PDA

View Full Version : Star Wars Lego - Nu2Api Runtime Error HELP!!!



ferret420
29th Apr 2005, 03:31
Nu2Api Runtime Error


Please Help!!!

I am so anxious to play my copy of this game for the PC, but I cant even get it to run. Every time I run the game I get the following error:

Nu2Api Runtime Error

Important Do Not Ignore

File: .\bgprocxbx.c
Line 195
Decription assert

I bought this a week ago, hoping that someone else had this problem and it would be addressed, but I can't find anything out or even an email for Eidos to contact them.

Please help! If anyone has any ideas or an email address for Eidos tech support, please let me know, Im desperate to play it.

My computer specs are above the recommended and I've tried everything. All my drivers are up to date. I know its a software issue, but I cant figure out how to fix it.

Specs:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 4/28/2005, 23:28:06
Machine name: OEMComputer
Operating System: Windows 98 (4.10, Build 2222) A
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell
System Model: n/a
BIOS: Phoenix
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1400MHz
Memory: 256MB RAM
Page File: 190MB used, 1602MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 4.09.0000.0904 32bit

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: RADEON 9200
Manufacturer: ATI Tech. - Enhanced
Chip type: RADEON 9200 AGP (0x5961) Rev 1
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5961&SUBSYS_20021002&REV_01\000800
Display Memory: 127.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit)(optimal refresh rate)
Monitor: DELL M991
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ATI2DRAG.DRV
Driver Version: 4.14.0001.9150 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 1/17/2005 22:33:08, 85232 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: *vdd,*vflatd
Mini VDD: ATI2VXAG.VXD
Mini VDD Date: , 0 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-1A21-11CF-4573-0300A0C2C935}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x5961
SubSys ID: 0x20021002
Revision ID: 0x0001
Revision ID: 0x0001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Santa Cruz(tm) (emulated)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: TURTLE_BEACH\SANTA_CRUZ_WDM_INTERFACE\0PCI&VEN_1013&DEV_6003&SUBSYS_33575053&REV_01&58F000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: Emulated
Driver Name:
Driver Version:
Driver Attributes:
WHQL Logo'd:
Date and Size:
Other Files: tbcwdm.sys
Driver Provider: Voyetra Turtle Beach
HW Accel Level: Emulation Only
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: Not run

Description: Game Compatible Device (emulated)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: MODEMWAVE\LUCENT_WIN_MODEM\PCI&VEN_11C1&DEV_0452&SUBSYS_1513144F&REV_00&48F000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 89
Type: Emulated
Driver Name:
Driver Version:
Driver Attributes:
WHQL Logo'd:
Date and Size:
Other Files: serwave.vxd
Driver Provider: Lucent
HW Accel Level: Emulation Only
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: Not run

Description: Voice Modem Wave #00 Line (emulated)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: MODEMWAVE\LUCENT_WIN_MODEM\PCI&VEN_11C1&DEV_0452&SUBSYS_1513144F&REV_00&48F000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 81
Type: Emulated
Driver Name:
Driver Version:
Driver Attributes:
WHQL Logo'd:
Date and Size:
Other Files: serwave.vxd
Driver Provider: Lucent
HW Accel Level: Emulation Only
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: Not run

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: Santa Cruz(tm)
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: tbcwdm.sys
Driver Version: 5.12.0001.4193 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 6/23/2003 12:15:14, 554304 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

Description: Game Compatible Device (emulated)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name:
Driver Version:
Driver Attributes:
Date and Size:
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

Description: Voice Modem Wave #00 Line (emulated)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name:
Driver Version:
Driver Attributes:
Date and Size:
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

-----------
DirectMusic
-----------
DLS Path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\gm.dls
DLS Version: 1.00.0016.0002
Acceleration: Enabled
Ports: Santa Cruz DLS Synth, Hardware (Kernel Mode), Output, DLS, External, Default Port
Santa Cruz(tm), Software (Kernel Mode), Output, DLS, Internal
MIDI Mapper, Hardware (Not Kernel Mode), Output, No DLS, Internal
Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth, Hardware (Not Kernel Mode), Output, No DLS, Internal
Santa Cruz External MIDI, Hardware (Not Kernel Mode), Output, No DLS, External
Santa Cruz DLS Synth, Hardware (Not Kernel Mode), Output, No DLS, Internal
Santa Cruz External MIDI, Hardware (Not Kernel Mode), Input, No DLS, External
Microsoft Synthesizer, Software (Not Kernel Mode), Output, DLS, Internal
Registry: OK
Test Result: Not run

