PDA

View Full Version : C'Mon! Help a newbie out!

LewAlcindor
23rd Sep 2004, 21:10
I just started playing T3, and BOY am I having a hard time! I should probably say up front that I have never played any of the thief games. Up until now, I've stayed more with the Baldur's Gate/Neverwinter Nights type of games. But this game just looked so cool that I had to get it.

I am having a hard time with the controls. They are way more complicated than anything I've used before. Is there maybe a way to change the control keys, or even better, use a game pad?
If not, I'm sure I'll get used to it.

The biggest problem I've had so far is picking locks. (I know it must be simple to all of you-- man, is my face red! :o ) I read the instructions, but I think Garrett will be old and grey before he gets through that training mission! I DID manage to open one single tumbler, but I think I did that on ACCIDENT! Does anyone have a simple explaination for me?

I'd really like to get into enjoying this game!

kazcymru
23rd Sep 2004, 21:17
to pick locks move the mouse around it'll make a rattling noise when your in the right area then slowly keep moving the mouse until garretts right arm moves upwards, and you see a gap in the barrell then left click and it will spin around and then do the same for all the other barrell's. If your still having trouble (like i did when i first started), move the mouse out further across your mouse pad ( bigger circles ) cause that stick in the middle of the tumbler's should be lying flat. hope this helps

theBlackman
23rd Sep 2004, 21:29
Also you can use the W X A D keys and combinations of these (WA WD XA XD) to open the locks.

Watch the circles. When they start to twitch you are close to, if not in the right part to open that tumbler.

tealsmith
23rd Sep 2004, 21:57
As for the controls, you can change those right in the options menu like in most games.