PDA

View Full Version : Defiance Camera Patch & Debug Menu by Vampmaster & cubanraul



Vampmaster
25th Aug 2004, 18:43
Since the camera is difficult to control when the patch is on, Cubanraul suggested that I take the link to the patch down. However I'll leave it up for now so people know what's going on. The trainer program let's to switch between the Defiance camera and the SR2 camera just by pressing a button on the keyboard:

(Deleted due to a reported virus)

To use the trainer, just have it running at the same time as Defiance. You can even have the trainer minimised (or hidden) in the background and still be able to use the keyboard to activate/deactivate the codes anytime during play.

9 = Activate Shift At Will
8 = SR2 Camera
7 = Defiance Camera

Someone asked in the other thread how far I can modify the camera. Well the Defiance camera is sort of like it's on a rail. I can't change the rail or make my own (That would involve a lit of every possible position in the game that Kain/Raziel could possibly be), but with work I can take it off the rail. So I can increase the control over it.

There's maybe 10,000 coordinates for every area length, width and depth or the places the character can be in so that's like 1,000,000,000,000 different alterations I'd have to do if I wanted to make my own cinimatic camera.

IMPORTANT EDIT: Someone reported that there was a virus in the original patch that I posted. I've not used the patch since I changed over to using trainers, so I can't confirm this. However just to be on the safe side I've removed the link. The trainer here is definately safe to use, since 100% of it is C++ code I wrote myself and the ones on www.thelostworlds.net will be as well, just don't use the patch linked to near the beginning of this thread.

http://www.pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/DefianceTrainer.zip

If you've given it to any cheat sites or what ever, feel free to let them know to use the trainer instead, which has more features anyway.

Vampmaster
2nd Sep 2004, 23:32
The debug menu has been added to the trainer! Hope you enjoy it:

http://home.comcast.net/~t7g/DefianceCamSwitcher.zip

(It's the same link as before)

Vampmaster
11th Sep 2004, 22:48
This is the latest version:

http://home.comcast.net/~t7g/DefianceCamSwitcher.zip

And a pic:

http://home.comcast.net/~t7g/lokt.gif

It works with both versions 1.0 and 1.1

Please report any bugs that weren't in previous versions of the trainer. It shouldn't reset to the normal camera unless it's told to but we used a different trainer maker so I'm not positive. CubanRaul seemed sure it worked right though.

Everything in this one is done using the keybord while the game is playing so you don't need pause or minimise the Defiance window to use it's functions and the trainer itself can just stay running in the background.

Umah Bloodomen
14th Sep 2004, 18:07
To place more emphasis on the efforts of Vampmaster and cubanraul, this thread has been purged of all discussion.

Please refrain from contributing any discussion in this thread as it will now be focused on releasing updates (if applicable) to what is stated in the post above.

Constructive discussion regarding this (or the camera in general) may be directed to this thread (http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=44247)

Thanks. :)

Vampmaster
10th Nov 2004, 00:32
Upcoming Events!:

Get SR2 Trainer beta version released <- 1 week tops
(That's the beta version of the trainer, not a trainer for the SR2 beta version. There's not really any bugs it either but there's stuff I want to add.)
Add SR2 submenus <- 2 to 3 weeks
My BIG suprise <- 3 to 4 weeks
All trainers built into one <- 1 month
Make Defiance camera reset function???
Fix Defiance level select menu???
Flight code???
Walk through walls???

Vampmaster
4th Dec 2004, 03:59
Here it is! My big suprise!

The SR1 debug menu enabler!:

http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR1_DBG.exe

I'll post this in the Soul Reaver series forum with more detail:

http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=47005

Vampmaster
18th Dec 2004, 19:16
...and yet another one! That makes three games now :D

Soul Reaver 2 debug menu enabler!

http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR2_DBG.exe

I've tested it on the UK premier collection version and the version with the unofficial patch. I think the premier collection is the same as the other versions except it's patched to 1.02 when bought. It seems I needed 1.02 + the unofficial patch to run Divine Shadows hacked saves. So it you've used those then this should work too.

Thanks to Babifrence for his extensive testing and finding some nasty bugs. There's a whole load of people who've helped with these projects without even knowing it, but I'm working on something even bigger so full credits will be given it that.

