PDA

View Full Version : Memory allocation question for DarkLoader

Rinscewind
24th Jul 2004, 18:12
Heyas,

I have an issue with DarkLoader and some FMS, and I need to give you a little history of what has happened first. I don't know what may apply and what might not.

I am new to the FMs for Thief. I only have Thief 2, if it matters from a program point of view. I read some of the Eidos forums, and following a game tweak, I had copied the Thief 2 discs to my hard drive. I installed Thief 2 FROM the hard drive TO the hard drive. I then found and downloaded DarkLoader and a bunch of FMs. I played a few of them a little, and had a few issues with the convict.osm file that are now sorted out. I had a bad download link that gave me a wrong convict.osm file. The bad link gave me a 1.04 meg file, when it should only be 123k. That is fixed.

Before I found out about the bad .osm file (the 1.04 meg mystery file), but after installing it, I started playing a few FMs. At first they worked fine, and then a few would not start. I reached the options screen, and when I clicked the title to start, the game crashed to desktop while loading the mission. After a few FMs crashed like this (including ones that had worked prior), I tried yet another, and out of the blue was asked to put in the Thief 2 cd, like my system wanted to play off of the disc (which had never happened before). I did a full reinstall of Thief 2, and reinstalled DarkLoader (after deleting the .ini file it leaves, so it was a clean reinstall). Everything worked fine for the missions that - a) had worked, then did not and - b) are of a small size.

Now I have a new problem playing some of the FMs. :mad: One is Calendra's Legacy, which is over 300 megs in size, and another is Circle of Stone and Shadow, which is over 100 megs in size. No small missions give me problems, more on that below. This is ok with me, as I have many FMs to play while I am working on this problem, but I do want to play the large sized FMs.