores.sb file. This file specifies a series of factors that directly affect the cost of buildings and units for a given player.

For example:

.JUG_FRANCIA
[
.MILITAR 1.0 # Factor for buildings from the Militar branch

.COMERCIAL 1.0 # Factor for buildings from the Commercial branch
.RECURSOS 1.0 # Factor for buildings from the Resources branch
.POLITICA 1.0 # Factor for buildings from the Political branch
.TROPAS 1.0 # Factor for land units
.BARCOS 1.0 # Factor for ships
]



These factors multiply the base unit or building cost (which is the same for all players and is specified in DefModeloGestion.mng) to get the final cost for the player, in this case France. A factor of less than 1.0 makes the unit or building cheaper for that player, while a factor of more than 1.0 makes it more expensive.

-One of the modders has found skin files of officers while browsing throug the game files. He would like to know or their are *.V3D files that go with them if they were created. That way they would be able to bring the officers on the field.

No there are not any officers, it is simply an older file


- A few questions regarding the possibility of the following:


- editing the existing countries that you can choose. They have already found out how to replace one of the major powers by e.g. Spain but would like to know if it would be possible to add them to the list of countries to choose from.

This is a tricky issue. The system does not support this in a clean manner, so the only way to get this feature is to hack the game data files.

They should ask the spanish users who did the play-with-Spain mod (http://www.imperialglory.tk).

- changing the Campaign map and the territories

This unfortunately cannot be done in a easy way.

- or it's possible to add user-made maps to play on


Again, there is currently no way to do this without the game editor


- or there are any limits regarding the modding of the game. e.g. are there things that they may not alter

Most of the game can be modified but to do this you need the game editor

- the creation of separate scenarios. e.g. modding the starting stats and positions of the nations and the starting date to create separate scenarios. An example of such a scenario would be : 1805, a very strong France led by Napoleon as a Marshal and with most of the military improvements already available.

This information is stored in the DefModeloGestion.mng file, so changing it is tricky because it is a complex format.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy modding

Mike_B
25th Aug 2005, 16:24
More info!

Just got a mail from the IG Producer which included this from the Lead Programmer.


I send to you a piece of source code that people can use to learn how the MNG format works. It is a piece of incomplete code, so they won't be able to compile it. However they will be able to extract enough information to create a application to edit the MNG format.

Also in the zip file there is a text file ("ExportacionModeloGestion.txt") explaining the MNG format, the only problem is this file is in spanish, so someone should translate it.

Get the source code here (http://www.tafn.info/phpscripts/filesdb/uploads/LoadMNGFormat.rar).

Icanus
25th Aug 2005, 16:51
Get the source code here (http://www.tafn.info/TAFN/commandos/scripts/pafiledb/pafiledb.php?action=file&id=70).
Great stuff.

From a first glance over it, it looks a fair bit more complicated than the units stat files, but with this info it should be possible to change at least some of the stuff in the mng file.

Many thanks to the folks at pyro and @m :D

moetman
25th Aug 2005, 20:51
Great stuff. Thanks @m and Pyro.

I was wondering if it is feasible to extend the size of the terrain ? Has anyone played with the scenario files ?

MAXB
26th Aug 2005, 07:50
If it were possible to just get rid of the militia for good I would be happy! :D

Deaden
30th Aug 2005, 22:50
Why is it in spainsh?! :mad:

Icanus
31st Aug 2005, 01:19
Why is it in spainsh?! :mad:
Cos Pyro are a spanish company, and I believe the majority of their programmers are spanish.

You can get a reasonable idea of what all the comments mean using Babelfish, or another online translator.

Deaden
2nd Sep 2005, 19:09
Could you please give me a link to get it and is it free? :eek:

Icanus
2nd Sep 2005, 21:09
Could you please give me a link to get it and is it free? :eek:
Babelfish (http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr) just paste in some text, choose "Spanish to English" from the dropdown menu and hit translate.

ytareh
2nd Sep 2005, 22:08
Fairly useful tool for giving clues but not perfect by any means, some translation clumsy others just silly eg "Yankilandia"=America!!!!!!!!

Mike_B
12th Sep 2005, 17:38
Got some spare time so I ran the .txt file (description of the MNG format) trough worldlingo (http://www.worldlingo.com) and uploaded the file. Hope it can be of help.