EDIT: The recent posts were moved here: http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=44247

Kain's Adversary
9th Jan 2005, 07:41
I can't download the sr2 debg menu enabler. It downloads the file as a htm file:eek: . If i double click that file it brings me to a travel site:eek: :confused:

Vampmaster
9th Jan 2005, 13:03
Perhaps the bandwidth's used up. Let me check.

EDIT: Ok, it's confirmed. The site is down and since my site was a subdomain of Omega's and I don't know if my free one at angelfire will allow downloads I guess this means I'm looking for places to host the Soul Reaver 1 & 2 trainers.

EDIT 2: I forgot to mention that the Defiance trainer is hosted on CubanRauls site and therefore is still available to download. It's also available from www.megagames.com I'll probably just ask him to host the others too, but the more sites with it the easier they will be to find.

I have something big planned for the trainers including rolling the four of them into one, and a new host. Possibly adding some mouse controls for the Defiance SR2 cam as well. This will have to wait until the end of this month when I've finished my exams.

The fourth trainer is for BO2 and will allow such fixes as removing the black screen caused by using the level select room without having to shut down the health bar and dark gift menu. That will be released once I've got it working for versions 1.01 and 1.02.

EDIT: HURRAY!!! Omega fixed the links. The trainers can be downloaded again.

nico2000
31st Jan 2005, 23:06
Hi,

I tried the patches to change the camera behavior, but it doesn't help me much. It's probably impossible, but how about a patch that gets us the so desired first person perspective?

I am about to throw this game into the fire place, just because I can't get this movement thing down... To illustrate.... I have been killed about 200 times (no joke) by missing jumps and maybe once, or twice by an enemy...

Needless to say that this takes most of the funout of the game. For me it turned the long awaited continuation of a great story into a nightmare... And I mean that in a bad way.

Game on.
N.

Vampmaster
2nd Feb 2005, 02:09
I have a lot of stuff I'm working on for SR1 at the moment, but maybe I could try something like zooming the swim camera right up to in front of his face and aimed away from him. Maybe just a plain zoom in/out feature would improve things a fair bit. I havn't looked into the camera codes in a while. Hmm, now that I think about it I don't remember us saying what the SR1/2 cameras controls were. I presume they were the same as the regular ones.

EDIT: I've been receiving a lot of messages lately about getting the camera modes to work. I think the problem is that you have to use the number keypad to the right of the arrow keys on the keyboard. Not the number keys above the letters.

EDIT 2: The Defiance trainer is now also available at www.thelostworlds.net. Ben let me be a guest writer with a feature on the trainer programs.

The_Immortal
6th Mar 2005, 12:10
Would it be possible, somehow, to have SR1 running @ 60fps, like the Dreamcast version?

Vampmaster
12th Mar 2005, 15:08
Wouldn't that just make it in turbo mode? I don't think it produces any extra frames to squeeze into a second.

Vampmaster
25th Apr 2005, 00:08
The new improved SR1 Trainer v2.0 Beta should be released in just a couple of more weeks. This one, rather than adding one or two address "Pokes" to a trainer maker kit, I've written this one entirely myself using C++. Over a 1000 lines of code make up the trainer which injects over 2KB of brand new data into the game. Includes an extended debug menu modeled after the cheat menu from the PS1 SR1 Beta from which you can listen to all the audio in the game including that of the Priestess and Turel, an option to swim through the air and a whole slew of reconstructed abilities that you will only have seen in places such as thelostworlds. All this coming to a PC near you soon...

EDIT: Almost done. There's just a few more cosmetic things to be done before the beta version is ready for release. One or two of the debug menu options doesn't seem to work quite right and I neglected to give the Ariel Reaver a projectile of it's own and I wanted to add one other cosmetic thing from the beta that will serve as an indication of whether the trainer is active. Anyways, not long now. Another thing was that I made a trainer to disable the movies in SR1. I know this spoils the game a bit, but for people who can't play the game due to the movies causing it to crash, it's better than nothing. I'll convert that to a patch next chance I get. There's a couple of driver related things that I plan to investigate but that will have to wait a while.

