PDA

View Full Version : Windows wont start

Specter
17th Mar 2004, 19:58
Alright people. Once again Im flipping out over this damn computer. I have a Dell 8200 2.8 GHz, 512MB RAM, desktop running windows XP. I was trying to install a demo, and I shut down this spyware stuff I had called Spy Sweeper, or something like that. I did not uninstall or delete anything, but when I restarted my computer, I now get this oh so exciting message that windows/system32/config/system is missing or corrupt. I get the same message when I try to go back to the last known safe configuration and when I try to go into safe mode. I also get a message saying that I can repair windows by inserting the CD and pressing R, but every CD I put in (there are a bunch of blue Dell CDs) nothing happens. Any suggestions?

bravus
17th Mar 2004, 21:59
AArrggh, nasty. And I have zero experience with Dells... Does one of the CDs say something like System Restore on it? It's just a weird error to have happened, but maybe some sort of corruption... Failing that, I think you're thrown back on calling Dell tech support, who I've heard are generally pretty good.

All the best with it,

Bravus

Specter
17th Mar 2004, 22:08
I called Dell, and they had me try to repair windows using a CD, however, that failed, the message is the same. Looks like Im going to lose everything (which includes a lot of important stuff for university, yes I know, in the future, make backups) Is there any way of recovering information off a hard drive without accessing windows?

bravus
17th Mar 2004, 22:17