PDA

View Full Version : Bayonet charging... all the time?

Inferior Being
20th Jun 2005, 16:38
Well; I'm not an expert in Napoleonic warfare, I'll gladly admit that. Still; the overwhelming amount of bayonet-charging the enemy AI enjoys throwing at you never cease to puzzle and frighten me.

From what I've allways thought; sudden assaults with bayonets were somewhat of a rarity during the Napoleonic period and out. I'd assume that most of the time when bayonets were attatched there would either be some desperate situation, an ambush, the assault of a fortification by swarming the defences, in order to defend themselves upon a cavalry charge, or some unique occation like for example having a commander with a really cunning plan.

From what I've heard through (Mostly) believable sources; most sudden, meaningless assaults would often end in tragedy for the attackers as the defenders would either skirmish away from them or cut down so many of them in the advance they'd break and flee, or be so weakened and confused upon clashing with the enemy, (If they hadn't skirmished off already!), that they would be cut down or routed then.