Kaizainiel
4th Jun 2005, 14:48
Cannot wait to your finished!

MadeR
14th Jun 2005, 17:03
Firstly, thank you for you work and patches to the LoK series games.
Now I'd like to ask you if there is a way to make the camera rotate exactly like in SR2?
In SR2, the camera stops rotating around the caracter as soon as I do not move the mouse any longer; on the contrary the Trainer need the mouse to be "centered" again or the camera keeps up spinning. So am I missing a setting or the Trainer is behaving the way it is meant to do?

Vampmaster
25th Jun 2005, 16:37
I'll need to add quite a bit more to the trainer to get it to do that. I've had very limited access to the internet since I finished uni and I need to find a job soon as well so it might be a while. There is just one part of the SR1 trainer I wanted to do before I release it but getting some work's a priority right now.

EDIT: I did a lot of re-working on the behaviour for the debug menu, added a reverse yes/no option where the 0 bit can represent yes instead of no when needed so the invincible will work, made it so left and right toggle the yes/no options instead of right being always yes and no always yes and I've almost got that infuriating "Keep Info Between Loads" actually keeping the info it's supposed too. Fixing this buggieness will just be the icing on the cake towards all the other things I've acomplished. This thing is epic and I'm really sure it's going to be ready soon this time. I'll be sending Ben another article for tlw as well so everyone can see what I've done to SR1 over the past year. And when I get around to it I think I'll be able to make the some of the unfinished areas accessible from the PS1.

EDIT 2: This was a no movie patch for SR1 I made because people were saying they were having problems with the intro movies crashing the game. It spoils the fun a little but if you can't find any of the drivers that fix the movies or need different hardware, at least it will make the game playable. It's for use with the XP patched version.

http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR1NoMovies.exe

Vampmaster
18th Jul 2005, 20:44
...and here it is! The SR1 Trainer v2.0 Beta!

http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR1_Trainer_v2.exe

This trainer both enables the debug menu and restores it to it's original state from the SR1 beta. This means that since my original SR1 trainer, I have added:

About five extra submenus including one that lets you listen to any dialog from the game.
The deleted reavers that were previously only available on PC by using winhack as described in ww.thelostworlds.net and some new special effects with the projectiles that were left unfinished by the SR1s developers now fully functional with added elemental damage effects.
The ability to fly as if swiming through the air. (Material Realm only)
Fixed the invincible option so that it works and also upgraded the debug menus controls a bit.
Added customisable controls to the trainer.
Made the inaccessable City10 and Push1 and the level where you meet Moebius available from the level select menu.
Hardware, drivers and resolution etc can be changed mid game.
Had a go at fixing the black core of the Kain Reaver (I think you press F8 for that but I didn't add the control changer yet).
The "Keep Info Between Loads" didn't work properly in my previous Soul Reaver 1 trainer, so I fixed that as well.
All that and more available from what is quite possibly the greatest hack ever created for lok!

EDIT: Updated the trainer. The Kain Reaver projectiles now vapourise enemies and there's possibly a few less bugs. Enjoy.

Vampmaster
26th Aug 2005, 13:56
Firstly, thank you for you work and patches to the LoK series games.
Now I'd like to ask you if there is a way to make the camera rotate exactly like in SR2?
In SR2, the camera stops rotating around the caracter as soon as I do not move the mouse any longer; on the contrary the Trainer need the mouse to be "centered" again or the camera keeps up spinning. So am I missing a setting or the Trainer is behaving the way it is meant to do?

I misread your message earlier. I was testing the trainer the other week and I see what you mean. Stopping the unwanted rotation might not be as hard as enabling the vertical tilt, which is what I thought you meant. I'll look into it when I get the chance.

EDIT: Anyone have SR1 version 1.2 but not the unofficial XP patch? If so, let me know if the trainer still works.

EDIT 2: The new elemental reavers are only in the imbue menu since there's nothing in nosgoth to imbue them with, there'd be no point in putting them in the forged abilities menu.

