PDA

View Full Version : The game of my dreams... (long)

LondonCalling
4th Apr 2005, 16:24
My interest in the Napoleonic Wars probably started a few years back when I played a game called Napoleon In Europe (a board game) at a friends house. I liked the game so much I bought it and hosted several large scale games with friends at my house. I then found myself researching bit by bit and reading books about the period. In school at the time, I had shown great interest in a class based on 3ds max (one of the more popular 3d modeling tools out there). As a high school student, I considered myself very lucky to be able to have a class that not many other high schools offered. The class was basic and redementary. If I was going to ever do something with 3ds modeling I realized I would have to devote hours of my own time at home.

My interest in the Napoleonic Wars made me think about how cool it would be if I could model 3ds Napoleonic Figures for a popular game. With this devotion, I took on the task of monumentally researching everything I needed to know about the subject. My first attempt was in WarCraft III: The Frozen Throne. My attempt to put a custom made model into a game had exceeded, and it was very exciting for me to be doing something very few could do for the game. But I was not content with the quality of my model, and this eventually led to refining my 3ds max, and now photoshop skills. I continued to work on these skills with great ambition as a game called Rome: Total War was on the verge of release. The game did not have the mod tools as promised, but a dedicated community of modders made 3rd party tools, and tutorials.