PDA

View Full Version : Me, my computer and thief

Excel
10th Nov 2004, 23:13
Im new to the world of fourms, but not to thief, been with it since it came out, i remember that wonderful day i walked in to the shops and picked it up, theif always remained a dark mysterious game, any one feel that? it made you feel the magic and curiosity about keepers etc... i think the music helped with the tension SO much :) any ways i think thief DS managed to hit it just right and bring back that mystery of the game, the music and everything felt like #1 again, the feel of the keepers and their secrets, and the cutscenes were perfect along with the little fun ending :D
any ways i got

-pentium 4, 2.8ghz
-ati radeon 9800 pro
-1024mb ram
-160gb hard disk space
-sound blaster audigy, with 6:1 surround sound speakers
-xp pro
But i notice the game still slightly jerks a bit, ive tried other 3d cards, like gforce 5 and an older ati but they were no good, this new card makes best work from it, and i keep resolution at 1280X1024 but going to lowest dosnt improve it what so ever
:confused:

any one got a solution??????

Schmoe
11th Nov 2004, 03:45
tou can turn down the detail settings...

but---

in your system the processer is a bottleneck compared to your video card.

also---

find a friend who is very knoledgable about computers and turn off some of the windows services that run in the background. they eat up processer clycles, and slow gaming performance.

you shoudl only have about 19-20 running processes in the background for optimal performance. all that stuff by your clock.... bad mojo for gaming PC's

Excel
11th Nov 2004, 10:47
thanks for the advice, but i have 36 processes running and thats from a fresh install of xp and i always keep the tray clean , i thought it was the mouse at first, so i swapped them but still nothin, i can still play it, i finished it and was very pleased, i was just woundering if theres ways to improve it for laters

Lake
11th Nov 2004, 13:18