Vampmaster
14th Sep 2005, 11:12
I finally added the possession code! At the moment it's just the possession camera like in the SR2 cheat device code for PS2, but I'm working on enabling the ability to control the enemy. I've added it to the to camera menu for now. There's a few more finishing moves and damage effects I want to add and some things like disabling the collision detection and phasing in material and climbing in spectral, however it might take me a while to do those. I think the Water Glyph/Reaver upgrade might be only one that shows up any time soon.

It would help if I could get some more feedback as some of the extra menus and abilities aren't working for everyone and knowing the versions and situations it does work for might help.

The update is the same link as before and it should say v2.2 Beta as the window name if it's the right one:
http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR1_Trainer_v2.exe

Dzimpact
24th Sep 2005, 12:41
This is the latest version:

http://home.comcast.net/~t7g/DefianceCamSwitcher.zip

And a pic:

http://home.comcast.net/~t7g/lokt.gif

It works with both versions 1.0 and 1.1

Please report any bugs that weren't in previous versions of the trainer. It shouldn't reset to the normal camera unless it's told to but we used a different trainer maker so I'm not positive. CubanRaul seemed sure it worked right though.

Everything in this one is done using the keybord while the game is playing so you don't need pause or minimise the Defiance window to use it's functions and the trainer itself can just stay running in the background.
I downloaded the camera patch. My antivirus detected a trojan in it. Do you have a virus-free version of the patch?

Kaizainiel
24th Sep 2005, 13:28
Yes he is correct,
Nortan anti virus dectects a trojan,its also in SR1 and SR2 Debugs.
I just disable norton it while I use it.

blincoln
24th Sep 2005, 22:36
Norton probably thinks it's a trojan because it modifies the memory that another program is using.

Vampmaster
26th Sep 2005, 14:16
It's actually a dll file that gets included in the trainer that gets mistaken for a virus. The anti-virus recognises that specific dll as part of the file. It is safe to tell the anti virus to ignore it but I'll try to make a C++ version which doesn't have this problem. I've temporarily swore off recreational programming until I can get some work because it takes up too much of my time. I'm only looking for part time but I'm running out of money fast and need to sort that out before I can get back to the trainers. I promise I'll try to be quick, but the current version of the trainer is safe to use dispite the problems with the dll.

Kaizainiel
27th Sep 2005, 04:43
Fair enough,I thought it may be a mistake as it did not do it before.
I just Disable norton when I use it as the ignore doesnt seem to work.

Im spewing,I installed a New Nvidia 6200 as it has component video out,so I could play Soul Reaver on big TV without using Svideo to RCA (Previsouly had FX 5200 ).
Unfortunatly Soul Reaver will not play not matter what I do, Ill wait for my laptop but it has not component out.

Vampmaster
27th Sep 2005, 14:03
I actually got some work already. It's not good work or anything like what I want but it's convenient for now until I find something better. Anyway it means I'm ok for working on the trainer again! I'll try to have something done for next week.

Kaizainiel
27th Sep 2005, 14:23
Cool,It will be good to have possess next in SR2 Trainer not to mention the extra stuff and the way we recreated/arranged the SR2 Debug menu made by blinc,we remade it for PAL AR.MAX for PS2 on PC.

I only did some minor work on this with alot of help from Vampmaster but we put plane shift into the debug menu like the defiance version for PC,
we also made it one menu interlinking

This gave me the opertunity to take the soul reaver in the cutscene of williams chapel for a few moments,what I mean is the 1st one with mobeius
I picked up the sword with the glowing blue around it.

My video card can be used for shots and filming but the makers didnt pay for a microsoft license and this causes the pc to crash when I open the folder the films are in.

I want A PC card with component video in so I can take better full screen reolution and that way I can take shots off cool things that I discover like maleks staff joined with the blood reaver.

At least the pc version woutld not require the input for all those codes.
The possess next is cool, SR1 isnt working to good on laptop.
Doesnt work at all on PC since upgrading Graphics card.

Im hoping to open my own site for all my accidnetal discoverys and so on.
when I get some time I need to catch up on my PC repair course first.

Xaverri
12th Oct 2005, 01:15
OK, this is prolly just a stupid screwup on my part or something, but... here goes.

Have tried the camera/debug on both 1.0 and 1.1 of lok-d and it doesn't do anything... Can't seem to get any of it to work, at all.