-------------------
DirectInput Devices
-------------------
Device Name: Mouse
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Keyboard
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Microsoft SideWinder Plug & Play Game Pad
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x045E, 0x0027
FF Driver: n/a

Poll w/ Interrupt: Yes
Registry: OK

-----------
USB Devices
-----------

----------------
Gameport Devices
----------------

------------
PS/2 Devices
------------


-------------------
DirectPlay Adapters
-------------------
DirectPlay8 TCP/IP Service Provider: PPP Adapter. -
DirectPlay8 Modem Service Provider: Lucent Win Modem
DirectPlay8 Serial Service Provider: COM1
DirectPlay8 Serial Service Provider: COM2

-----------------------
DirectPlay Voice Codecs
-----------------------
Voxware VR12 1.4kbit/s
Voxware SC06 6.4kbit/s
Voxware SC03 3.2kbit/s
MS-PCM 64 kbit/s
MS-ADPCM 32.8 kbit/s
Microsoft GSM 6.10 13 kbit/s
TrueSpeech(TM) 8.6 kbit/s

------------------------
Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
------------------------
Drive: C:
Free Space: 22.7 GB
Total Space: 76.3 GB
File System: FAT32
Model: IDE DISK TYPE55

Drive: D:
Free Space: 29.0 GB
Total Space: 29.3 GB
File System: FAT32
Model: IDE DISK TYPE56

Drive: e:
Model: SAMSUNG DVD-ROM SD-616

Drive: f:
Model: LG CD-RW CED-8080B

jaywalker2309
29th Apr 2005, 07:26
Game does not support Windows 98.. It clearly states this on the box in the minimum specification..

neibor
18th May 2005, 10:22
Hello,

I have the same error than ferret 420 with Lego Star wars but I run the game on WinXP and Win98.

To be precise, I have :

Nu2Api Runtime Error ! (title of the window)

Important do not ignore!

File: .\nuanim.c
line 940

Description: Could not read from <chars\PKDroid\fall.ani>, either file is not there or the buffer may be full

(Your application has generated an error message)"

Thibaut

jaywalker2309
18th May 2005, 11:18
Hello,

I have the same error than ferret 420 with Lego Star wars but I run the game on WinXP and Win98.

To be precise, I have :

Nu2Api Runtime Error ! (title of the window)

Important do not ignore!

File: .\nuanim.c
line 940

Description: Could not read from <chars\PKDroid\fall.ani>, either file is not there or the buffer may be full

(Your application has generated an error message)"

Thibaut


You run it on XP and Win98? erm, how does that work? dual boot? the game will not function at all on any windows 98 platform.

XaaronPrimus
24th May 2005, 22:13
I am having the same problem as the others are having. I get both error messages (might be a different file, but rest of message is the same, the second one mentioned by neibor occurs if I ignore the first one).

I am running windows XP pro.

The thing is, i have 2 accounts on this Computer, my own and one for my younger sister. It installed and ran fine on my account, but on my sisters the error message appears. i logged out of hers and into mine, worked fine, logged back on as her, created a shortcut and error pops up.

My account has administrator rights, hers does not.

Any suggestions?

Mn Dan
6th Jun 2005, 20:45
I am also having this same runtime error. Anybody have any idea what is causing this. The really irritating thing is that I purchase a new graphics card just to get this game running for my son and it still does not work. My OS is ME.

jaywalker2309
7th Jun 2005, 07:57
I am also having this same runtime error. Anybody have any idea what is causing this. The really irritating thing is that I purchase a new graphics card just to get this game running for my son and it still does not work. My OS is ME.

Windows ME is not a supported OS..

petef
9th Jun 2005, 21:35
I am seeing a similar problem as well. The details differ slightly.

The game runs fine from the admin account that I installed it in and also on another account with admin privileges. It fails with the Nu2Api error on my son's limited account.

I solved a problem like this a while back on another game by changing the ACL on one of the program files. Is there a fix like that for this game?

This is on XP Home SP2.

jaywalker2309
10th Jun 2005, 18:27
I am seeing a similar problem as well. The details differ slightly.

The game runs fine from the admin account that I installed it in and also on another account with admin privileges. It fails with the Nu2Api error on my son's limited account.

I solved a problem like this a while back on another game by changing the ACL on one of the program files. Is there a fix like that for this game?

This is on XP Home SP2.

You should be able to be logged in as your son and enable the game exe to be ran as someone else (ie yourself who is an admin) it should save that information.

petef
11th Jun 2005, 20:20
Thanks jaycw2309, using Run As from a right click on R2D2 means that my son can start the game as me when I enter my password.

I had not realized that the saved games are shared between all users. This is a bit disappointing. Other games that I have allow sessions to be saved for each user. This means that there is nothing to be gained from running the program as the real user.

BTW I had a reply from Eidos tech support saying that the game must be run with Administrator privileges. I can understand that being necessary for installation of the game but it seems unreasonable for just playing it.

jaywalker2309
12th Jun 2005, 19:22
Thanks jaycw2309, using Run As from a right click on R2D2 means that my son can start the game as me when I enter my password.

I had not realized that the saved games are shared between all users. This is a bit disappointing. Other games that I have allow sessions to be saved for each user. This means that there is nothing to be gained from running the program as the real user.

BTW I had a reply from Eidos tech support saying that the game must be run with Administrator privileges. I can understand that being necessary for installation of the game but it seems unreasonable for just playing it.

The save games are stored in the game folder, not the users folder, like most of our other titles.

As for the requirement of admin, try this exe download me (http://www.securom.com/support/customers/eidos/LegoStarWars_t010/legostarwars.zip) and uncompress the exe on top of the currently installed exe (copy the original exe somewhere safe first.

petef
14th Jun 2005, 20:02
The save games are stored in the game folder, not the users folder, like most of our other titles.

As for the requirement of admin, try this exe download me (http://www.securom.com/support/customers/eidos/LegoStarWars_t010/legostarwars.zip) and uncompress the exe on top of the currently installed exe (copy the original exe somewhere safe first.

I'm sure that I could knock up a script that would manage separate copies of the save games directories if it should prove to be a problem.

Unfortunately the exe did not run (as me). It immediately complained about my CD. "Wrong disc inserted. Please insert the original CD/DVD." The backup has restored the status quo ante.

jaywalker2309
15th Jun 2005, 08:14
I'm sure that I could knock up a script that would manage separate copies of the save games directories if it should prove to be a problem.

Unfortunately the exe did not run (as me). It immediately complained about my CD. "Wrong disc inserted. Please insert the original CD/DVD." The backup has restored the status quo ante.

Okay, was just an exe i had done for another consumer that had helped them, was just wondering if it could help you :)

petef
15th Jun 2005, 21:40
You should be able to be logged in as your son and enable the game exe to be ran as someone else (ie yourself who is an admin) it should save that information.

I'd missed this bit about the Run As saving the credentials and had been dutifully filling in my password each time. The desktop shortcut does indeed launch the program for limited users without needing an admin to intervene. Thanks for your help.

dstumme@rochester.rr.com
17th Jun 2005, 22:32
It seems very odd to me that the game does not run on Windows ME, since the demo ran just fine. I didn't even look at the sys requirements due to the demo being OK on my machine, so now I'm stuck with an opened game that otherwise meets the system requirements, but will not run.

Are there any plans to patch this, to allow the older OS' to run it?

jaywalker2309
20th Jun 2005, 08:53
It seems very odd to me that the game does not run on Windows ME, since the demo ran just fine. I didn't even look at the sys requirements due to the demo being OK on my machine, so now I'm stuck with an opened game that otherwise meets the system requirements, but will not run.

Are there any plans to patch this, to allow the older OS' to run it?

Eidos were only the distributor on this title, you'd need to get hold of Giant the publishers (they do read the forums often)

Its unfortunate that the demo did work on some machines under windows ME, as it was never intended to (the specs for the demo was 2k/xp), and between the demo and final game release there were many versions which changed the structure of the title, including all the graphical enhancements (which are not in the demo at all).

Thundercho
18th Aug 2005, 10:24
I recently purchased Lego Star Wars and got the infamous "nu2api" error message. The game worked OK for me since I have administrator rights on my XP Pro machine. For the kids, it didn't work, since they are not administrators. Do I give them admin rights on my XP box? I don't think so! Am I always around to type in an admin password when the program is using the "Run as" option? No.

This fix has worked on other program that requires admin rights to run, and it seems to work for this game too. I give Full Control permissions to the users on the game directory and it's subdirectories. Here's how:

1. Open Windows Explorer and go to C:\Program Files.
2. Right click on the Giant folder and click on Properties.
3. Go to the Security tab, click on "Users", then check the "Full Control" checkbox under the "Allow" column.
4. Click "OK" button to finish.

Enjoy!

Alec Grae
17th Dec 2005, 20:14
Hi,

I am having a similar problem with my game:

NuApi Runtime Error
File: .\nuanim.c
Line: 940
Description: Could not read from <chars\quigonjinn\sabreidle.ani>, either file is not there or the buffer may be full

Did not see any fixes listed on previous posts, so thought I would submit this again -- thanks so much for your help.

I'm running on XP, by the way. Thanks!!

Alec :confused: