PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Photoshop

Johnny
3rd Feb 2005, 20:02
Hi, everyone! It's been a LONG time since I've logged on the Eidos TR Forums. I love the new look by the way. Anyway, I'm having some trouble with Photoshop. I'm working with an Angel of Darkness wallpaper with an all-black background. I'm trying to erase the background only (to make it transparent), but I don't know where to start. :confused: Some people have told me to use the eraser tool, but I'm looking more for a professional look.

Thanx,
Johnny

MissLara2U
3rd Feb 2005, 20:19
Use the "Select" tool to highlight the background. Then CTL C, CTL N (new document), then set size parameters, and select TRANSPARENT background. Then CTL V.

Lara will now be on a transparent background. You can find tips on using Photoshop here:

http://www.adobe.com/products/tips/photoshop.html

b/w congrats! Adobe Photoshop is simply awesome!

M.

Solange
3rd Feb 2005, 20:21
Good to see you Johnny! :)

I'm NOT an expert, but this is how I've been told to do this. Duplicate layer in bottom right corner, delete the original layer and work with the copy. For some reason unknown to me this doesn't work with the original... I think. Lol. If I remember correct, parts of the image will be locked with the original layer.

Then either use the magic wand tool if the background you have now is just one colour, and select all of it, then press delete.

Or use the polygonal lasso tool (second from top left row). Step around everything you want deleted with that. You can go outside the image, that won't matter. When an area is selected, press "delete". Do it in several steps, or you will get mad if you accidentally chop Lara's head off or something and you have to start from top.

I'm sure there are other ways of doing this, I'm not too good at PS, but when I've had to do something I've used either of these ways, and the result is better and it is MUCH easier to use than the erase tool!