Have my control type set as keyboard, making sure I'm hitting the right keys to work the thing, as listed earlier in this thread, as well as at HERE (http://www.thelostworlds.net/Defiance-VM-PCTrainer.HTML) .

I'm using the 7 8 9 keys on the numpad for the camera, and getting nothing to happen. trying F1 to get the debug menu to show, but seeing nothing. So.. obviously, am wondering what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks lots, and sorry to be such an idiot. :o

Vampmaster
12th Oct 2005, 16:33
I think you need number lock on as well. Someone else had a similar problem but I don't have much time to search for what he/she did to fix it. It should b somewhere either in this thread or if you do a search for Defiance Trainer. I'll keep looking as well. Hopefully I'll get a chance to work on the trainers tonight if I get enough revision done first. If I can get rid of some of the bugs in it, the new version should render all keyboard and fake virus problems a thing of the past.

Xaverri
12th Oct 2005, 23:29
Thanks much. :)

Will give that a try in a lil while, and shall see what happens. Don't remember if I had it on or not, but, again, shall see. :)

Thanks much, again.

Vampmaster
3rd Jan 2006, 14:55
Two updates this time!

The first is a trainer update that enables the possession camera to be used and adds a new finishing move for the Water Reaver. That part only has an effect for version 1.2 or the XP patched version so far. The possession camera is used from the camera menu and focuses the camera on an enemy as if they were possessed. You get to play with Norman: http://www.thelostworlds.net/SR1-Possess.HTML
Here's the trainer again:
http://pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR1_Trainer_v2.exe
The Soul Reaver 2 and Defiance modes aren't implemented yet.

The second is an updated taglist from the one Ben uses here:
http://www.thelostworlds.net/SR1-Hack.HTML It lets you do some eally cool things like disable the collision detection allowing you to walk through walls and enemies, stop monsters from attacking, it provides an alternate way of activating the debug menu other than using the trainer, lets you choose the currently displayed debug menu and last but not least, it allows you to recolour any of the reaver imbuements you want:
http://www.pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/SR1_Hack2.tgl
The taglist assumes you are using the XP patch and so it will say it's looking for kain2.exe, however if you are using the official version, just choose "load anyway" on the process KAIN2.ICD for the SR1 v1.2

Netsu
2nd Jun 2006, 11:08
I've got a problem with the camera changer, it just doesn't start, when I press the "Launch" button in the trainer menu, nothing happens... can anybody help me?

PS: Ok, now i know how to use the launch button and what i does, but the keys defined in the "about" section doesn't work. Neither the ones defined for camera shifting nor those responible of debug menu.

WraithStar
18th Jul 2006, 03:49
I finally got around to trying the camera patch. I downloaded the one on The Lost Worlds. I was trying to play with the SR2 camera, but every time I get to a new screen, the camera reverts to the Defiance camera. Also, the SR2 camera spins even while I'm not moving the mouse. Is there a way to fix this? Thanks :)

kalsintown
22nd Dec 2006, 20:54
I am sure you regulars to this forum have heard this numberous time. I am so frustrated with Legacy of Kain: Defiance. The camers system only makes sense as a joke.

I was a super big fan of Soul Reaver 2. In fact my fav game. Just came across Legacy of Kain: Defiance, and was really looking forward to consuming it. I cannot for the life of me figure out how you are supposed to control a character you can't see. I used a mouse to move and look around with on Soul Reaver 2, this is ridiculous. I have tried the cam patch and the trainer and still can't get this game to a point where you can actually play the game. How did Eidos release a game with this kind of problem.

Is there anything I can do other than the patches I have tried here in the forum before I give up and toss the game?

Help!!!!!!!
Kal

Vampmaster
24th Dec 2006, 00:11
Sorry I've not been able to work on this much since I started working full time. There were a few ideas I wanted to try, but there's a lot of projects I have on the go at once. I get a week off for christmas, but I wanted to see if I finish the latest version of the SR1 ModelEx (It reads the area files!) and the tool I've been helping Ben with.

Smoke_Z
24th Dec 2006, 16:39
christmas, but I wanted to see if I finish the latest version of the SR1 ModelEx (It reads the area files!) and the tool I've been helping Ben with.