I don't know or there are people (besides Icanus) who can create an editor for this filetype if not let me know so I can ask our site programmer to have a look at it.

Ranvier
7th Oct 2005, 21:32
I cant seem to find the effects folder or the game/gamemodes folder in my imperial glory directory. can anyone help me out here?

ForlornHope
8th Oct 2005, 15:53
You have to unpack the right files, follow these guidelines by YORKIE originally by BENJI:

Originally Posted by Benj
1. Extract "data.pak" to wherever you want using Winrar.

2. You should have a folder called "data".

3. Open the "data" folder and cut and paste every folder in there to "C:\Program Files\Pyro Studios\Imperial Glory".

4. Delete the "data" folder.

5. Extract "text.pak" to wherever you want using Winrar.

6. You should have a folder called "text".

7. Open the text folder and cut and paste the "texto" folder to "C:\Program Files\Pyro Studios\Imperial Glory"

8. Delete the "Text" folder.

9. Rename the "data.pak" file to "data.pak.bak"

10. Rename the "Text.pak" file to "Text.pak.bak"

11. You should now have the following in your "C:\Program Files\Pyro Studios\Imperial Glory" folder:

Audio folder
Effects folder
Engine folder
Fonts folder
Game folder
Models folder
Teclas folder
texto folder
Textures folder
Video folder

Binkw32.dll
Config.sb
data.pak.bak
Game.sb
Imperial Glory Manual.pdf
ImperialGlory.exe
Ogg.dll
readme.rtf
Text.pak.bak
Vorbis.dll

To revert to the default installation, delete:

Effects folder
Engine folder
Fonts folder
Game folder
Models folder
Teclas folder
texto folder
Textures folder

And rename "data.pak.bak" to "data.pak" and "Text.pak.bak" to "Text.pak"
Thanks to Benji
This should take care of it, you must download a free winrar app(google search it)
Have fun

Lusitano
28th Oct 2005, 08:04
Great stuff.

From a first glance over it, it looks a fair bit more complicated than the units stat files, but with this info it should be possible to change at least some of the stuff in the mng file.

Many thanks to the folks at pyro and @m :D

Saludos,

I´ve tried to download that editor but the files has been already erased.
If you still have it please send it to me as well as any other useful tool to keep on modding.
Thanks.
Saludazos

Mike_B
28th Oct 2005, 09:01
Hiyas,

The files are still there but we're currently changing our database. It will be up again shortly.

For now use the direct download link

Icanus editor:

http://www.tafn.info/TAFN/scripts/uploads/DTFileIO.zip

MNG Source code:

http://www.tafn.info/phpscripts/filesdb/uploads/LoadMNGFormat.rar

Lusitano
4th Nov 2005, 10:56
Hallo,
Is there any possibility of redeploying armies or redistribute the provinces each Main Empire has at the beginning of the campaign? and is there any campaign editor suitable or in progress? I´m working in a mod to allow playing with the country of your will, :eek: as well as the Great Five Countries, but the only thing I need to succeed is to know about that. :(
Any help will be wellcome.
Thanks in advance. :thumbsup:

Lefebvre
28th Jan 2006, 05:11
Just a big thanks to everyone who's posted instructions and advice here, I'm having some success with the mods so far and you've helped me a lot by answering my questions before I asked 'em :)

cheers everybody
Lefebvre.

bodkinhead
3rd Feb 2006, 00:09
I've modded the game so hospitals and farms produce food
and population at 25-30% increased rate.

I want to add to my mod so that it allows you to
build in provinces that you have captured without you having to have a peace treaty with the previous owner.

So ownership is given to whoever controls the province militarily.
Does anyone have the slightest clue about what files to change
or is it hardcoded.

I'd also like to change it so attacking armies can have three
commanders move into another province to attack not two
as is.

WonderBoy
8th Feb 2006, 06:34
I dl'd the battlemod v1.1 and unzipped the data.pak, text.pak and data1.pak files in my IG folder.
Then unzipped the mod and put the folders into the IG directory and allowed it to overwrite the original folders there.

First of all my version of the game somehow reverted back to version 1.0 and secondly all the text was totally screwed up. The game stilled worked but none of the effects of the mod were visible and also the massively destroyed text was all over the screen.

