PDA

View Full Version : Water fountian objects?



John D.
14th Mar 2005, 03:58
Does anybody have any? :)

Yandros
14th Mar 2005, 20:35
No, but it's an interesting idea to try... only problem might be putting water in the lower part (like where the water spills into)... maybe it could be done with a semi-transparent water-like texture (but not real water terrain). If the fountain's small enough, it's not like you can jump into the water anyway.

Oh wait... did you mean like a drinking fountain? That would be cool too...

John D.
15th Mar 2005, 01:53
I was meaning a drinking fountain like the ones you see in schools, it wouldnt have to have any water coming out.

GORT-SMDM
18th Mar 2005, 06:31
Hmmm...
A drinking fountain, eh?
If you want, I'll try to squeez in some time for it. Making object is very easy in anim8or. Heck, I'll even try to give the button a joint setting so it will move when you use it. :D

John D.
18th Mar 2005, 18:02
That would be cool! I only have one request, make sure the pallete that is used for the object texture is the same as one of the original t2 objects in obj/txt16 (mabye like the worker or spiderbot perhaps?). If you saw my last thread, R Soul found out my crashes were caused by too many custom palletes. :)

R_Soul
18th Mar 2005, 18:25
But if the original T2 object texture isn't loaded for the FM (i.e. the object hasn't been created) then that's still an extral palette to be loaded.

Couldn't you use bright.exe to standardise the palettes? You could group the textures by the sorts of colours used..

John D.
18th Mar 2005, 19:36
Couldn't you use bright.exe to standardise the palettes? You could group the textures by the sorts of colours used.. How exactly would I do that? Are you talking about just object pallettes or texture families or both?:confused: I tried saving the pallette of one of my custom pics in photoshop and applying it to other similar pictures, but it messed up their color scheme.

R_Soul
18th Mar 2005, 20:47
When you load a palette, you should be able to tell it how to apply the palette.

It sounds like you have something like 'Maintain Idnexes' selected. 'Nearest Colour' would be better.
Having said that I don't know how Photoshop works so I can't be too precise.

Actually I'm not sure bright will work. It doesnt' recognise .gif.

Maybe PS could batch-convert them to bmp then bright could apply some common palettes (and generate .pcx files, which can be used on objects).

GORT-SMDM
19th Mar 2005, 21:58
Up to my knowlege, most of my objects have their own palletes, but I didn't get any errors. If you look at the object's .gif palletes from T2, there's quite a few of them that have their own palletes.

Now for the family textures, that's a different story.


BTW: John D., I try to get that model as soon as I can.

GORT-SMDM
4th Apr 2005, 22:17
All right. I got the drinking fountain ready to go. :D
Please PM me your e-mail address so I can give you it. ;)
Here's the pics of it.
http://img215.exs.cx/img215/4801/dump0013qc.jpg
http://img202.exs.cx/img202/2071/dump0007gl.jpg
Is this what you wanted? The button can be pressed. :D

John D.
5th Apr 2005, 01:04
Looks great! I dont have private messages activated, but you can get my e-mail from the .txt files of my FM's or from Komags authors list at www.keepofmetalandgold.com
:)

GORT-SMDM
6th Apr 2005, 02:33
All right! The zip file is on it's way. :cool:

John D.
6th Apr 2005, 12:23
I like it, it looks like it would fit in well in a whole range of areas! :D
http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4541/waterfountian3er.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

GORT-SMDM
11th Apr 2005, 18:16
Also, I made an outside one as well.
http://img141.exs.cx/img141/3026/dump0008jz.jpg
http://img212.exs.cx/img212/8877/dump0015jc.jpg
So, what do you think? :D

John D.
12th Apr 2005, 01:03
Looks great! I think it would fit well in City missions. :)

GORT-SMDM
13th Apr 2005, 03:38
Well, its on it's way to your e-mail account. :D