PDA

View Full Version : Pixel Shader 1.1 Problem



X1l1
4th Aug 2004, 18:16
Alright, Alright, Alright! Everytime I try and play Theif 3: Dark Shadows, I get an Error Message from the game. I can never read it but I did get a quick look at it.

Pixel Shader 1.1 is all it said. I don't know how to tell what Pixel Shader I have or how to upgrade.

Can anyone help/solve the problem?


Thanks in advance,
Brian

Clumsyorchid
4th Aug 2004, 18:25
Most of us on the boards would be able to tell based on the video card you have in your system. Let us know and we could probably tell ya.

There's another way on the installer, though... (*embarrased*) I forget the name of the button. It should be something like system check or a similar name. Pop in disc 1 of Thief Deadly Shadows, the auto run should start up, and the option to check video card or system should be on the menu. This will tell you if your vid card has the required pixel shaders, or if your drivers are out of date, etc.

bravus
4th Aug 2004, 18:38
If you know what video card you have, that will help. Frankly, it doesn't sound good: if it's a GeForce MX, it probably doesn't have Pixel Shader 1.1, which would mean you'd have to upgrade your video card before you could play the game.

X1l1
4th Aug 2004, 18:56
I have a Geforce 2 Mx/Mx 400 and Direct X 9.0c.

I have an Intel Pentium 4 Processor 1.80 Ghz, 512 mb RAM, and a 32 mb Video card.

If you need any other specs, tell me.

-Brian

X1l1
4th Aug 2004, 18:57
I don't have the actual game. I got the demo first to see if it would be worth getting the game.

Obviously, as of now, it's not.

-Brian

bravus
4th Aug 2004, 18:58
Sorry man, as I expected, that card won't let you play the game. Check out the side of the box - it says something like 'MX series cards not supported'. Time to pick up a new vid card... Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but you'll love the game when you do play it.

X1l1
4th Aug 2004, 19:03
Do you think a 64 mb card will work? My friend has one that me and him were going to install just to give me a new one. He has a 128 mb so..

Thanks for the help :)

-Brian

Mr. Perfect
4th Aug 2004, 19:29
64 megs is fine but tells us nothing about the card or it's performance, the question is what graphics chip is has on it. Geforce 3? Radeon 8500?

X1l1
4th Aug 2004, 19:54
It would be the same card (Geforce 2 MX/MX 400) but with more Mb. Are you suggesting a Geforce 3?

Clumsyorchid
4th Aug 2004, 20:25
Any MX card won't work with Thief, supported and unsupported cards are as follows:

SUPPORTED GRAPHICS CHIPSETS:
ATI RADEON 8500
ATI RADEON 9 SERIES (9000,9200,9500,9600,9700,9800)
NVIDIA GEFORCE 3TI SERIES
NVIDIA GEFORCE 4TI SERIES
NVIDIA GEFORCE FX SERIES
NVIDIA GEFORCE 6 SERIES
GRAPHICS CARD MUST SUPPORT PIXEL SHADER 1.1!

UNSUPPORTED GRAPHICS CHIPSETS:
NVIDIA GEFORCE 4MX (460, 440 & 420)
NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 GO
NVIDIA QUADRO FX GO
NVIDIA GEFORCE NFORCE2 & NFORCE3

X1l1
4th Aug 2004, 20:30
:Goes to corner and cries: