PDA

View Full Version : Reactions to the new Lara -- from an old fan

Bullet ridden monkey
6th Apr 2005, 06:09
Some of you may or may not remember me, but if not, whatever. I'm old, I've been around for a while, that's all ya gotta know.

I started playing Tomb Raider at the age of 11, with a simple demo of Tomb Raider 3. When I first played the game, I was in awe of the environment I found myself in. With that, I picked up the full version and soon began my journey into becoming a Tomb Raider fan.

I'm 18 now, and Tomb Raider still holds a place in my heart. It's strange to say this, but I've played many games, and none come close to the affection I have for this series. It was, in essence, my first real game, and the sense of wonderment that TR3 gave me remains unmatched to this day.

I've seen the Tomb Raider series take many turns, from the good (Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation) to the not so good (Lara Croft: Tomb Raider) to the ugly (Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness). Throughout it all though, I've religiously followed Lara on all her quests. But then I grew distant, I felt alienated, so I left to go discover other games.

Now I'm back with the news of Tomb Raider: Legend. I have to say, I'm very excited. What kept drawing me back to the game was the promise of new adventure. For me, it was never about finding out the background of the character of Lara, it was about running from boulders in thick jungles, shooting crocodiles, swimming in tropical caves, and solving ancient puzzles. From what I've seen so far of the new Lara, she has abandoned her film-noir attempts at a soap opera in favor of going back to her routes -- an adventurer.