PDA

View Full Version : Will ThiefII-TheMetalAge demo run on my system?

Paajtor
11th Mar 2004, 09:27
I'm new to the Thief-series games - allthough I can't wait to get my hands on ThiefDS - so with all the talks about the prequels going on, I would like to try the ThiefII-demo.

I noticed on the site, that it "requieres" DirectX7.0.
This makes me wonder, whether the demo will run on a DX9.0a-system?
And on XP-Pro, with a Hercules 3DProphet 9500Pro (using Herc's Cat3.7-based drivers)?

I know, the ThiefII-graphics aren't up to today's standards (to say the least, lol), but I want to get some idea about how these games were.

Thx for any advice

P.s. I know where to find the demo.:)

HOC
11th Mar 2004, 11:15
it should run without a doubt. you'll most likely have to do the cam.cfg edit though (where ya add "safe_texture_manager" at the bottom).

Thiefinthenight
11th Mar 2004, 14:27
I have the problem running the game on my system with DX9. The Thief 2 demo is pretty buggy so dont blame your machine if it seems like your having problems.

Paajtor
11th Mar 2004, 15:34
Hmmm....I'm in doubt now, lol.:(
Ok, I was expecting it.

Never mind, I won't download it, and spare me the troubles if it goes wrong.
I will buy ThiefDS anyway.:D

thx for your replies

Thiefinthenight
11th Mar 2004, 16:51
Its a cool demo. Its a kind of rewrite on "Life of the party". Give it a try.

chimpwithalimp
11th Mar 2004, 16:53
I recently installed Thief 2 on my XP machine, having not played it since I had Win98 on my machine, and yes, I had to do that safe texture edit, but more aswell.
I noticed after playing the first level through that something was missing.. All the game and level intro movies were totally being skipped. After rooting around on various forums I discovered you need to get the Indeo Player (some video codec) to have them work properly.
I installed it and it worked perfectly, and I'm deliciously involved in the game once again

Huntress
11th Mar 2004, 20:15