So a person could really examine the environment? Coolness!

Vampmaster
1st Jan 2007, 12:46
I've released the new version of ModelEx that loads the area files and Ben's put it up on tlw. I've also just sent him a slight update of the Defiance trainer which now includes the Shiva menu! You can skip to the end of the game, enable all cutscenes, show the number of monsters in a room and make Raziels wings go weird.

It's also available here:

www.pillarsofnosgoth.legacyofkain.net/DefianceTrainer.zip

Azraphon
27th Feb 2007, 18:06
Ok, I've got your trainer up and running, and I can access the debug menu (not that I know what most of it does).

My problem is that I can't switch the cameras using my numpad (don't know why). Is there any way to:

a) Do it manually using the camera section of the debug menu (what numbers do I need etc)

b) Change what keys bind to what camera modes?

You are saints for making this fix, by the way, because this game would be unplayable on PC without it.

Vampmaster
27th Feb 2007, 21:38
There's currently no way to do either of those. I had intended to integrate all my trainer programs into one and add that feature, but I'm so busy with work lately. If you can activate the menu itself, the camera keys should work just as well. It's the number keys to the right and it might need number lock on too, but I can't think of anything else that would stop it working. I have lots of plans for new trainers and tools and I particularly want to get back to this stuff after seeing all the new stuff Ben's done with tlw, but it's just a matter of finding the time.

Azraphon
27th Feb 2007, 23:02
Ah, I think I know the problem...

Mousekeys. Mousekeys goes on when NumLock goes on, so the '7' '8' and '9' aren't registered.

Now if only I could find 'accessibility options'. It seems to have been removed from my computer, and I can't find it under 'Install Windows Components'

Any suggestions?

blincoln
27th Feb 2007, 23:17
It should be in your Control Panel.

Azraphon
1st Mar 2007, 21:30
Ah, it wasn't on my PC so I copied it from another one.

Seems to work fine now. I get a good gameplay by switching between Defiance and SR2 cameras in different situations.

Turaziel
1st Mar 2007, 22:28
I don't know if this will be of any use to you, but have you considered uploading the patches as a torrent file?
That way bandwidth will not be a problem so long as everyone keeps seeding (even if its only a few hours a week)

you could organise a time when you'll be home and then load it up for an hour and let people dl it.

Neva
12th Oct 2007, 17:22
People hi.
If it possible help plzz...
I'm playing Defiance on notebook,and i have not a numpad(((((
Change Camera with Camerapatch impossible:(
If you know how to decide this problem,posts pliz

Vampmaster
12th Oct 2007, 19:05
I've been meaning to upgrade the defiance trainer and combine my other trainers into one for a long time now. However I've had a new version of ModelEx in the works since last year and I've been trying to get that ready for release. I'm embarassed to say that I don't actually know what notebook is, so you might have to explain it to me and what keys I can use as the trainer's controls.

@Turaziel: I'm not used to using torrents, so I'm not sure how they work exactly. What would be the benefit of that over just downloading them from thelostworlds or my own site? It might save a bit of bandwidth, but that can be accomplished just by passing the trainers to other places for download. As long as you give me credit and ask first, I probably won't mind if where you distribute the trainers too.

Neva
13th Oct 2007, 01:59
Vampmaster,senks that you answered me)
Notebook...Its old version....Hp pavilion ze5700)))
About trainer's control keys..May use another key's,only not a numpad))))))):)
ps:sorry for my bad english))

NexusStone
1st Dec 2007, 19:57
Help. What i must do to activate the debug menu. i downloaded sr 1 and 2 debug menu. And now? :confused: :(

Vampmaster
8th Dec 2007, 23:44
In the older trainers I used 'O' to activate the debug menu and 'P' to deactivate it and id the newer ones I used F1 to activate the debug menu and F2 to deactivate it. For the SR1 trainer, you can choose the keys yourself from the combo boxes.

Sorry to people who've been asking about updates to the trainers. Like I mentioned before, I've not had as much time lately and I'm still trying to finish off the upgrade to ModelEx first. I've been working as a computer programmer since last year, so it can be difficult to go back and do even more programming when I get home. I will get around to it though.