PDA

View Full Version : cant hear any weapons sounds, enemies, or our guys... help! please :(



Drow
18th Sep 2004, 01:30
well, im a nam fanatic and i must say im impressed wiith the level of atmosphere, but i cant hear a damn weapon sound, only ambient sounds.

what could be my problem?


thanks
Drow

Drow
18th Sep 2004, 02:41
cmon eidos dudes, one of you must have some idea of what my problem is...

? :eek: ?

jaywalker2309
18th Sep 2004, 08:22
What soundcard? driver? is 3dsound on in the ini file in my docs?

Drow
18th Sep 2004, 09:19
its a riptide combo card that comes with the hp pavillion and yes ini is on

jaywalker2309
18th Sep 2004, 09:34
Originally posted by Drow
its a riptide combo card that comes with the hp pavillion and yes ini is on

try turning it to off.

macabre
18th Sep 2004, 15:43
ive got sound in the intro but not in the game.
i can't install openAL because off audio upgrade.
call me stupid but i dl every thing i could find but still no sound in the game.
my neighbour installed it and no problems there.

any1 has a good hint for me pls?

greetz

jaywalker2309
18th Sep 2004, 15:46
Originally posted by macabre
ive got sound in the intro but not in the game.
i can't install openAL because off audio upgrade.
call me stupid but i dl every thing i could find but still no sound in the game.
my neighbour installed it and no problems there.

any1 has a good hint for me pls?

greetz

What sound card you got? is it integrated nforce?

macabre
18th Sep 2004, 15:49
its a Geforce FX 5600. all i know :s

jaywalker2309
18th Sep 2004, 15:57
Originally posted by macabre
its a Geforce FX 5600. all i know :s

Thats your graphcis card..

Run Dxdiag, and click on `sound` tab

macabre
18th Sep 2004, 17:11
its nvidia nforce
type wdm

Drow
18th Sep 2004, 19:37
i tried turning it off no luck, i still cant hear weapon sounds i have a conexent riptide combo card, type wdm, driver version 5.12.0001.0313

aargh
thanks

jaywalker2309
19th Sep 2004, 08:32
Originally posted by Drow
i tried turning it off no luck, i still cant hear weapon sounds i have a conexent riptide combo card, type wdm, driver version 5.12.0001.0313

aargh
thanks

Under dxdiag, go to the sound tab, there is an acceleration option you can move/slide. Its probably on full acceleration now, try turning it down, theres a few options (normal, off etc) try each of these and see what happens..

ValkXB70
19th Sep 2004, 09:17
I'm having the same problem, sound in the intro and cut scenes but nothing in game. I have a Nforce 2 motherboard but I am using a Creative Labs Audigy sound card. When I installed the game I was prompted to update my Nvidia auido drivers which I did and still I get the same prompt. On a side note I tried installing on a similar computer (my work PC) that used the onboard sound (Nforce2 ) and had perfect sound. I have tried the *.ini trick already and it did not help.

jaywalker2309
19th Sep 2004, 09:19
Originally posted by ValkXB70
I'm having the same problem, sound in the intro and cut scenes but nothing in game. I have a Nforce 2 motherboard but I am using a Creative Labs Audigy sound card. When I installed the game I was prompted to update my Nvidia auido drivers which I did and still I get the same prompt. On a side note I tried installing on a similar computer (my work PC) that used the onboard sound (Nforce2 ) and had perfect sound. I have tried the *.ini trick already and it did not help.

Does the openal installer work?

If you do a search for the file `Openal32.dll` you should find it within system32 folder under your windows folder. If its NOT there that would explain the problem.

ValkXB70
19th Sep 2004, 09:21
Negative, when I try to run the OpenAl installer I get the prompt about updating my Nvidia drivers.

jaywalker2309
19th Sep 2004, 09:26
Originally posted by ValkXB70
Negative, when I try to run the OpenAl installer I get the prompt about updating my Nvidia drivers.

What about the presence of openal32.dll?

jaywalker2309
19th Sep 2004, 09:34
Originally posted by Drow
its a riptide combo card that comes with the hp pavillion and yes ini is on

Which HP pavillion is it? theres loads :)

ValkXB70
19th Sep 2004, 20:43
Yes the OpenAl32.DLL is in the Eidos\shellshock_Nam67\ root

Drow
19th Sep 2004, 22:00
my pc is an hp pavillion 8765c with an amd athalon 900 mz proc and a conexant riptide combo card
i tried all the different acceleration settings in the dxdiag sound settings thith ini on and off and there was no change i still cant hear weapon sounds????

jaywalker2309
19th Sep 2004, 22:48
ValkXB70 - is it in your windows\system32 folder? (not the dvd)

Drow - could you also check if you have this openal32.dll file within your windows\system32 folder.

Drow
19th Sep 2004, 23:55
no i have the file in windows/ system though

jaywalker2309
19th Sep 2004, 23:56
Originally posted by Drow
no i have the file in windows/ system though

hmm copy the file into the system32 folder.. thats where it is supposed to be installed to.

R u windows xp?

Drow
20th Sep 2004, 00:07
ok i did that still no weapon sounds, no i run windows me, should i reinstall open al now??

jaywalker2309
20th Sep 2004, 00:09
Originally posted by Drow
ok i did that still no weapon sounds, no i run windows me, should i reinstall open al now??

Hehe ME is a pain in the butt :)

give it a go..

Drow
20th Sep 2004, 00:15
i tried with ini on and off, no change though,is there any hope?

Drow
20th Sep 2004, 00:17
besides the no weapon sounds the game runs very nicely and i have never had audio issues in the past

jaywalker2309
20th Sep 2004, 00:17
Originally posted by Drow
i tried with ini on and off, no change though,is there any hope?

the riptide is a really strange sound system. Have u got a mate who has a sound card u could try?

Drow
20th Sep 2004, 00:19
no, not at hand anyway

jaywalker2309
20th Sep 2004, 00:26
Originally posted by Drow
no, not at hand anyway

bum, did u try turning down the sound acceleration within dxdiag?

Drow
20th Sep 2004, 00:33
ya i just tried it again too but no change

Drow
20th Sep 2004, 00:41
thanks for the help jay i really appreciate it, i know its sunday too.

ValkXB70
20th Sep 2004, 03:36
I looked and there was an OpenAL.Dll in the windows\system32 folder. However it was a different file size, so I copied the one from my eidos\shellshock_nam67 folder. Still no change though.

ValkXB70
24th Sep 2004, 19:28
Any thoughts on this? Still cannot play this game and have been looking forward to it for 3 months.....