PDA

View Full Version : To Everyone Experiencing Performance Problems With Dx



man
9th Dec 2003, 12:02
I think this applies to averyone using GF3/4ti cards (..not sure about others)

here are my specs:
AXP @ 1866mHz
256MB PC2100 RAM
KT333 (hyp4.49vp2)
GF 3ti200 @ 240/466 (det52.16)
winXP PRO SP1

i'v got all settings set ho "high", bloom=on, 8x6 res., 2xAA and the game gives 20-30FPS (well sometimes abot 13-17..very rare..)

it was not so simple, at first i had 5-10fps in 6x4 res.

HERE ARE THE STEPS:
1. set DX.EXE to win2k compatibility mode.
2. go to http://66.193.119.177/index.php?showtopic=206212&st=0
(if you haven't been there yet) and do everything that thay say there (increasing cashmemsize to 16/32 is the major thing), they also have mouse fixing description there!
3. reboot windows, overclock everything that you can.
4. turn off everything, from your antivirus to explorer.exe, EVERYTHING!(don't mess with system services)
5. run DX.EXE using TaskManager (..turn it off imediately after launching the game).
6. enjoy one of the greates games of all times

(i did not mention such thigs as that your windows shouldn't be a half of year in use, UDMA should be turned on, some win patches should be installed, hdd defragmented, etc... Buy a book if you don't know this)

GF 4ti/FX5600/5900 USERS WITH 512! (or more) RAM SHOULDN' EXPERIENCE ANY PROBLEMS AT ALL, DON'T TRY TO FIX THE GAME, FIX YOUR HANDS FIRST.

fx5200 users shouldn't try higher than 6x4 res. with medium/low settings since this card is extremely slow.

(..excuse me for my english, i'm russian)

OldScho0l
9th Dec 2003, 14:35
You must not play many games. This is nowhere near one of the greatest of all times. Sorry bud :( . This game is decent at most.

man
9th Dec 2003, 15:00
OldScho0l stands for Wolf3D addict?;)

sry! i love Wolf3D and play games since it was released.

but give IW a chance! it struggles through an ocean of stupid, moronoitic shooters comming out every day, holding up the unique genre.

FIRST PERSON, RPG/STEALTH/QUEST/SHOOTER ADVENTURE with BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE AND GRAPHICS.

IT IS A RARE THING, DON'T YOU THINK SO. The last time I've enjoyed Morrowind as much as DX2 (..well the first one's better ofcourse)

OldScho0l
9th Dec 2003, 15:32
I think DEIW is a pretty good game, just not one of the best of all times. I guess it just didn't meet my expectations. I'm most of the way through it though and have enjoyed it. OldScho0l is for OldSchool Quake. I loved that game. :)

Venatyr
9th Dec 2003, 23:55
Originally posted by man
i'v got all settings set ho "high", bloom=on, 8x6 res., 2xAA and the game gives 20-30FPS (well sometimes abot 13-17..very rare..)


This is at 640x480 resolution?

man
10th Dec 2003, 00:27
Originally posted by Venatyr
This is at 640x480 resolution?

8x6 res.=800x600 resolution (cOOlhacka' syntaX ):cool: :D

ZeeLd
10th Dec 2003, 01:28
>> set DX.EXE to win2k compatibility mode. << How do you do that? ;[

Random
10th Dec 2003, 02:27
Originally posted by ZeeLd
>> set DX.EXE to win2k compatibility mode. << How do you do that? ;[

Create a shortcut on the desktop, right-click the shortcut, go to Properties -> Compatibility, and change it to 2000 mode. That's assuming you have Windows XP, of course.

Neravine
10th Dec 2003, 02:43
I really dont understand why people have a problem with this game, its by far one of the best shooters I've ever played (and dont say I dont play alot of games because I have a stack of cds 2 feet tall that says I do.)

Venatyr
10th Dec 2003, 05:16
Well...

Seems that I got the game playable.

Averages about 30-40 fps. Although there are some instances where it drops to 15fps.

System Specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2400
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Nvidia Geforce 4 Ti4200
- Overclocked (Core:300 / Ram:535)
Corsair 512MB PC2700 DDR RAM


The game is running with the following settings:

Resolution: 800x600
Shadow Quality: High
Lighting Quality: Low
Character Quality: Low
Bloom: Off
VSYNC: Off


I did not notice a difference when changing the Lighting Quality or the Character Quality.
Does anybody know what difference they make?

Also, setting the compability mode did not help at all.

Random
11th Dec 2003, 01:57
Originally posted by Venatyr
I did not notice a difference when changing the Lighting Quality or the Character Quality.
Does anybody know what difference they make?


Character quality seems to make NPCs lose some detail. Set it to low and they'll use fewer polygons, or something. It's barely noticeable. I have no idea what lighting quality does. Like you, I didn't see a difference, but lowering it gave me a extra couple of fps.

Eleazar
11th Dec 2003, 04:20
Why did you put it in WIN2k compatibility mode. This would actually hurt performance because XP has to emulate WIN2k processes. Please explain why, it doesn't make sense.