PDA

View Full Version : [SPOILER] a hole

plot man
10th Feb 2004, 16:30
Yo. I'm new to all this forum malarkey, but I'm a big fan of the legacy of kain series and have just completed Defiance. I really enjoyed it, but I have been extremely bothered by what I think is a big plot hole. There were other things I was wondering about that could be explained away, but this is a pretty big one. Okay, here we go;

um, this is a spoiler by the way, but I don't know how to show that, so stop reading now if you don't want to see this

Okay, at the end of Defiance, Kain has the Soul Reaver and it is possessed by Raziel. This is at the same time that younger Kain has the Reaver at the pillars. Now, where did old Kain get the sword? Because if it is the one that he pulled out of Raziel in SR2 and he has taken it 500 years into the future, how come the young Kain still found it in Avernus.
Now, you could say that perhaps after Kain defeats the Elder God he goes back in time and plants the sword in Avernus for the young Kain to find, but if that was the case, Kain would have been united with the pure blade much earlier in history and then would have later destroyed it by whacking Raziel over the head with it, why? This would also mean that Raziel would also have the pure blade at a much earlier stage and that all of the ensuing gameplay would have been complete nonsense.
What's going on? Somebody help!

zeke009
10th Feb 2004, 16:33
when you are editing/posting a message, there are a few buttons at the top of your text window.

http:// | @ | IMG | # | PHP | List | Quote | Spoiler

just hit the spolier button and voila!

you won't spoil the fun! enjoy. or just wait... Umah will be along shortly to edit it for you. ;)

DarkWraith
10th Feb 2004, 17:06
There are two swords. but they are the same sword. if you get what i mean. one of them is the now reaver and the other is the then reaver.

DW.

bish
10th Feb 2004, 17:25
hi, plot man. welcome to the forum.