I restored my backed up folders, and re installed the v.1.1 patch but it's still v.1.0.

Can anyone help?

Wagram
7th Mar 2006, 23:36
Word of warning though, not everything is answered as in order to mod certain settings of the game you'll need the full game editor and Pyro are a bit reluctant to release this as it may be used on up-coming titles.


- changing the Campaign map and the territories

This unfortunately cannot be done in a easy way.

- or it's possible to add user-made maps to play on


Again, there is currently no way to do this without the game editor


- or there are any limits regarding the modding of the game. e.g. are there things that they may not alter

Most of the game can be modified but to do this you need the game editor

-

Is there some point where they might actually release the game editor? I would love to see a mod with the territories more accurately rendered. Dividing countries into 3 or 4 big chunks just makes the game go too fast for me; plus I like more realism as well.

Also, would it be possible to mod the diplomatic part of the game? Like having a more detailed and complex of set of diplomatic functions that have greater effect; such as being able to marry into other nations immediately and have that creating an extremely strong tie to another nation, that if it were broken by declaring war extreme penalties would occur (such as internal dissent which could cause revolts.

I think it would also be cool to have to keep troops in a newly occupied territory due to the likelihood of rebellions; the whole idea behind all this being that going to war is a BIG thing and you'ld better be prepared for it, internally and externally.

I also like the idea of being able to consult and be consulted by allies PRIOR to going to war to discuss war aims. This would probably be complicated to do (I guess) but would make a more realistic and engaging game.

Do you think these things could be done with the game editor? Or is this just way too much to ask?:confused:

shahidali55
3rd Jul 2007, 12:06
Could someone please post me the english text.pak file ?
I got duped by a shop. The sold me a russian version saying it is english.

Zygmunt I
4th Jul 2007, 07:49
Could someone please post me the english text.pak file ?
I got duped by a shop. The sold me a russian version saying it is english.

I don't think that would be possible because it would be giving away part of the game. Just go to amazon.com and buy it.


To everyone: where is the unpacker here to download? Because I would like to try to mod this game a little.

officerpuppy
4th Jul 2007, 16:21
Could someone please post me the english text.pak file ?
I got duped by a shop. The sold me a russian version saying it is english.


I'm assuming this is in the IG/texto folder correct?

General Theo
23rd Dec 2007, 12:19
i justed wanted to ask how to modifie the game
i downloaded a mod, but how am i going to integrate it into the game?
pls answer for a noob ^^

flamehawk
9th Jun 2008, 19:42
well to be honest iv got the urge to ask is there anyway to acually be 1 of the minor factions etc. hannover, spain , parts of north africa and such? and

is there anyway to get a leader like some1 on a horse not like a genral or field marchel also any chance of making the prices lower for units..



thank you for reading just joined 9/6/08

officerpuppy
12th Jun 2008, 14:38
I'm sure there is a play as Spain mod somewhere, but it replaces France. The game won't allow you to play as a smaller nation without replacing one of the major ones.

Zygmunt I
13th Nov 2008, 12:19
I'm sure there is a play as Spain mod somewhere, but it replaces France. The game won't allow you to play as a smaller nation without replacing one of the major ones.

How can you put in a smaller nation?

And is there any way to allow the research that lets land divisions the ability to heal themselves be available much earlier? I think the second era is too late.

marceljoyce
27th Mar 2011, 12:50
Hi;

I've been modding some Imperial Glory's files in order to play with the smaller nations (of course, replacing each each default empire by a minor country), and I'm doing fine so far, but....
The one thing I don't seem to find is which file to modify -and what to put in it- in order to change the empire´s ident color!
For instance, I would like to apply Austria's yellow to Spain, or UK's red to Poland, or France's blue to Moldavia....or even create new custom colors. This would really improve my playing experience.
Does anyone know which one of the game's files contains these RGB values? Any help will be much appreciated;

Thanks a lot for your attention!

marceljoyce

CoffeeJunkie
9th Oct 2011, 18:01
Hi all,

I have been looking on this forum and other for a while and need a simple answer answered.

How do I get hold of the 3d models from Imperial Glory?

Each thread that appears hopefully ends up diverting to another subject or being unclear in the process.

All I need to know is what file to extract specially for 3d models only and how to get that extracted file into 3ds max if it is of some unsupported file extension?

Many thanks!!!